PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in NC?

What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in NC?

According to North Carolina Real Estate Commission requirements, an applicant may qualify for the state’s real estate examination by successfully completing the Commission-approved 75-hour North Carolina broker pre-licensing course.

The 75-hour course pre-licensing course should cover real estate principles and fundamentals and consist of the following subject areas:

  • Basic real estate concepts
  • Property ownership and interests
  • Property taxation and assessment
  • Transfer of title to real property
  • Land use controls
  • Environmental issue in real estate
  • Brokerage relationships: laws and practice
  • Agency contracts and related practices
  • Basic contract law
  • Sales contracts and related procedures
  • Real Estate Financing
  • Closing a sales transaction
  • Real property valuation
  • Property insurance basics
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Property management
  • Fair housing
  • Federal income taxation of home ownership/sale
  • Basic construction
  • Basic real estate investment
  • Real estate license law and commission rules
  • Agent safety
Real estate mathematics

Related Questions

If I already hold a law degree do I still need the NC 75-hour course?

As an attorney, you may receive a waiver of the required 75-hour pre-license coursework. A request to waive the pre-license education requirement should be made in writing and included with the application for license. In addition, a transcript and copy of your law degree should be included with the application.

Can I waive the education requirements for my NC application?

You may request a waiver of the 75-hour North Carolina pre-licensing course if you can show completion of substantial real estate education equivalent to the pre-licensing course. You will need to provide a transcript showing a baccalaureate or higher degree that meets specific requirements.

How many hours of education are required for a North Carolina license?

You will need to complete 75 hours of pre-licensure coursework before you will be able to submit your license application and be approved to sit for the state license exam. Once your application is complete and you have passed the state license exam, you will be issued an inactive provisional broker license.

How do I receive my NC pre-license course completion certificate?

Approved North Carolina real estate schools will electronically report your successful completion of the 75-hour pre-licensing course automatically to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission to be paired with your online license application.

Can I take the NC pre-license coursework if I’m still in high school?

You may take the 75-hour course, but you must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a North Carolina provisional broker license.

Is the North Carolina pre-license course final exam proctored?

Yes, the 75-hour pre-license course concludes with a closed-book, proctored exam. This is true for online courses as well as in-person classroom learning. You must achieve a passing grade of at least 75%.

How can I take the 75-hour pre-license course?

The 75-hour pre-license course may be completed via in-person classroom, synchronous distance (live online), distance learning or a combination of these. The NC Real Estate Commission has approved a number of providers for administering the required 75-hour pre-license course, including online course providers.

What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in NC?

According to North Carolina Real Estate Commission requirements, an applicant may qualify for the state’s real estate examination by successfully completing the Commission-approved 75-hour North Carolina broker pre-licensing course.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my North Carolina license?

No, you are not required to have a high school diploma in order to apply for a North Carolina provisional broker license.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side