PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in SC?

What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in SC?

An applicant for a South Carolina real estate salesperson license must complete a total of 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework. This includes 60 hours of classroom instruction in fundamentals of real estate principles and practices (Unit I), which must be completed prior to taking the exam.

In addition, you will be required to take 30 hours of classroom instruction in advanced real estate principles (Unit II). Together, successful completion of this 90 hours of coursework will meet the pre-licensure education requirements.

This coursework must have been completed sometime within the previous five years to submit the application for a real estate license. However, applicants may take the real estate license exam prior to completing the required 30 hours of advanced coursework.

The 60-hour course, known as Unit II, will take a deep dive into real estate principles and fundamentals. Education providers are required to gain the approval of the South Carolina Real Estate Commission for their learning objectives and detailed lesson plans.

You can expect the 60-hour Unit 1 course to cover subject matter within the following broad areas, including:

  • Real property
  • Governmental controls and laws affecting real estate
  • Pricing of real property
  • Real estate finance
  • Settlement/Closing
  • Agency and other brokerage relationships
  • Contracts
  • Ethics

The 30-hour Unit II course in advanced real estate principles should cover real estate practices in the following subject areas in detail:

  • Agency and property disclosure
  • Real estate contracts
  • Ethics and real estate
  • Measurements and valuation
  • Investments and taxation


Related Questions

How many hours of education are required for a SC salesperson license?

Applicants are required to complete a total of 90 hours of pre-licensure coursework. The first 60 hours of coursework, referred to as Unit I, will cover the fundamentals of real estate and must be satisfactorily completed prior to applying for the state exam.

Can I waive the education requirements for my SC application?

You can be considered exempt from the pre-license education course requirements if you hold a Juris Doctor or Bachelor of Law degree, or hold a baccalaureate degree or masters degree with a major in Real Estate. You will need to upload your official transcript from an accredited college or university.

Can military experience replace the requirement for a SC application?

The South Carolina Real Estate Commission does not recognize military training itself as a substitute for the coursework required for being issued a real estate salesperson license. The education requirement must be fulfilled in one of three ways.

If I already hold a law degree, do I still need the SC 90-hour course?

If you already hold a Juris Doctor or Bachelor of Law degree, you do not need to meet the 90-hour course requirement in order to apply for a real estate license. An attorney-at-law, who acts within the scope of his or her duties in legally representing a client or owner is not required to have a salesperson license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my SC salesperson license?

Yes, the South Carolina Real Estate Commission requires license applicants to have a high school diploma. A GED is acceptable in lieu of a high school diploma.

What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in SC?

An applicant for a South Carolina real estate salesperson license must complete a total of 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework. This includes 60 hours of classroom instruction in fundamentals of real estate principles and practices (Unit I), which must be completed prior to taking the exam.

How many questions are on the South Carolina pre-license course exams?

Each of the courses include a proctored final exam. The final exams consist of 100 multiple-choice questions each. You will need to achieve a passing grade of 70% in order to receive your certificate of completion.

Can I take the SC pre-license courses if I’m still in high school?

You may take the required coursework, but you must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a South Carolina real estate salesperson license. You must also have received your high school diploma or its equivalent.

How do I receive my SC pre-license course completion certificate?

Before you can apply for the South Carolina real estate sales exam, you will need to complete the 60-hour fundamentals of real estate course. Prior to making your application, once you have passed the state exam, you will need to complete the additional Unit II course on advanced real estate principles.

How can I complete the South Carolina 90-hour prelicensure coursework?

The 90-hour pre-license education requirement may be completed either via in-person classroom learning or through means of distance education. Courses and school must be approved by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission, including teaching methods.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side