Step 1: Take the 40-hour Pre-licensing Education
All new salesperson candidates must take 40 hours of pre-licensing education from an approved education provider. During your course, you will learn about real estate practice, federal and state real estate regulations, real estate financing, and other essential topics for working as a salesperson. Your pre-license education course certificate is good for 18 months.
Step 2: Schedule the Licensing Exam
Pearson VUE administers Alaska's Real Estate Salesperson License Exam. Schedule your exam directly by visiting www.pearsonvue.com or calling (800) 274-5592.
The non-refundable exam fee is $100. You directly pay Pearson VUE using credit card, money order, company check, electronic check, or voucher.
Refer to the Alaska Candidate Bulletin for information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.
Step 3: Pass the Licensing Exam
Bring to the test center two forms of identification in English. One form of identification must be a photo-bearing government-issued ID.
The Alaska state salesperson exam has two sections: national and state law.
The Alaska Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam includes:
- National section of 80 questions.
- State section of 40 questions.
- Four total hours to complete the exam.
Alaska uses a scaled score on its licensing exam. Scaled scores compensate for variations in exam difficulty and run from 1 to 100. A passing score is 75.
You will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail” before leaving the center. The exam results are valid for six months.
Step 4: Purchase Errors and Omissions Insurance
All real estate salespersons are required to carry errors and omissions insurance. Alaska does offer a group policy through RIAK. You can opt for a private policy. The coverage must meet the minimum coverage standards as detailed in Article 4 of the Centralized Licensing Regulations.
Step 5: Be hired by an Alaska broker
All Alaska salespersons must work under the supervision of a licensed Alaska broker. Their information is required for your application form.
Step 6: Apply for an Alaska Salesperson Real Estate License
After passing the exam, you have six months to apply for your salesperson license. Alaska has the option to use an online application or a paper application.
The total fee for your application and initial licensure is $390.00, payable by credit card.
Submit with the Alaska salesperson application:
- Original exam score showing a passing score within the last six months
- Certificate of completion for pre-licensing education
- Proof of errors and omissions insurance
- Any documentation as required to “yes” answers in Part IV of the application
Once the application has been reviewed and approved, the license will be issued and sent to you. Congratulations, you are now an Alaska real estate salesperson!
Step 7: Post-licensing education
Be aware that all new licensees must take 30-hour post-licensing education within one year of licensure to maintain a Alaska salesperson license. These 30 hours are in addition to the 20 hours of continuing education required for your first renewal. Your deadline for completing this education is listed on your individual license.