PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Utah Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Utah
  • About the 120-Hour Utah Real Estate License Course
  • Applying For a Utah Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Utah
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Utah
  • How to Get a Utah Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Utah
  • Scheduling Your Utah Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Utah Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Utah License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Utah Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Utah Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Utah Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Utah real estate license, the Utah real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the UT state exam, how to renew your UT real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 120-Hour Utah Real Estate License Course

What course am I required to take to get a UT real estate license?

All new real estate salespersons are required to take the 120-hour pre-licensing education course. You must take this course from an approved provider. This course will teach you about national and state topics pertinent to the business of real estate.

How many hours of education are required to get a UT license?

Utah requires you to take a 120-hour pre-license education course.

How can I take the 120-hour UT real estate license course?

You can take the Utah sales agent pre-license course from any approved education provider. The course can be an in-person classroom course or be taken online. The online learning option is the fastest and most affordable way to complete the course.

Can I take the 120-hour UT real estate license course online?

Yes! Most students prefer the online format as it is the most flexible and most affordable learning option. Remote online classes enable you to learn wherever you are and on your schedule.

Can I take the UT pre-license course if I'm still in High School?

While Utah does not stipulate that you have to have finished high school before taking the pre-license education course, you do have to have a high school diploma when you apply for your license. Keep in mind Utah requires you to apply for your license within 90 days of passing the state exam.

Can I use my law degree credits toward the UT pre-license course?

Yes, your law degree credits can count towards the Utah pre-license course if you are a member in good standing with the Utah State Bar. Otherwise, you will need to take the course.

Can I use my college credits for the UT pre-license course?

Your college credits can count towards the 120-hour Utah pre-license course if they were part of a completed college undergraduate or postsecondary program. The courses must also be the equivalent of what was taught in the 120-hour course.

Is the UT pre-license course final exam proctored?

The course final exam is not proctored.

How many questions are on the UT pre-license course final exam?

The RealEstateU Utah pre-license course final exam has 100 multiple-choice questions.

How do I receive my UT Course Completion Certificate?

Your course completion certificate will be available in your RealEstateU account immediately after passing the final exam. You'll simply log in and visit your profile to download.

Will my school notify the Commission for my completed UT courses?

No, we will provide you with the Candidate Education Certifying document as soon as you pass the final exam. It is your responsibility to provide this certifying document as part of your state licensing application.

How does the UDRE know that I have completed the pre-license course?

The UDRE knows that you finished your pre-license when you apply for your license. One of the required documents for your application is the Candidate Education Certifying documents. This document is provided to you as soon as you pass the final exam for your pre-license course.

Can my 120-hour UT pre-license education completion certificate expire

Yes. You have one year from the date you complete the course to apply for your UT sales agent license.

Applying For a Utah Real Estate License

When should I file my license application with the UDRE?

You have 90 days from the day you pass your state licensing exam to apply with the Utah Division of Real Estate. You must gather the paperwork and submit the application using their online Real Estate License Management System (RELMS) as soon as possible, so you don't miss this deadline.

Can I get a UT real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

All sales agents must be employed by a Utah-licensed real estate broker. Otherwise, you cannot hold an active license.

What is the difference between an active and inactive UT license?

Inactive real estate licenses mean that you hold a license in the system, but you are not legally able to represent buyers or sellers transacting real estate and earn a commission for your efforts. An active license means that you are legally allowed to represent buyers and sellers and earn a commission for your work.

How do I receive an inactive UT real estate license?

You will be issued an inactive Utah real estate license if you are not affiliated with a principal broker. You can also be given an inactive license by completing a license change form found on the Real Estate License Management System (RELMS).

How do I receive an active UT real estate license?

You must meet all of the sales agent license requirements, including the pre-license education and passing the sales exam. You must complete the background check and affiliate with a Utah licensed principal broker.

How do I change from an inactive to active UT license?

To activate your license, you must submit a change form through the Real Estate License Management System (RELMS). You also will need proof of continuing education, a recent licensing exam, or show you had an active license at the last renewal.

How do I renew my Utah real estate license?

Renew your license using the Real Estate License Management System (RELMS). All licenses must be renewed online.

How much does it cost to renew my UT real estate license?

The renewal fee for a sales agent is $60 if it is done on time. Any late renewals done within 30 days will be charged $110, while any reinstatements made 31 days to 12 months after the expiration will be $160.

How often do I have to renew my UT real estate license?

Your real estate license is good for two years. You can start the renewal process 45 days before the expiration date on your license.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in UT?

All new real estate agents must take a 12-hour new agent course before their first renewal. New agents still take the 3-hour mandatory course and then select three hours of continuing education from any elective courses.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in UT?

There are no continuing education requirements for inactive license holders.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in UT?

After your first renewal cycle, sales agents must take 18 hours of continuing education each year. These hours must include the 3-hour Mandatory Course plus six hours in the core topic courses for 9 hours. The remaining hours must be in elective or core topic courses.

How do I renew an inactive UT real estate license?

Inactive license holders must go online to the real estate license management system to renew their license.

How soon can I renew my UT real estate license?

You can begin the license renewal process 45 days before the expiration date on your license. You can also find the expiration date on the Licensee database.

Will the Commission in UT waive my CE requirements?

The UDRE does not waive continuing education requirements.

What happens if I do not renew my UT license on time?

If you manage to renew within 30 days of license expiration, you will pay $110 for renewal instead of $60. After that, your license will be placed on inactive status.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in UT?

If you’d like a hard copy of your AL salesperson license, request one with the license print and mail form. You may also be able to request one through AREC’s online services or your qualifying broker.

What are the requirements to apply for a UT real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age, have graduated high school or earned an equivalent diploma, and not have been convicted of a felony in the last five years. You must also have not been convicted of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, fraud, or dishonesty within the last three years.

How do I apply for my UT real estate sales agent?

Utah uses an online portal to manage real estate licenses. You'll need to create an account to start the licensing process.

How much is the UT real estate license application?

The total fee for the sales license application is $157. It breaks down into a $100 application fee, a $12.00 recovery fund fee, a $5 FBI RAP BACK enrollment fee, and a $40 fingerprinting fee. Your fees are payable to the Utah Division of Real Estate.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Utah

Can I get my UT license if I have a prior conviction?

The Utah Division of Real Estate can deny or restrict a license based on your conviction history. The Division of Real Estate will not issue a license if you have a felony conviction within the last five years or a misdemeanor showing evidence of moral turpitude, misrepresentation, or fraud within the last three years.

What past criminal activity must I disclose to the Commission in UT?

When in doubt, disclose any past criminal history to the Utah Division of Real Estate.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the UT Commission

You should disclose any prior criminal activity during the sales agent application unless you are currently on parole or probation. Then you need two licensed therapists to certify you as trustworthy and you must notify the UDRE.

When to disclose any prior criminal activity to the Commission in Utah

You will disclose your prior criminal activity on your sales agent application. You may need supporting documentation for the Commission to review.

Getting Fingerprinted in Utah

Do I need to get my fingerprints taken for a UT sales agent license?

Yes, Utah does require all sales agent applicants to have fingerprints submitted for a state and federal background check.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Utah?

You can schedule fingerprints for the same day as your licensing exam. The fee is $12 in his paid to Pearson VUE. If you take the test at a center that does not have digital fingerprinting, you will be issued two fingerprint cards for use at a local law enforcement agency or a third-party fingerprinting vendor.

What does the UDRE do with my fingerprints?

The Utah Division of Real Estate uses fingerprints to run a federal and state background check. They are reviewing your criminal record history for any concerns. The Division also holds a separate file of fingerprints that can be searched against future submissions to the local and regional criminal records databases.

When do I have to get my UT fingerprints taken?

Your fingerprints need to be taken as part of the license application process. It is advised to wait until you pass the exam before getting your fingerprints taken. You need to schedule a fingerprinting appointment with Pearson VUE if you want to be printed at the test center.

How do I get my fingerprints taken if I'm not a UT resident?

Nonresidents will need to request fingerprint cards from the Utah Division of Real Estate. Take these cards to a local law enforcement agency or a third-party vendor for fingerprinting. You will then send them back to the UDRE for processing. This will need to be accomplished within your 90-day window.

How long does it take for the UDRE to receive my fingerprints?

Digital fingerprints taken at the Pearson VUE test center are immediately put into the system for processing. Any fingerprints done on ink cards will take longer, depending on when you send them in and the backlog of processing.

How much does it cost to get my fingerprints taken in UT?

Digital fingerprinting done at the Pearson VUE test center will cost you $12. Fingerprinting done elsewhere may have a different fee. Your license application also includes a $40 fingerprint processing fee with the Utah Division of Real Estate.

How to Get a Utah Real Estate License

How do I get my Utah real estate sales agent license?

Short Version: For you to earn a Utah sales agent license, follow these steps: 1: Complete the 120-Hour Utah Pre-license Education Course 2: Schedule the Utah licensing exam 3: Pass the Utah licensing exam 4: Apply for a sales agent license 5: Submit fingerprints for a background check 6: Track your license status

How much does it cost to get my UT real estate license?

You can earn your Utah sales agent license in as little as $627.00. While the state sets your exam fee in salesperson license application fees, you can make your license affordable by choosing the right pre-licensing course.

How long does it take to get my UT real estate license?

Utah sales agent applicants can earn their license in as little as six weeks. Most time will be spent in your pre-license course. Selecting an online course enables you to control the pace of study.

What tests do I need to take to get my UT real estate license?

During the pre-license course, you'll take quizzes and a final exam before receiving your course completion certificate. After the pre-license course, you must take the state licensing exam, which has a state portion and a general portion. You must pass both sections of the exam to earn your sales agent license.

RealEstateU Questions in Utah

Is the RealEstateU Utah pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, the RealEstateU pre-license course is recently approved by the state of Utah. Taking our course fulfills your 120-hour pre-license education obligation.

Scheduling Your Utah Real Estate Licensing Exam

How do I schedule my UT real estate licensing exam?

The easiest way to schedule your Utah licensing exam is to go online at www.pearsonvue.com at least 24 hours before your preferred test day. You'll create an account and find the next available exam appointment near you. You also have the option to schedule over the phone by calling 801-530-6747.

How much does the UT real estate exam cost?

The exam fee is $59. The fee is paid directly to Pearson VUE using a credit card, debit card, check, or voucher.

How do I pay for the UT state licensing exam?

You will pay for the exam to Pearson VUE using a credit card, debit card, check, or voucher. If you register online or over the phone, they will ask for your credit card or debit card to pay for the exam. You must pay your fee before you can take the test.

How long does it take to register and schedule my UT state exam?

Online registration is the fastest way to schedule your state licensing exam. By going online to Pearson VUE, you can be registered in this little as 15 minutes.

Where can I take the UT real estate licensing exam?

Pearson VUE offers test centers throughout Utah. Locations include Bountiful, Cedar City, Draper, Logan, Moab, Ogden, Orem, Richfield, Roosevelt, and Saint George. You can also take the Utah test in Grand Junction, CO, and Las Vegas, NV.

Do I need to take the UT state exam if I'm licensed in another state?

If you are licensed in a state where Utah shares reciprocity, you do not need to take the state exam. Otherwise, licensed applicants from nonreciprocal states still need to take the state exam.

How do I change or cancel my UT state exam date?

If, for some reason, you need to cancel or change your licensing exam appointment, it is your responsibility to contact Pearson VUE 48 hours before your exam. Call (800) 274-7292 to make the change. If you fail to call and change 48 hours before the exam, you will forfeit the exam fee.

Taking the Utah Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the UT state licensing exam?

The Utah State exam has two portions, a state portion and a general portion. The specific number of questions will vary between the different exam forms, but the general portion has approximately 80 questions while the state portion has around 50 items. There may be up to five experimental questions per section.

What is included in the UT state licensing exam?

Your state licensing exam will ask about real estate law and regulations, the practice of real estate, real estate agency, contracts, financing, and real property. PearsonVUE publishes content outlines breaking down the topics on the general and state sections of the exam.

How many times can I take the UT state exam?

If you do not pass one section or both sections, you have six months to retake the exam. You can retake the test as many times as you need to within those six months.

How long does it take to get my UT state exam results?

You will know how you did on your state exam as soon as you complete the test. You will leave the test center with a score report that shows if you passed or failed.

I just passed my UT real estate exam, now what?

Congratulations on passing the exam! Along with your score report, you will receive instructions on applying for a Utah sales agent license. You will have 90 days to submit your application, its accompanying paperwork and pay the license fee.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the UT state exam?

You don't necessarily need to bring a calculator, but you can bring one. Any calculator must be hand-held without alpha characters. It can be battery or solar-powered.

What am I required to bring with me to the UT state exam?

Bring two forms of identification. Your primary form of ID must be government-issued and have your photo and signature, like a state driver's license, US passport, or military ID. Your second ID must have a printed name and signature. You must also bring your Candidate Education Certifying document.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the UT state exam?

Pearson VUE is compliant with all ADA policies. If you need testing accommodations, you must request them ahead of time using the Accommodations Request Form. You can find this form in the Candidate Handbook. Your requests must include documentation of your disability and the acceptable accommodations.

What are the exam policies at the UT Pearson VUE testing center?

No personal items are allowed in the testing room. You can take a bathroom break, but you must notify the proctor, and you will not get time added back to the test. There is no eating, drinking, gum, smoking, or making excessive noise in the test center.

How do I retake the UT state exam if I previously failed?

If you fail the exam, you must wait 24 hours before rescheduling the test. You will need to go back online to Pearson VUE or to call them at 801-530-6747. Follow the same steps as before to reschedule your exam, including paying the $59 exam fee.

Can I take my UT state exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, Utah does not require you to have a sponsoring or employing broker when you take the state exam.

Do my UT state licensing exam results expire?

Yes. After passing the state licensing exam, you have 90 days to submit your sales agent license application to the state Commission. If you happen to fail one or both sections of the exam, you have six months to retake, or your passing score on the one section will be invalidated.

How much does it cost to retake the UT state exam?

Retaking the Utah State exam will cost $59 paid directly to Pearson VUE.

Utah License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a UT real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a sales agent license in Utah.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my UT real estate license?

Yes, Utah requires that you show proof of high school graduation or its equivalent education either as a general education diploma or the equivalency from your foreign diploma.

Can I get my UT real estate license if I'm not a UT resident?

Utah does not have a state residency requirement to earn a sales agent license. You do need to be legally present in the United States.

Utah Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Utah real estate license?

Holding a Utah real estate sales agent license enables you to be paid for representing real estate interests in the state. You can assist buyers or sellers of residential and commercial real estate, work in leasing or managing real estate, or exchange real estate on behalf of another person.

When is a real estate license required in Utah?

A real estate license is required anytime you wish to assist with the purchase, sale, lease, or management of real estate and earn payment for your work. You cannot advertise or assume to act as a real estate agent without a license.

Utah Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Utah offer reciprocity with other states?

Utah does offer reciprocity to licensed real estate professionals from Georgia, Mississippi, and Alberta, Canada. You must have an active real estate license in good standing to apply for a license through reciprocity.

How can I get my UT license through reciprocity?

You will need to complete and sign the real estate reciprocity application and include an original certified licensed history no more than six months. Submit two fingerprint cards and a fingerprint waiver. Pay the $157 sales agent application fee and complete the Certification of Legal Presence documentation.

How can I get my UT license if I'm licensed in another state?

Licensed agents without reciprocity may be eligible for an education waiver or national exam waiver. You have to request a waiver from the UDRE. Use an original certified license history with your request.

How do I get my UT license if I'm not a UT resident?

Nonresident Utah sales agent applicants still have to follow all of the steps as a resident. You won't be eligible for digital fingerprinting at a test center, so you'll need to get two fingerprint cards for your background check.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Utah
  • About the 120-Hour Utah Real Estate License Course
  • Applying For a Utah Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Utah
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Utah
  • How to Get a Utah Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Utah
  • Scheduling Your Utah Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Utah Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Utah License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Utah Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Utah Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side