PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Rhode Island Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Rhode Island
  • About the 45-Hour Rhode Island Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Rhode Island Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Rhode Island
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Rhode Island
  • How to Get a Rhode Island Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Rhode Island
  • Rhode Island License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Rhode Island Real Estate License Renewal
  • Rhode Island Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Rhode Island Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Scheduling Your Rhode Island Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Rhode Island Real Estate Licensing Exam

Rhode Island Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Rhode Island real estate license, the Rhode Island real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the RI state exam, how to renew your RI real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 45-Hour Rhode Island Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get a RI real estate license?

You are actually required to take two courses to receive a Rhode Island Real Estate salesperson license. The first is a 45-hour pre-licensing education course that includes three hours of Agency Law. The second is a Lead Paint and Lead Hazard mitigation three-hour course.

How many hours of education are required to get a RI license?

In total, you will have 48 hours of education before you apply for your license. The main 45 of these are in your pre-license salesperson education. Another three hours are in a required Lead Hazard Mitigation course.

How can I take the 45-hour RI real estate license course?

You have the ability to take your pre-license education as an in-person learning class or through remote education. Many licensing candidates opt to take the course virtually as it can be more flexible and faster than an in-person classroom course.

Can I take the 45-hour RI real estate license course online?

Yes, you can take the Rhode Island real estate licensing courses as online learning. Many students choose his pathway as it is the most affordable and convenient option to meet the state's education requirement.

Can I take the RI pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

As Rhode Island does not specify any age or general education requirements, it could be possible to take the course while still in high school. You'll want to check with the specific pre-license course provider.

Can I use my law degree as credit towards the RI pre-license course?

Yes, licensed attorneys at law with the Supreme Court of the State of Rhode Island may, through application, receive a real estate salesperson's license without an examination. Submit a Real Estate Salesperson/Attorney Application with proof of your license as a practicing attorney.

Can I apply my college credits toward the RI pre-license course?

No, Rhode Island will not accept college credits towards your required 45 hours of pre-licensing education.

Does the RI salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, your pre-license education course will have a final exam. You must pass this exam in order to earn the course completion certificate required for your license application.

How do I earn the RI pre-license course completion certificate?

To earn the pre-license course completion certificate, there may be quizzes and understanding checks to pass along the way. The course will finish with a final exam. Your course provider will let you know what a minimum passing score is. Once you pass the final, you will have earned your course completion certificate.

How many questions are on the RI pre-license course exams?

The exact number of questions on your pre-license course exams will vary based on the current section of the course you are taking. Your course provider will provide information about the different tests and the final exam.

How do I receive my RI Course Completion Certificate?

If you are a RealEstateU student, your course completion certificate will be available to you after you pass the final exam. All you need to do is log into your account, and a downloadable course completion certificate will be available.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in RI?

The Rhode Island Department of Business regulation provides this list of approved real estate pre-licensing vendors for you to choose from.

How does the DBR know that I have completed the pre-license course?

You are required to provide a course completion certificate with your salesperson license application that shows you have taken the required education within the last two years of your application date. Without this, you won't be approved for a salesperson license.

Will my school notify the DBR that I have completed my education?

No, your course provider will not provide information to the Department of Business regulation that you met the education requirement. It is your responsibility to keep your course completion certificate and submit it with your salesperson license application.

How long is my RI Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Your course completion certificate is valid for two years from the date on your certificate. You must finish all the steps in the licensing process from the state, or you'll have to start over.

Applying for a Rhode Island Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for a RI real estate license?

Before you apply for a RI salesperson license, you need to complete the pre-licensing education, pass the state licensing exam, order your criminal history check, purchase errors and omissions insurance, and be hired by a principal broker. Once you've done all that, you can submit your license application.

How do I apply for my Rhode Island real estate salesperson license?

The Department of Business Regulation (DBR) highly recommends that you apply online for your license. You need to gather all of your documentation for uploading into the online system. Alternatively, you can print and mail the paper application, but expect the processing time to take longer.

Can I apply online for the RI real estate salesperson license?

Yes, you can apply online for your salesperson license in Rhode Island. In fact, the Department of Business regulation prefers for you to submit an online application because the processing time is much faster.

How much is the RI real estate salesperson license application?

The Rhode Island salesperson license application fee has two separate checks or money orders. You will pay $140 made out to the Rhode Island General Treasurer and $25 paid to the Real Estate Recovery Account. In total, the application fee will be $165.

What documents do I need to submit with my RI license application?

You need to have the following documents ready for upload: ● Pre-licensing education proof of completion ● Lead Poisoning / Lead Hazard mitigation course completion certificate ● State licensing exam score report ● Certificates of errors and omissions insurance ● Three recommendations from Rhode Island residents

When should I file my Rhode Island license application with the DBR?

After passing the state licensing exam, you have up to one year to file your application with the Department of Business Regulation. File as soon as you are ready to prevent any processing delays.

Can I get a RI real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

No. Your principal broker has a section of the license application that they must complete stating they intend to hire and supervise your work. The state won't issue your license without a supervising broker.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in RI?

If you have an inactive license, you cannot engage in any real estate brokerage activities. An active license means you can work as a real estate agent, perform real estate brokerage activities, and be compensated for work as a real estate professional.

How do I receive an active RI real estate salesperson license?

Rhode Island Real Estate salespersons must work under the supervision of a licensed broker to maintain an active real estate license. Once you have met the education requirements, passed the state licensing exam, been hired by a broker, and secured errors and omissions insurance, you can file your application.

What’s the difference between a RI salesperson- and a broker license?

Holding a broker license enables you to open and run your own brokerage. You will be able to hire employees to work in the business of real estate. A salesperson is licensed to work under the supervision of a broker.

Where can I check my RI salesperson license application status?

You can go to the State of Rhode Island's Department of Business Regulation license lookup to see if you have been listed in their directory.

Where can I get E&O Insurance in RI?

All Rhode Island real estate professionals must carry Errors and Omissions insurance independently. The Rhode Island Association of Realtors maintains a partial list of insurance carriers who provide this type of coverage. The coverage must meet the minimum limits set by the Department of Business Regulation.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Rhode Island

Can I get my RI salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

Rhode Island does not list any specific disqualifications for a prior criminal history. If you have questions, you should directly contact the Department of Business Regulation.

What offenses disqualify me from receiving a RI salesperson license?

You are most likely to be disqualified from receiving a Rhode Island Real Estate salesperson license if your prior convictions have to do with dishonesty or untrustworthiness.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the RI Commission

Your prior criminal activity will be revealed to the Commission when you make your license application. The application requires you to include a criminal history report from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General and answer some questions on the application itself.

Getting Fingerprinted in Rhode Island

Do I need to be fingerprinted in RI to earn a salesperson's license?

You don't need to be fingerprinted, but you do need to order your criminal history record from the RI Department of the Attorney General. You can apply in person or by mail. You’ll need to bring a photo ID with your date of birth. If you have any questions about this process, you can contact the DAG at 401-274-4400.

How do I order my criminal history record in Rhode Island?

The Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General is located in Cranston. Its hours of operation are from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. You will need to contact the DAG to order your criminal history record. The cost will be a total of $35.

How do I order a criminal history record if I am not a RI resident?

All real estate salesperson applicants are required to submit a criminal history record from the Rhode Island DAG as part of their application. If you are not a Rhode Island resident, you additionally will need a CHR or a CORI report from your home state law enforcement agency.

How to Get a Rhode Island Real Estate License

How much does it cost to get my RI salesperson's real estate license?

Earn your Rhode Island real estate salesperson license for as little as $759. You can reduce the costs in choosing a real estate school and your insurance policy. The licensing costs are spread out over the entire process and not paid all upfront.

What tests do I need to take to get my RI real estate license?

The first test you will take is the final exam of your pre license course. You must also pass an exam after taking the Lead Hazard Mitigation course. The most significant test is the state's real estate licensing exam, in which you must pass two sections with a minimum score of 70.

How do I get my Rhode Island real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your RI salesperson's license 1) Show proof of education completing 45-Hour RI Pre-license Salesperson Course and Lead Mitigation Course 2) Pass the RI salesperson state exam 3) Submit to a background check 4) Obtain E&O insurance 5) Submit a salesperson license application

How long does it take to get my RI real estate license?

Earn your RI salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1) Complete the 45-hour pre-license course online: 1-3 weeks. 2) Schedule and pass the RI state exam: 1-3 weeks. 3) Schedule a background check: 1-3 weeks. 4) Purchase E&O insurance. 5) Be hired by a broker: 1-3 months 6) Apply for your license: at least 3 weeks

Can I complete the application for a RI salesperson's license online?

Yes, the RI Department of Business Regulation (DBR) encourages you to apply online for your license. You can submit a paper application, but it will take more business days for processing.

RealEstateU Questions in Rhode Island

Is the RealEstateU Rhode Island pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer an online version of the required 45-hour course for $349.

Rhode Island License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a RI real estate license?

Rhode Island does not have any age requirements to receive a real estate salesperson license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my RI real estate license?

Rhode Island's Department of Business regulation does not list any general education requirements as a prerequisite for a real estate salesperson license.

Can I get a RI real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Yes, you can receive a Rhode Island Real Estate salesperson license if you do not live inside the state. Non-residents do have a slightly different application process.

Where can I find regulatory information about RI real estate licenses?

The Rhode Island Department of Business regulation publishes all of the statutes and regulations relevant to the Real Estate Commission on its website. You will find the statutory Authority Under RIGL 5-25 and RIGL 5-20-20. Regulations are under Regulation 230 – RICR – 30-20-2.

Rhode Island Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Rhode Island real estate license?

The Rhode Island Department of Business regulation encourages you to use the online licensing portal to renew your real estate license. You can also print out a paper application to complete the renewal process.

How much does it cost to renew my Rhode Island real estate license?

Rhode Island salesperson renewal fees are $130. You will need to make a check or money order payable to the Rhode Island General Treasurer or to pay by credit card if you renew online. If you miss your renewal date, you will pay an additional $100 late fee.

How often do I have to renew my RI real estate salesperson license?

Your Rhode Island salesperson license is active for two years. Your renewal will therefore have been every two years.

What are the education requirements for first-time renewals in RI?

Rhode Island does not require any special coursework or post-licensing education for new real estate salespersons. You must meet the same requirements as a salesperson.

What are the continuing education requirements for RI active licensees

RI salespersons must take 24 hours of continuing education in the two-year period before their license expires. At least three of these classroom hours should be in federal, Rhode Island, or local laws pertaining to fair housing. Six of these hours must be in CORE instruction. Refer to the approved course list.

How soon can I renew my RI real estate license?

You will receive an email from the Department of Business Regulation once your renewal window opens. It's important that the Real Estate Commission has a current and accurate email address available to reach you.

What happens if I do not renew my RI salesperson license on time?

If you fail to meet your renewal deadline, your license expires and you will be charged a $100 late fee in addition to the $130 renewal fee. If you fail to renew within one year of your license renewal, you cannot renew without taking the state licensing exam.

Rhode Island Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Rhode Island real estate license?

If you hold a Rhode Island real estate salesperson license, you can earn a commission or other compensation by representing sellers and buyers in the selling, purchasing, listing, exchange or leasing option on any real property, real estate improvement or timeshare.

When is a real estate license required in Rhode Island?

A real estate salesperson license is required to represent a buyer or seller in a real estate transaction and earn a commission or compensation for the services. A salesperson license is not required to sell or buy your own home.

What must I do if I transfer brokers in RI?

The transfer application fee costs $25. You need to turn in a change and real estate brokerage affiliation with a certificate of errors and omissions insurance showing you are current. Your new employing broker must sign the form.

Rhode Island Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

How can I get my RI license if I'm already licensed in another state?

If you are licensed in another state without a reciprocity agreement with Rhode Island, you'll need to submit the standard real estate salesperson application. Include a letter of good standing from your home state's licensing authority. You also need to take the pre-license education and the full licensing exam.

How do I get my RI real estate license if I'm not a RI resident?

Non-resident applications need to follow the standard steps plus: ● Provide a Criminal History Record from the home state and the RI Department of the Attorney General ● If applicable, a letter of good standing from the home state's licensing authority ● A Power of Attorney Form for service of process

Does Rhode Island offer reciprocity with other states?

Rhode Island has reciprocity agreements with Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Florida. The agreement with Florida does require the applicant to sit for the state portion of the licensing exam.

How can I get my RI real estate license through reciprocity?

You need to submit a reciprocal real estate salesperson application, a letter of good standing from your home State Licensing Authority, and your criminal history records. Florida applicants also need to take the state portion of the licensing exam.

Scheduling Your Rhode Island Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the RI exam without taking the pre-license course?

You don't need to show proof that you have passed the pre-license course before you schedule the state exam, but it is still a good idea to take the course first. Taking the course first will provide you with the information you need to know to pass the state exam.

How long do I have after finishing the course to take the RI exam?

Your pre-license course certificate is valid for two years. It's a good idea to schedule the exam within this window. The sooner you can take the exam after finishing your course, the more likely the information will still be top of mind.

How do I schedule my RI real estate salesperson licensing exam?

Go to www.pearsonvue.com to schedule an exam online. Alternatively, you can schedule the test by calling (800) 274-8922. All exams must have a reservation made at least 24 hours in advance.

How much does the RI real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Rhode Island real estate licensing exam fee is $70 paid directly to Pearson VUE using a credit card, debit card, electronic voucher, or check. Your exam fee is nonrefundable.

How do I pay for the RI state licensing exam?

You pay Pearson VUE, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card, debit card, voucher, or check. All exam fee payments must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my RI license exam?

Online registration is the fastest and easiest way to set your exam appointment. All you need to do is go online with Pearson VUE, create an account, search for the test center nearest you, schedule a date and pay the exam fee. You can be registered within an hour.

Where can I take the RI real estate licensing exam?

Pearson VUE’s only test center inside Rhode Island is in East Providence. You can also take the Rhode Island exam in Worcester, Boston, Woburn, and North Dartmouth in Massachusetts. For specific addresses and schedules, go to Pearson VUE online or the back of the Candidate Information Bulletin.

Do I need to take the RI state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

Rhode Island has a reciprocal agreement with licensed real estate professionals in Connecticut and Massachusetts. Florida licensed real estate agents just need to take the state portion of the exam. All other licensed real estate professionals will have to take the full exam.

How do I change or cancel my RI state exam date?

Any changes to your state licensing exam appointment must be made at least 48 hours in advance. To make the change, call Pearson VUE at 800-274-8922. If you do not change or cancel at least 48 hours before the appointment, you will forfeit the exam fee.

Taking the Rhode Island Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the RI state salesperson licensing exam?

The Rhode Island Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions, and the State section will ask 50 multiple-choice questions. You need a minimum scaled score of 70 to pass.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the Rhode Island State Exam?

You are permitted to bring a calculator if it is silent, handheld, non-printing, and non-alphabetic. Financial or scientific calculators are not permitted. Calculator malfunctions will not be grounds for challenging exam results.

What is included on the Rhode Island state salesperson licensing exam?

The test assesses your knowledge of national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the DBR, licensing, statutes on licensees, fair housing, and lead hazard mitigation.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the RI State Exam?

Pearson VUE can accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must visit the Reasonable Adjustments Request System online and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What am I required to bring with me to the RI state license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Can I take my RI State Exam if I don't have a principal broker?

Yes, you can take the state exam if you have not been hired by a broker yet. You'll have one year after passing the state exam to complete all the steps in the process, including being hired by a state-licensed broker.

What are the exam policies at the RI Pearson VUE testing center?

Personal items must be placed in secure storage. All electronic devices must be off before being stored. Food, drinks, chewing gum, and smoking are not permitted. You can take an unscheduled break, but you won’t be given extra time on the exam. See the Candidate Bulletin for a full list.

Do my Rhode Island licensing exam results expire?

Yes, you have one year from the date you pass the Rhode Island salesperson licensing exam to meet all the requirements for licensure and to file your application. Your application must be completed in full, signed, and notarized.

I just passed my Rhode Island real estate exam; now what?

Congratulations on passing the RI state licensing exam. Your next steps are: ● Order your criminal history record ● Be hired by Rhode Island principal broker ● Find three character recommendations from Rhode Island residents ● Purchase errors and omissions insurance ● File your license application

How will the Rhode Island Commission know my exam results?

You are required to submit your official state licensing exam score report when you turn in your licensing application.

How many times can I take the RI state salesperson license exam?

After taking the exam the first time, you have a one-year window to pass the test. You can retake the exam as many times as you need within this window.

How long does it take to get my Rhode Island State Exam results?

You will know how you did before you leave the test center. You will receive a score report that is marked pass or fail. Anyone who failed the exam will receive some diagnostic information about the general portion of the exam. Anyone who passes will receive information on applying for their license.

I failed my RI real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you are permitted to retake the exam again. You have a one-year window in which to pass the exam.

How do I retake the Rhode Island State Exam if I previously failed?

To schedule your exam retake, first wait 24 hours for the system to update. Go to your Pearson VUE account and follow the same procedures as when you registered the first time.

How much does it cost to retake the RI State Exam?

Each time you take the Rhode Island real estate licensing exam will cost $70. It's in your best interest to take the exam as few times as possible.

I failed one portion of the RI exam. Do I have to retake both sections

No, you can just retake the section that you failed as long as it is within one year of the first time you took the exam. You'll still need to pay the $70 exam fee.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Rhode Island
  • About the 45-Hour Rhode Island Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Rhode Island Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Rhode Island
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Rhode Island
  • How to Get a Rhode Island Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Rhode Island
  • Rhode Island License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Rhode Island Real Estate License Renewal
  • Rhode Island Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Rhode Island Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Scheduling Your Rhode Island Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Rhode Island Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side