Boost Your Real Estate Business With These Lead Generation Tips
We’ll start with free lead generation tips, discuss online-only strategy, and finally present you with some unique, outside-the-box ideas to help you make a splash.Read more
To sell or lease real estate in New Hampshire and earn a commission, you must have a New Hampshire Real Estate License.
The steps to obtain a NH Real Estate License:
Step #1: Complete the 40-hour New Hampshire Real Estate Salesperson Course
Step #2: Submit a Criminal Records Request
Step #3: Schedule Your State Exam
Step #4: Take and Pass the State Licensing Exam
Step #5: Apply for your Salesperson License
All New Hampshire real estate salesperson applicants must be at least 18 years of age. If you meet this basic qualification, earn your license in five steps.
Step 1: Take the 40-hour pre-license course
All New Hampshire salesperson applicants must take a 40-hour pre-licensing course before taking the exam. A pre-approved school must teach the course. Your course completion certificate is good for six months.
During the course, you’ll learn about real estate topics pertinent to New Hampshire practice as well as general issues in selling, listing, and professionally practicing real estate.
Step 2: Submit your criminal records check
All New Hampshire real estate salespersons must submit a notarized criminal record release and the required fee of $25 to the Department of Safety, Division of State Police. Your criminal record report is valid for six months.
If you have a misdemeanor or felony offense from any other jurisdiction, you must provide that criminal record report.
Step 3: Schedule your state licensing exam
The New Hampshire Real Estate Commission must approve you to take the exam. Submit the exam registration form, the pre-licensing course completion certificate, and the examination fee.
The exam fee is $155 paid to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire, by check or money order. You must take the exam within three months from the receipt of your exam registration (new rule 2021).
PSI will notify you by email once the Real Estate Commission has approved your examination.
Online scheduling is the fastest way to register for the exam. After you create an online account, find your testing approval, search for testing centers, and select your date.
Step 4: Take and pass the real estate licensing exam
Bring to the PSI examination center two forms of identification. One of these must be a valid government-issued ID with your signature and photograph like a driver's license, state ID, or a passport.
The New Hampshire real estate licensing exam has:
The Candidate Information Bulletin has content outlines and the percentage of questions asked in each topic area.
Immediately upon finishing the test, you will receive a score report on screen. If you pass only one section of the test, you can have up to eight attempts within six months to pass the second portion. Each partial or full retake requires you to resubmit an exam registration and the full fee to the NHREC.
Step 5: Submit the real estate salesperson license application
Now that you have completed the steps above, it's time to fill out your real estate salesperson application. The New Hampshire Real Estate Commission gives candidates six months to submit and earn their license.
Include in your license application:
The license application fee is $40, made payable by check to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire.
Once your license application is approved, the NHREC will issue your license to the managing broker. Congratulations, you are now a New Hampshire real estate salesperson!
In Illinois, you could be creating a highly adaptable new profession as a real estate salesperson (or broker) in six months.Read more