PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: South Carolina Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > South Carolina
  • About the SC State’s Real Estate Education Requirements
  • Applying for a SC Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in South Carolina
  • Real Estate License Renewal in South Carolina
  • SC License Qualifications and Requirements
  • SC Real Estate Profession Related Questions
  • SC Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Scheduling Your SC State Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the SC State Licensing Exam

South Carolina Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your South Carolina real estate license, the South Carolina real estate broker course, how to prepare for the SC state exam, how to renew your SC real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the SC State’s Real Estate Education Requirements

How many hours of education are required for a SC salesperson license?

Applicants are required to complete a total of 90 hours of pre-licensure coursework. The first 60 hours of coursework, referred to as Unit I, will cover the fundamentals of real estate and must be satisfactorily completed prior to applying for the state exam.

Can I waive the education requirements for my SC application?

You can be considered exempt from the pre-license education course requirements if you hold a Juris Doctor or Bachelor of Law degree, or hold a baccalaureate degree or masters degree with a major in Real Estate. You will need to upload your official transcript from an accredited college or university.

Can military experience replace the requirement for a SC application?

The South Carolina Real Estate Commission does not recognize military training itself as a substitute for the coursework required for being issued a real estate salesperson license. The education requirement must be fulfilled in one of three ways.

If I already hold a law degree, do I still need the SC 90-hour course?

If you already hold a Juris Doctor or Bachelor of Law degree, you do not need to meet the 90-hour course requirement in order to apply for a real estate license. An attorney-at-law, who acts within the scope of his or her duties in legally representing a client or owner is not required to have a salesperson license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my SC salesperson license?

Yes, the South Carolina Real Estate Commission requires license applicants to have a high school diploma. A GED is acceptable in lieu of a high school diploma.

What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in SC?

An applicant for a South Carolina real estate salesperson license must complete a total of 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework. This includes 60 hours of classroom instruction in fundamentals of real estate principles and practices (Unit I), which must be completed prior to taking the exam.

How many questions are on the South Carolina pre-license course exams?

Each of the courses include a proctored final exam. The final exams consist of 100 multiple-choice questions each. You will need to achieve a passing grade of 70% in order to receive your certificate of completion.

Can I take the SC pre-license courses if I’m still in high school?

You may take the required coursework, but you must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a South Carolina real estate salesperson license. You must also have received your high school diploma or its equivalent.

How do I receive my SC pre-license course completion certificate?

Before you can apply for the South Carolina real estate sales exam, you will need to complete the 60-hour fundamentals of real estate course. Prior to making your application, once you have passed the state exam, you will need to complete the additional Unit II course on advanced real estate principles.

How can I complete the South Carolina 90-hour prelicensure coursework?

The 90-hour pre-license education requirement may be completed either via in-person classroom learning or through means of distance education. Courses and school must be approved by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission, including teaching methods.

Applying for a SC Real Estate License

If I pass the exam and meet all requirements will I get my SC license?

You are not guaranteed to be issued a license even if you complete the necessary steps and meet the basic requirements. The South Carolina Real Estate Commission will also consider your character and criminal background before it makes a determination on issuing you a license.

What documents are required for my SC real estate license application?

You will have already supplied some of the necessary documentation for getting a South Carolina real estate license when you submit your application for exam eligibility. After you have passed the state exam for licensure, PSI will provide you with an initial salesperson application form.

What is “errors and omissions” insurance in SC?

Errors and omissions insurance is the same as professional liability insurance. Like all insurance, it is meant to reduce risk. In this case, its purpose is to protect you against potential lawsuits claiming that you made an error while providing professional real estate services.

What do I do once I have successfully passed the SC state exam?

Once you have passed both the state and national portions of the licensing exam, you will need to take the remaining steps necessary so that your license can be issued. If you haven’t done so already, you will need to get your fingerprints taken before your license application can be approved.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in South Carolina

Can I get my SC salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

In addition to submitting to a state and federal background check, you will be asked to respond to two questions on your application to take the state real estate license exam. The first of these two questions asks you to disclose any criminal background history, other than traffic tickets.

What does the SC State Real Estate Commission consider a conviction?

The South Carolina Real Estate Commission asks applicants to disclose any incidents of convictions, guilty pleas or no contest pleas for any crime other than a minor traffic offense. You should be thorough and truthful in making your application, as your history will also be uncovered during your background check.

How do I disclose any prior criminal activity to the SC Commission?

When making your application to take the state real estate licensing exam, you will be asked to respond to a question specifically related to any criminal history you may have. It is important to respond truthfully.

Real Estate License Renewal in South Carolina

Is there a grace period for renewing my SC salesperson license?

Your license is expired if not renewed by the due date. You will incur penalties of $15 per month in addition to the regular fee if you do not bring your license up to date. If you do not renew within six months of license expiration, you will have your license canceled.

How do I get my SC real estate license reinstated once it has expired?

If your real estate salesperson license expires, you can bring it back into active status if you act before your license has expired six months past its renewal date. You will need to meet all required continuing education requirements and pay a fee of $15 per month, plus the normal renewal fee.

What is the cost of renewing my SC salesperson license?

The fee for renewal is $45 when renewed on time and is required every two years by June 30. The fee is the same whether your license is in active or inactive status. To avoid penalty, your license renewal and fee are due prior to the expiration of your current license.

How do I renew my salesperson license in South Carolina?

You can renew your license through the South Carolina Real Estate Commission’s main webpage. A renewal link will be posted.

What is the education requirement for renewing my license in SC?

If you are renewing inactive status, you will need to complete a total of 10 hours of continuing education. Four of those hours must be the mandatory or core coursework. The other six hours may be elective course hours.

How often do I need to renew my SC real estate salesperson license?

Real estate salesperson licenses expire every two years on June 30 and are renewable on a biennial basis. If you are unsure of your renewal status, you can access the information using the licensee lookup function from the commission’s website. All information can be accessed at https://llr.sc.gov/re/.

SC License Qualifications and Requirements

What is the costs of obtaining a SC real estate salesperson license?

There are a number of fixed costs involved in obtaining your South Carolina state real estate salesperson’s license. Examination fee: $63 per attempt or $55 for just the state-specific portion of the exam; Salesperson license application fee: $25; Salesperson new license fee: $50 (renewable on a biennial basis)

Is there a way to reduce the time it takes to get my SC license?

Although the South Carolina Real Estate Commission accepts mailed-in applications, the fastest turnaround can be had by making your application using the online application portal. You will first need to register before you can begin the online application process.

Are attorneys exempt from the requirements for obtaining a SC license?

Yes, evidence of holding a juris doctor degree or bachelor of law degree can substitute for completion of 60 hours of classroom instruction in the fundamentals of real estate principles and practices as well as the 30 hours of coursework in advanced real estate principles.

What examinations do I need to take to get my SC salesperson license?

There are two final course exams as well as the state licensure exam required to apply for your real estate license. You will need to receive a minimum score of 70% on proctored final exams for the required pre-licensure coursework administered by an approved real estate instructor or equivalent.

What are the character questions on the SC license application?

The criminal background and character questions are included on the SC Real Estate Commission Exam Application for Real Estate. This portion of the application consists of only two questions. The first involves disclosure of any criminal history. The second question focuses on character asking for disclosure of any.

What steps do I need to take to get my SC salesperson license?

Step 1: Successfully complete the 90-Hour South Carolina Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Courses
Step 2: Submit an Exam Application and Schedule Your State Real Estate Salesperson Exam
Step 3: Pass the State Licensing Exam
Step 4: Apply for Your SC License
Step 5: Have Your Fingerprints Taken

Is character assessment required for the SC application process?

You will be required to undergo a background check prior to applying to take the state real estate licensing exam. You will need to obtain this by following instructions of the South Carolina Real Estate Commission and then upload a copy with your application. You will also need to pay the processing fee, about $40.

Is there an age requirement for getting a SC salesperson license?

You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a South Carolina real estate salesperson license. This age requirement corresponds to the time of application.

Do I need a high school diploma to get a a SC salesperson license?

Eligible candidates for a South Carolina real estate salesperson license must have a high school diploma or a certificate of equivalency recognized by South Carolina’s Department of Education.

How long will it take to obtain my SC real estate salesperson license?

That depends on how long it takes you to complete the steps necessary to qualify for your real estate license in South Carolina, including education and criminal background check.

Do I need to be a SC resident to apply for a SC salesperson license?

The South Carolina Real Estate Commission recognizes the qualifications of real estate salespersons licensed in other jurisdictions. The state of Georgia has been issued full reciprocity, while other jurisdictions are likely to be exempt from the national portion of the real estate exam.

Can I practice real estate on my own if I get a SC salesperson license

No, you may not practice real estate without a supervising broker and office code, which needs to be submitted to the South Carolina Real Estate Commission. If you do not yet have a supervising broker, you will need to indicate this on your application.

Can I get my SC license if I have a past arrest or conviction?

Having a criminal record does not necessarily prevent you from being issued a real estate license in South Carolina. However, certain convictions can be used as grounds for denial. In these cases, you will be required to appear before the Commission for an application hearing.

What are the requirements for applying for a salesperson license in SC

There are three general requirements that all candidates will need to meet in order to apply for a real estate salesperson license in SC:
1) Be at least 18 years old.
2) Must have obtained a high school diploma (or certificate of equivalency).
3) Be lawfully present and eligible to work within the U.S.

What could keep me from receiving approval for a SC license?

As part of the real estate license process, you will be required to submit to a fingerprints-based criminal background check, to be conducted by the State Law Enforcement Division and the FBI. These two methods of digging into an applicant’s criminal background history will be used by the SC Real Estate Commission.

Are there any SC license accommodations for members of the military?

South Carolina Labor Licensing Regulation allows for licensure under the “Armed Services Members and Spouses Professional and Occupational Licensing Act” to apply to those married to, and living with, an active military member. Applicants must hold a professional or occupational license in another state.

Do I need a Social Security number to apply for an SC license?

Yes, the South Carolina Real Estate Commission is required to verify your social security number using a copy of your social security card. This is required before a license is issued by any South Carolina licensing board, including the real estate commission.

SC Real Estate Profession Related Questions

What am I able to do with my South Carolina salesperson license?

Having a SC license, you are legally able to earn a commission or other compensation, or the expectation of a commission or other compensation, by representing sellers and buyers in the selling, purchasing, listing, exchange, leasing, renting or leasing option on any real property, real estate improvement or timeshare.

When is a real estate salesperson license required in South Carolina?

A real estate salesperson license is required to represent a buyer or seller in a real estate transaction, and earn a commission or compensation for the services. This includes listing, selling, purchasing, leasing, lease options and renting of real property.

SC Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does South Carolina offer reciprocity with other states?

The South Carolina Real Estate Commission offers full reciprocity for Georgia residents who are qualified through written examination within Georgia and who also hold an active real estate license in Georgia.

Do I need to take the SC state exam if I am licensed in another state?

If you hold an active real estate license from another state and are in good standing, or have held a license in good standing during the preceding six months, you will only need to take the South Carolina portion of the state real estate licensing exam.

Can I get my SC salesperson license if I live in another state?

Yes, you can apply for a South Carolina real estate salesperson license even if you live in another state. You must still comply with all the requirements of resident licenses. If you hold a license in another state, you will need to pass the SC law portion of the state license and be exempt from the 60-hour unit I.

Can I obtain my SC salesperson license if I’m not a U.S. citizen?

The South Carolina State Real Estate Commission does not list U.S. citizenship among the requirements for applying for a real estate salesperson license. However, you must have a social security number so that you can provide a copy of your card to the Commission. This is required in order for a license to be issued.

Scheduling Your SC State Real Estate Licensing Exam

What information is needed when I schedule my SC exam appointment?

When you schedule your appointment, you will need to provide your name, social security number, phone number, mailing address, the title of the exam, eligibility information, email address, and​ method of payment​.

Can I miss or cancel my South Carolina PSI real estate exam?

If you miss your scheduled appointment or you cancel less than two days prior to your scheduled exam date, you will forfeit your exam fee and need to reschedule your exam. You will need to submit a new registration and pay the exam fee if you need to reapply for a missed exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my SC State exam?

Once your eligibility has been electronically forwarded to PSI and you have received approval to schedule the state licensing exam, you can do so by going to the PSI candidate website and following the online prompts after registering for an account. You can schedule your exam by calling PSI Services at 800-733-9267.

How to schedule my SC exam if I am licensed in another state?

If you are licensed in another state, you will need to provide your licensing and education information to the South Carolina Real Estate Commission. You can use the commission’s online application process to upload the required documentation, which includes a Certification of Licensure for each jurisdiction.

Can I get my SC real estate license if I am not a SC resident?

PSI has testing centers across the country where you may take the South Carolina real estate exam if you are eligible to do so. You will be able to choose a location convenient to you once you have made an account on the PSI exam website and input your information, including zip code.

How can I cancel and reschedule my test after I’ve made an appointment

You may reschedule your exam by going online at http://www.psiexams.com or by contacting PSI at 800-733-9267. Appointments should be cancelled or rescheduled at least two days prior to the scheduled testing date to avoid forfeiting your exam fee.

How do I find a PSI test center near me in South Carolina?

PSI administers the South Carolina real estate broker licensing exam at five PSI Test Centers in SC as well as in Charlotte, N.C. The current listing of PSI Test Centers, including specific location details and directions, is available in the PSI candidate handbook for South Carolina real estate license candidates.

How do I schedule my South Carolina state exam for salesperson license

Before scheduling your exam, you must apply to take the South Carolina Real Estate license exam through the South Carolina Real Estate Commission. Visiting the commission’s online application portal you will be able to make your application, uploading supporting materials, and pay the initial application fee of $25.

Taking the SC State Licensing Exam

How do I know what to review if I don't pass my SC exam the first time

Yes, if you do not pass, you will immediately receive a notification on your screen that you did not pass. You will then be provided with a diagnostic report before leaving. It will show your strengths and weaknesses on each exam type.

I failed the SC state real estate licensing exam. What do I do now?

If you failed one or both portions of the real estate salesperson licensing exam, your score and reapplication instructions will be included in your score report. You need to re-register for the exam, which includes paying the exam fee again. You can go online at http://www.psiexams.com or contact PSI at 800-733-9267.

Do I need to take the SC state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

South Carolina has a full reciprocity agreement with the state of Georgia. If you are licensed in another state, you will still need to take the South Carolina-specific portion of the state licensing exam, but may qualify for exemption from the rest of the exam.

When will I receive my South Carolina real estate test results?

You will immediately receive your score once you have completed the exam. Your results are kept confidential and are only reported to you and to the commission. You will need to achieve a passing grade for each section. That means getting 56 questions correct on the national portion of your exam.

When should I show up for my South Carolina real estate exam?

You should plan to arrive at your test center no later than 30 minutes prior to your appointment time. This will allow enough time to sign in, provide identification and familiarize yourself with the exam process.

Could I bring a calculator to my SC salesperson license exam?

Some types of calculators may be brought to the testing center. Calculators must be battery-operated and silent. They may not be programmable. In addition, the calculator’s keyboard cannot contain the alphabet and it may not have paper-tape printing capabilities.

What items may I take into my SC licensing exam appointment?

You should not bring any personal items into the testing center, other than keys and wallet. You will be provided with secured storage to place personal belongings prior to entering the exam room. In addition to restrictions on personal items, you will not be allowed to bring food or drink into the exam room.

Can I eat or drink water during my South Carolina real estate test?

No, eating and drinking is not allowed in the test center nor is smoking. A restroom break is allowable, with permission from the proctor, but you will not be given additional time to make up for any lost time during breaks.

Who administers the state exam for a SC salesperson license?

The South Carolina State Real Estate Commission has contracted with the testing agency PSI to administer the real estate salesperson licensing examination.

How far in advance do I need to schedule my SC state licensing exam?

When you register on the PSI exam website and schedule your exam, you will be presented with available dates at the location that you select. Because appointments are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis, the amount of advance time necessary depends on the number of candidates who select the same day and time.

What is the cost of the South Carolina state licensing exam?

The fee for taking the exam is $63 for taking both portions of the exam or $55 if you only need to take one portion. Exam fees are good for one year once paid, but are not refundable. If you need to retake the exam or retake a portion of the exam, you will need to pay the fee again.

How do I pay for the South Carolina state real estate licensing exam?

Your options for methods of payment depend on how you choose to register and schedule your exam. If you register online, by phone or by fax, PSI accepts major credit cards, including VISA, MasterCard, Discover or American Express. Cash and personal checks are not acceptable methods of payment.

May I take a pencil or paper into my SC real estate licensing exam?

No personal belongings will be allowed in the exam room. Any personal belongings brought to the test center must be secured in the proper storage provided before entering the exam room. Personal items prohibited include pencils, pens and other writing devices, as well as notebooks.

Who do I contact if I have a question about the SC state exam?

For questions or requests for more information about the exam itself, you can refer to PSI Handbook for South Carolina real estate license candidates or you can contact PSI directly at 855-340-3701 or online at the PSI website.

What are considered acts of misconduct when taking the SC state exam?

If you engage in any activities considered to be acts of misconduct while taking your exam, you may be dismissed and the South Carolina Real Estate Commission may be notified. Your score will be invalidated and you will forfeit your exam fee.

What are the PSI state exam security procedures in South Carolina?

For security purposes, all PSI test centers are continuously monitored by video and audio surveillance equipment. All applicants must adhere to a strict set of requirements when taking the exam.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > South Carolina
  • About the SC State’s Real Estate Education Requirements
  • Applying for a SC Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in South Carolina
  • Real Estate License Renewal in South Carolina
  • SC License Qualifications and Requirements
  • SC Real Estate Profession Related Questions
  • SC Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Scheduling Your SC State Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the SC State Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side