PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: Oregon Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Oregon
  • About the 150-Hour Oregon Real Estate Broker Pre-License Course
  • Applying for an Oregon Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Oregon
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Oregon
  • How to Get an Oregon Real Estate License
  • Oregon License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Oregon Real Estate License Renewal
  • Oregon Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Oregon Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Oregon
  • Scheduling Your Oregon Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Oregon Real Estate Licensing Exam

Oregon Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Oregon real estate license, the Oregon real estate broker course, how to prepare for the OR state exam, how to renew your OR real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 150-Hour Oregon Real Estate Broker Pre-License Course

How long are my OR Broker License Course hours valid?

Oregon does not indicate how long your license course hours are valid. However, you must be hired by a Principal Broker and finish the application within one year of passing your state license exam.

What course am I required to take to get an OR broker license?

Oregon requires all candidates to take a 150-hour broker pre-license course from one of the state’s pre-approved education providers. You can take the course online or in person. Many opt for online as the fastest and easy way to complete the 150 hours.

How many hours of education are required to get an OR license?

Oregon requires broker license candidates to complete a 150-hour broker pre-license course with an approved course provider. Taking the classwork online enables you to move at your own pace.

How can I take the 150-hour OR real estate license course?

You must select from Oregon’s pre-approved education providers. Providers offer the courses as in-person classes or as online courses. Many license candidates prefer online courses for their flexibility and affordable price.

Can I take the 150-hour OR real estate license course online?

Yes, many students decide to complete the required hours online because it is more affordable and flexible. As long as a state-approved education provider provides the course, you can take it online.

Can I take the OR pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

The Oregon Real Estate Agency requires candidates to be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED. Since the state has you complete the broker application as the first step, you’ll need to wait until you have a diploma.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the OR pre-license course?

No, Oregon does not offer exempts for law degree credits or licensed attorneys. You must meet the same broker license requirements for any candidate.

Can I use my college credits towards the OR pre-license course?

No, Oregon does not accept college credits towards the broker license course.

Does the OR broker pre-license course have a final exam?

The Oregon broker pre-license course is divided into seven different topics, with varying required hours in each topic. To measure your understanding, you may take exams at the end of each topic area. A comprehensive final exam will be given at the end of your 150-hour course of study.

What must I do to earn OR pre-license course completion certificate?

You successfully complete the Oregon broker pre-license course when you pass all your course exams plus the comprehensive final exam at the end of the 150 hours.

How do I receive my OR Course Completion Certificate?

Oregon doesn’t administer course completion certificates. Your school will electronically notify the PSI you are eligible to take the state exam.

Where can I find approved OR pre-license course providers?

Oregon provides a searchable list of pre-approved education providers for your broker license education.

How does the OR Agency know that I have completed pre-license course?

Finishing your 150 hours of education qualifies you to take the state exam. Since you can’t take the PSI-administered exam without it, the Agency knows you have met the education requirement.

Will my school notify the OR Agency that I have completed my education

No. Instead, RealEstateU will notify PSI electronically you have met the required 150 hours of pre-licensing education. This qualifies you to take the required state licensing exam.

Applying for an Oregon Real Estate License

How do I apply for my Oregon real estate broker license?

To apply, go online to the Oregon Real Estate Agency. You’ll need proof of education, your age, and potentially additional documents, depending on your application responses.

Can I apply online for the OR real estate broker license?

Yes. Oregon utilizes an online application portal to track real estate broker licensing.

How much is the OR real estate broker license application?

Your broker license application fee costs $300, made payable online through the application system with a credit card.

What documents will I need to submit with my OR license application?

You’ll include proof of a high school education or its equivalent. You may need to include supporting documents depending on application answers.

When should I file my OR license application with the Agency?

File as soon as you are ready, as it is the first step in earning an Oregon broker license. You can’t proceed with the 150-hour education course or your exam without an applicant ID number.

Can I get an Oregon broker license if I don't work for a broker?

No. In Oregon, a Principal broker must add you to their business license to activate your license.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in OR?

An active license allows you to legally work as a real estate broker, representing buyers and sellers transacting real estate. An inactive license does not allow you to work as a real estate broker and earn a commission.

How do I receive an active Oregon real estate broker license?

After you have passed your background check and state exam, you must have a Principal broker add you to their business license and request your license be activated. This usually takes 1-2 days.

How do I change from an inactive to an active OR license?

Oregon charges a $150 reactivation fee for inactive licenses. Make sure you meet any continuing education requirements and have a Principal Broker hire you. Go online to the Agency’s license portal to start the process of reactivating your license.

What’s the difference between a broker- and a Principal broker license

A broker license enables you to represent buyers and sellers in real estate transactions. A Principal broker license allows the licensee to employ and supervise other real estate brokers.

Where can I check my OR broker license application status?

The Oregon Real Estate Agency uses an online portal for application and license management.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Oregon

Can I get my Oregon broker license if I have a prior conviction?

Oregon will not permit a broker license if a background check shows any signs you cannot act in a trustworthy and professional manner. If you are concerned about a prior conviction as grounds for denial, contact the Oregon Real Estate Agency before applying by calling (503) 378-4170 or emailing orea.info@oregon.gov.

What offenses would disqualify me from receiving an OR Broker License?

Oregon’s statutory mandates say that applicants must show a history of trustworthiness and professional conduct. Any offenses which bring into question a candidate's honesty or character may be grounds for a broker license denial.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the OR Agency?

You will disclose any prior criminal activity through the initial broker license application. Additionally, after passing your exam, you will submit to fingerprinting and a background check.

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the OR Agency?

You will disclose any prior criminal activity on the initial broker license application. The state will also run a state and national background check using your fingerprints after you pass the state broker’s license exam.

Getting Fingerprinted in Oregon

Do I need to be fingerprinted in Oregon to earn a broker’s license?

Yes, Oregon requires real estate brokers to be fingerprinted for a background check. PSI will conduct the fingerprinting at the test center immediately after you pass the exam. The fee is $56.25 and payable directly to PSI.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Oregon?

Getting fingerprinted in Oregon is easy. PSI will handle the fingerprinting the same day as your exam, as long as you pass both sections. The fee is $56.25. PSI accepts Visa, MasterCard, money orders, and checks.

How long does fingerprinting and a background check take in Oregon?

Fingerprint processing can take up to four weeks in Oregon. Your prints will be forwarded from PSI to the appropriate search agencies for the background check. Check your online license application for updates.

What are the requirements to apply for an OR real estate license?

Applying for your Oregon real estate broker’s license is actually the first step in earning a broker license. You must be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma, GED, or international equivalent.

How to Get an Oregon Real Estate License

How do I get my Oregon real estate broker's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your OR Broker’s license:
1) Apply for a broker license online.
2) Complete a 150-Hour OR Pre-license Broker Course
3) Pass the OR broker state exam
4) Submit fingerprints for a background check
5) Get hired by a Principal Broker

How much does it cost to get my OR broker's real estate license?

In total, it will cost as little as $730.25 to earn your Oregon real estate broker license. These costs are spread out over the entire licensing process and not paid all upfront.

How long does it take to get my OR real estate license?

Earn your OR broker license in approx. 2 months.
1)Apply for your license: 1 day
2)Complete the 150-hour pre-license course online: 4-8 weeks.
3)Schedule and pass the OR state exam: 1-3 weeks.
4)Await for background check results.
5)Get hired by a Principal Broker. License activation takes 1-2 days.

What tests do I need to take to get my OR real estate license?

Applicants must take the Oregon pre-license broker exam, administered by PSI. If you are not applying by reciprocity, you will take multiple tests as part of the 150-hour Pre-license Broker course.

Can I complete the application for an OR broker's license online?

Yes. In fact, Oregon requires you to start the process with an online application for the broker’s license.

Oregon License Qualifications / Requirements

Do I need a high school diploma to get my OR real estate license?

Yes, Oregon requires you to have a high diploma, general education diploma (GED), or international equivalent to apply for an Oregon real estate broker license.

Can I get an Oregon real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Yes, Oregon does not have a residency rule to get an OR broker’s license. However, you must meet the same requirements as OR residents, starting with making an application and taking the 150-hour Oregon Pre-license Broker course.

Where can I find regulatory information about OR real estate licenses?

You can find information about the Oregon Real Estate Agency, obtaining a real estate broker license, continuing education requirements, and administrative rules under Chapter 696 – Real Estate and Escrow Activities.

How old do I have to be to get an OR real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for an OR broker license.

Oregon Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Oregon real estate license?

When it’s time to renew your Oregon real estate broker license, use the state's online portal. License renewal is available during your birthday month. You will need to complete 30 hours of continuing education each 2-year renewal cycle. Renewing your broker license costs $300.

How much does it cost to renew my OR real estate license?

The fee to renew an active Oregon real estate broker license is $300.

How often do I have to renew my OR real estate broker license?

Your Oregon broker license is good for two years. Licenses expire on the last day of the month your birthday is in. License renewal is available starting on the first day of your birthday month.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in OR?

In your initial license period, you must take 30 hours of continuing education from a certified provider. At least 3 hours are a required Law and Rule course. The remaining 27 hours are in Broker Advanced Practices.

What are the CE requirements for inactive OR licensees?

If you have an inactive real estate broker license, you don’t need continuing education. However, you must meet the 30-hour continuing education requirements before you can reactivate your license.

What are the CE requirements for active OR licensees?

Active broker’s licenses must take a total of 30 hours of continuing education from an approved provider during the two-year renewal cycle. At least three of these hours must be a required Law and Rule course. After your initial renewal period, you have a list of topics to select from.

How do I renew an inactive OR real estate license?

You renew an inactive Oregon real estate broker license by going to the eLicense portal. The renewal fee will be $150. You don’t need to meet the continuing education requirement.

What happens if I do not renew my OR license on time?

Your license will be disassociated from your organization and moved to inactive, prohibiting you from transacting real estate and earning a commission. You can file online to have your license reinstated, but you’ll need to pay a $150 late fee on top of the $300 renewal fee.

How do I reinstate an expired OR real estate license?

You can request your real estate broker license be made active by submitting an application for reinstatement online. Make sure you meet the licensing requirements, such as fulfilling your continuing education within the last two years.

Oregon Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Oregon real estate license?

Holding an Oregon real estate broker license enables you to sell or lease all types of real estate in the State of Oregon and earn a commission in the process under the supervision of a Principal Broker.

When is a real estate license required in Oregon?

A real estate license is required if you represent a seller or buyer of real property as an agent and earn a commission in the process. Note that you do not need a real estate license to buy or sell your own home.

What must I do in OR if I transfer employing brokers?

Oregon requires you to notify them of the transfer. The Principal Broker at the new business must log in to eLicense to transfer your license to their agency.

Oregon Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Oregon offer reciprocity with other states?

Yes, Oregon reciprocity for Alabama, Alberta, Georgia, Nebraska, and South Dakota. You’ll need to ask the Agency how to apply with reciprocity. Otherwise, there are no exemptions for the education or examination requirement.

How can I get my OR real estate license through reciprocity?

The Oregon Real Estate Agency has specific reciprocal licensing requirements for the states it has an agreement with. You must contact the agency for information. Spouses or domestic partners of a US active military member may qualify for a temporary authorization to conduct real estate activity in Oregon.

How can I get my OR license if I'm already licensed in another state?

Specific reciprocal licensing requirements are available for Alabama, Alberta, Georgia, Nebraska, and South Dakota. Otherwise, real estate professionals licensed in another state must meet the same requirements as any broker license candidate.

How do I get my OR real estate license if I'm not an OR resident?

You will follow the same basic steps as an Oregon resident to earn your broker license. This means taking a 150-hour broker pre-license course, passing the state licensure exam, and completing a fingerprint background check. An Oregon Principal Broker must activate your license.

RealEstateU Questions in Oregon

Is the RealEstateU Oregon pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 150-hour course for $299.

Scheduling Your Oregon Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the Oregon exam without taking the pre-license course?

No. In Oregon, taking the pre-license education course qualifies you to take the exam. The course provider will electronically notify PSI you are qualified to take the broker exam.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the OR exam

Oregon does not publish a timeline to schedule the real estate broker exam after finishing your education. However, it’s best to take it as soon as possible while the course content is still fresh in your mind.

How do I schedule my OR real estate broker licensing exam?

PSI administers the OR broker pre-license exam. After completing your course, wait a day or two for the provider to notify PSI and have you added to their system. Next, schedule your exam by visiting http://www.psiexams.com/ or calling (833) 892-5441.

How much does the OR real estate broker license exam cost?

Taking the Oregon real estate broker license exam will cost $75, payable directly to PSI.

How do I pay for the OR state licensing exam?

You will directly pay PSI, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card. PSI accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. PSI prefers you register and pay online.

How long does it take to schedule my OR broker license exam?

It will take 1-2 days for your course provider to notify PSI you are eligible to take the exam. Once done, schedule your exam by going online to http://www.psiexams.com/ or calling (833) 892-5441. Setting up a PSI account and scheduling the exam takes eight steps. You can be registered and scheduled in under 15 minutes

Where can I take the OR real estate licensing exam?

PSI offers testing centers in Baker City, Bend, Eugene, Independence, Medford, Portland, and Wilsonville. For specific addresses or to find a test center near you, visit the PSI website.

Do I need to take the OR state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

Yes. Oregon requires you to take the state exam even if you are licensed in another state. Some reciprocity candidates may only need the state portion of the exam.

How do I change or cancel my OR state exam date?

Visit http://www.psiexams.com/ or call PSI at (833) 892-5441 to reschedule or cancel your state exam. You must cancel or reschedule at least (2) days before your test date to not forfeit the $75 testing fee. A voicemail is not accepted as a cancellation.

Taking the Oregon Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the OR state broker licensing exam?

The Oregon Broker Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions. You must answer 75% correct, or 60 questions, to pass. The State section will ask 50 multiple-choice questions, and you must answer 75% correct, or 37 questions, to pass.

What is included on the Oregon state broker licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the agency law, regulatory requirements, real estate statutes, and property management.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the OR State Exam?

Oregon allows you to bring a non-programmable, silent, and battery-operated personal calculator. It cannot have an alphabet keyboard and must be separate from your phone.

What am I required to bring with me to the OR broker license exam?

You will need to bring one government-issued form of identification. Examples are a driver’s license, passport, or military ID card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the OR State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must fill out the accommodations request form and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Oregon PSI testing center?

PSI will provide secure storage for candidates to store their personal belongings during the test. Food, drink, smoking, and electronic devices are not permitted in the testing center. You will be allowed to use the restroom during the exam, but you will not receive extra time.

Can I take my OR State Exam if I don't have a Principal broker?

Yes, Oregon does not require you to have been hired by a broker to take the state exam. However, you will need to be hired by a Principal broker to activate your real estate license.

Do my OR State Exam results expire?

Yes. You must pass your background check, be hired by an Oregon Principal Broker, and activate your broker license within one year of successfully passing both parts of the exam.

I just passed my OR real estate exam, now what?

Your next steps will be to get fingerprinted, have a background check, and be hired by an Oregon Principal broker within (1) year. Your broker will activate your license.

How will the OR Agency know my exam results?

PSI will send your score report and fingerprints immediately upon completion of your test to the Oregon Real Estate Agency with your score results.

How many times can I take the OR state broker license exam?

You can take the state broker license exam as many times as necessary to pass both the national and state portions. The fee to retake both sections or a single section is $75.

How long does it take to get my OR State Exam results?

Good news! Your Oregon broker license exam results will be displayed instantly when you finish the test. The score report will appear on-screen, and the results will be emailed to you. If you did not pass, it will also provide you with a diagnostic report by topic area and exam type.

I failed my OR real estate broker exam. Can I take it again?

Yes. You can retake your real estate broker exam as many times as necessary to pass. If you pass one section and not the other, you can retake just the failed section. Just know that your passing section score is only valid for (1) year for your broker license application.

How do I retake the OR State Exam if I previously failed?

You will visit PSI’s website or call (833) 892-5441 to reschedule your state exam.

How much does it cost to retake the OR State Exam?

Any exam retakes will cost $75, made payable to PSI.

How do I retake if I failed only one portion of the OR broker exam?

No. You can retake just the section that you still need to pass. Keep in mind for your license application that any passing scores are only valid for (1) year. If you can’t pass with both sections with 12 months, you’ll need to retake both sections.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Oregon
  • About the 150-Hour Oregon Real Estate Broker Pre-License Course
  • Applying for an Oregon Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Oregon
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Oregon
  • How to Get an Oregon Real Estate License
  • Oregon License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Oregon Real Estate License Renewal
  • Oregon Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Oregon Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Oregon
  • Scheduling Your Oregon Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Oregon Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side