Step 1: Complete the 90-Hour SC Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Courses
The 90-hour pre-license education requirement includes two courses:
1) 60-hour South Carolina Unit I Sales Course
2) 30-hour South Carolina Unit II: Advanced Real Estate Principles Course
At the end of each course is a final exam, which you must pass in order to get your Certificate of Completion for the course.
Step 2: Submit an Exam Application For Real Estate and Schedule Your State Exam
Once you complete the 60-hour South Carolina Unit I Sales course, you can then apply to take the state exam.
You must first submit an Exam Application For Real Estate, along with a $25 fee, to the SC Real Estate Commission.
Once the Commission approves your exam application, they will send you an Examination Eligibility Letter, which will allow you to schedule your state exam with PSI.
Your Examination Eligibility Letter is valid for up to 1 year.
You can schedule your exam online through PSI’s website, or by phone at (800)733-9267.
PSI charges a state exam fee of $63 per attempt.
Please note, you must pass the state exam within 5 years of completing the 60-hour Unit I Sales course.
Step 3: Pass the State Licensing Exam
The South Carolina state licensing exam is divided into a National portion and a State portion.
You must answer 56 out of the 80 questions (70%) correctly on the National portion and 28 out of the 40 questions (70%) correctly on the State portion in order to pass.
You must pass both portions of the exam in order to pass the overall exam.
There is a 120-minute time limit for the National portion and an 80 minute time limit for the State portion.
Step 4: Apply for Your South Carolina Real Estate Salespersons License
After passing the state exam, PSI will provide you with an Initial Salesperson license application.
You must submit your license application along with a copy of your state exam score report.
You must also provide a copy of your Certificate of Completion for the 30-hour South Carolina Unit II: Advanced Real Estate Principles course.
There is a license application fee of $50.
Once your application is approved by the Commission, your license will be mailed to your managing broker.
Congratulations, you are now a licensed South Carolina real estate salesperson!
Step 5: Get Your Fingerprints Taken
All applicants must get their fingerprints taken.
Your fingerprints will be used to conduct a background check by the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) and the FBI.
Instructions on how to obtain your fingerprints will be emailed to you by the SC Real Estate Commission after your Exam Application For Real Estate application is received..