PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: What do I do once I have successfully passed the NC state exam?

What do I do once I have successfully passed the NC state exam?

Once you have passed North Carolina’s license exam and the Commission has deemed you to be of good character, you will be qualified for licensure. You can expect to receive your license certificate in the mail at the address you provided on your application form in up to 10 business days.

When you receive your license, it will be in inactive, provisional status. Before you can begin practicing real estate, you will need a broker-in-charge to file a License Activation/Affiliation form online with the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.

A provisional broker must be supervised at all times by a broker-in-charge when engaging in real estate brokerage activities. To remove your provisional status, you will need to satisfy the post-licensing educational requirement of 90 classroom hours. The post-licensing education program consists of three, 30-hour courses titled:

  • Broker Relationships and Responsibilities
  • Contracts and Closing
  • License Law, Commission Rules and Legal Concepts

Once you have successfully completed all three courses, your provisional status will be automatically terminated by the Commission, as approved real estate schools automatically report course completion to the Commission.

You cannot stay on provisional status indefinitely; you must complete your 90-hour post-licensing requirement within 18 months of your initial licensure. If you fail to do so, your license status will change to inactive. Once you have completed the necessary education requirement, your license will move from provisional broker to broker status. The post-licensing education requirement must be completed as in-person classroom only.

Related Questions

If I pass the exam and meet all requirements will I get my NC license?

Successful completion of the state license examination does not guarantee issuance of a provisional broker license. Licenses are only granted to people found to be of good character. Each application that contains a character issue will be reviewed by the Commission and a decision made on a case-by-case basis.

What documents are required for my NC real estate license application?

It is advisable to complete and submit your application online. You can expect to include the following with your provisional broker license application:
- The application.
- Proof of satisfactory completion of pre-licensure education.
- Criminal background report.
- Payment of $100 application fee.

What are errors and omissions insurance?

Errors and omissions insurance, which is often referred to simply as E&O insurance or even professional liability insurance, helps protect you from lawsuits claiming you made an error while providing professional real estate services. If a lawsuit is brought against you, it can help cover court costs or settlements.

What do I do once I have successfully passed the NC state exam?

Once you have passed North Carolina’s license exam and the Commission has deemed you to be of good character, you will be qualified for licensure. You can expect to receive your license certificate in the mail at the address you provided on your application form in up to 10 business days.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side