PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Oklahoma Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Oklahoma
  • About the 90-Hour Oklahoma Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for an Oklahoma Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Oklahoma
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Oklahoma
  • How to Get an Oklahoma Real Estate License
  • Oklahoma License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Oklahoma Real Estate License Renewal
  • Oklahoma Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Oklahoma Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Oklahoma
  • Scheduling Your Oklahoma Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Oklahoma Real Estate Licensing Exam

Oklahoma Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Oklahoma real estate license, the Oklahoma real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the OK state exam, how to renew your OK real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 90-Hour Oklahoma Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get an OK salesperson license?

You are required to take a 90-hour pre-license deals person's course from one of the state's approved education providers. This course is known as the Basic Course The Real Estate, Part 1.

How many hours of education are required to get an OK license?

You are required to take a 90-hour pre-license education course. This course is called “The Basic Course Of Real Estate, Part 1.”

How can I take the 90-hour OK real estate license course?

You must take the course from one of the state's approved education providers. These providers will offer a mix of classroom learning, remote learning, and flexible online courses. Choosing an online course is the most flexible and affordable way to meet the 90-hour education requirement.

Can I take the 90-hour OK real estate license course online?

Yes, Oklahoma permits you to take the 90-hour pre-license salesperson course as an online learning course. You just must take the class from an approved education provider.

Can I take the OK pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

As Oklahoma has no age requirements to earn a salesperson license, there is likely not any age requirements to take the pre-license course. Check with the individual course provider to see if they have any age requirements.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the OK pre-license course?

Oklahoma does not have any provisions for practicing attorneys to earn credit for the pre-licensing course or for the salesperson license.

Can I use my college credits towards the OK pre-license course?

Oklahoma will accept some credit from an institution of higher education certifying your completion of basic or advanced real estate instruction. You will need to submit a certified transcript accredited by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education or a corresponding agency of another state.

Does the OK salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, “The Basic Course Of Real Estate, Part I” has a final exam that you must pass with a score of at least 80% to earn your course completion certificate. Your course provider can provide you with more information about the number of questions and the topic breakdown for the final exam.

What to do to earn the OK pre-license course completion certificate?

To earn your pre-license course completion certificate, first you must fully work through the 90-hour The Basic Course Of Real Estate, Part 1 course. At the end of the course, you must pass the final exam with at least an 80%. Once you do this, you can be issued your course completion certificate.

How many questions are on the OK pre-license course exams?

The exact number of questions on your pre-license course exams varies based on the current section of the course you are taking. The final exam created by your course provider may have different questions. The course administrator will tell you how many questions are on the different exams and the comprehensive final.

How do I receive my OK Course Completion Certificate?

All RealEstateU students will be able to access their course completion certificate immediately after passing their final exam. All you need to do is log into your account and navigate to your course. You'll find instructions on how to download your course completion certificate.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in OK?

The state of Oklahoma publishes a list of approved education providers for you to select from. These course providers provide a range of learning options.

How does the OREC know that I have completed the pre-license course?

You will need to submit a copy of your course completion certificate to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission as part of the provisional salesperson application.

Will my school notify the OREC that I have completed my education?

No, it is your responsibility to submit a certificate of completion to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission as proof that you have met the 90-hour pre-license salesperson education requirements. You will do this as part of the provisional salesperson application.

How long is my OK Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Your Certificate of Completion for your 90-hour Pre-license Salesperson course is good for three years. You have that length of time to apply for your provisional salesperson license.

Applying for an Oklahoma Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for an OK real estate license?

Before you can apply for an Oklahoma salesperson license, you must be a United States citizen. You'll need to complete a 90-hour pre-license course, apply for a provisional license, submit fingerprints for a background check, and pass the state licensing exam.

How do I apply for my Oklahoma real estate salesperson license?

Oklahoma uses an online application process. You will start with the provisional salesperson application using the online application portal. When it's time to issue your license, the commission will email you instructions on how to issue your license online.

Can I apply online for the OK real estate salesperson license?

The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission only uses an online process to manage salesperson applications and license issuing.

How much is the OK real estate salesperson license application?

The first part of the salesperson license application will cost $35. Once you are ready for your license to be issued, you will pay an additional $100 fee. So, in total, your initial salesperson license will cost $135.

What documents will I need to submit with my OK license application?

When you first apply for your provisional salesperson license, you will need to submit your certificate of completion for the 90-hour education course. You will also need to upload proof of your citizenship either as a birth certificate or a United States passport.

When should I file my OK license application with the Commission?

We recommend filing your provisional salesperson license application shortly after finishing your 90-hour pre-license education course. The OREC must approve you to take your state licensing exam. You will want to take the exam while the information is more likely to be fresh in your mind.

Can I get an OK salesperson license if I don't work for a broker?

No, the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission will not issue you your salesperson license until it receives approval from a managing broker. When you request the OREC to issue your license, you have to input information regarding your hiring brokerage.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in OK?

An active license enables you to work in the business of real estate and earn a commission for your efforts. Having an inactive license says that you have met the licensing requirements and are in good standing, but you are not currently approved to earn a commission while conducting a real estate business.

How do I receive an inactive OK real estate license?

Any changes to the status of your Oklahoma salesperson license must be done online through the licensing portal.

How do I receive an active Oklahoma real estate salesperson license?

You will receive an active Oklahoma real estate salesperson license once you meet all of the requirements for licensure and have been activated by a managing broker. You must continue to work under the supervision of an Oklahoma license broker to stay on active status.

How do I change from an inactive to an active OK license?

When you are ready to move your license to active status, you will need to go online to the licensing portal. Make sure you input your broker information. The activate sales associate fee will be $135.

Are the OK salesperson- and an employing broker license different?

A broker license enables an individual to run a business as a firm and to sponsor licensed sales associates. You can be a branch office manager or a managing broker for a corporation or association. Licensed salespersons cannot do this.

Where can I check my OK salesperson license application status?

Go online to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission licensing portal to check on the status of your salesperson applications.

How do I get a paper copy of my OK real estate salesperson license?

You can print your wall certificates and pocket card by going online to the licensing portal. This feature is available 24/7 to active licensees. You will not be mailed a license.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Oklahoma

Can I get my Oklahoma salesperson license if I have a prior conviction

The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission denies licenses to anyone convicted of a crime defined in Section 13.1, Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes within twenty years of the sentence completion. Anyone convicted of a felony crime related to real estate or public safety will be denied for ten years from sentence completion.

What offenses would disqualify me from receiving an OK License?

Convictions for crimes such as first-degree murder, robbery with a dangerous weapon, first-degree rape, arson, burglary, bombing, child abuse, and other crimes against children, plus moral turpitude, fraud, and forgery can be grounds for license denial.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the OK Commission

Any prior criminal activity will be disclosed to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission during the provisional license application process. The license application asks for screening information. It will also appear in your background check.

Should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the OK Commission?

Disclose any prior criminal activity during the provisional license application process. Anything you do not disclose may be revealed during the fingerprint and background check.

Getting Fingerprinted in Oklahoma

Do I need to be fingerprinted in OK to earn a salesperson’s license?

Yes, Oklahoma Real Estate Commission does require all applicants to pass a background check and that they are fingerprinted. The state uses IdentiGO for fingerprinting services.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Oklahoma?

The state uses IdentiGO for fingerprinting services. You will need to visit the website at https://ok.ibtfingerprint.com to schedule your fingerprinting appointment. Use the service code 2B7NR3 to complete your fingerprinting registration.

How long does fingerprinting and a background check take in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma and IdentoGO do not list a timeline for how long it takes to receive fingerprint background check results. You can check on the status of your service by going to the IdentoGO website and using one of four methods to look up your records.

How to Get an Oklahoma Real Estate License

How do I get my Oklahoma real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your OK salesperson’s license: 1) Pass the 90-Hour OK Pre-license Salesperson Course 2) Apply for a provisional salesperson license 3) Submit fingerprints for a background check 4) Take and pass the State Licensing exam 5) Request your provisional sales associate license

How much does it cost to get my OK salesperson's real estate license?

In total, it can cost as low as $504 to earn your Oklahoma real estate sales associate license. The licensing costs are not paid upfront but are spread out over the whole process.

How long does it take to get my OK real estate license?

Earn your OK salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1) Complete the 90-hour pre-license course online: 2-4 weeks. 2) Apply for provisional license and approval: 1 week 3) Submit fingerprints for a background check: 1-3 weeks 4) Schedule and pass the OK state exam: 1-3 weeks. 5) Apply to issue license: 4-8 weeks.

What tests do I need to take to get my OK real estate license?

You take a final exam as part of the 90-hour pre-licensing course. You also need to pass the state licensing exam with a 70% score.

Can I complete the application for an OK salesperson's license online?

Yes. In fact, Oklahoma only uses an online process for the license application and issuing the provisional sales associate license.

Oklahoma License Qualifications / Requirements

Can I get an Oklahoma real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Yes, you can get an Oklahoma salesperson license if you are not a state resident. You just must be a United States citizen.

Where can I find regulatory information about OK real estate licenses?

Find information about the Oklahoma Real Estate license code and rules through the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission. This link will take you to the November 2020 Code And Rules.

How old do I have to be to get an OK real estate license?

Oklahoma does not have a stated age requirement to receive a salesperson license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my OK real estate license?

Oklahoma does not have any rules about a high school diploma or equivalent education as part of the requirements for earning a salesperson license.

Oklahoma Real Estate License Renewal

How often do I have to renew my OK real estate salesperson license?

Oklahoma salesperson licenses renew every three years. You log into the licensing portal to find your specific expiration dates.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in OK?

All first-time license renewals must show proof that they have completed the 45-hour post-licensing education course, the “Basic Course Of Real Estate, Part 2.” This course must be taken within the first year of receiving your license. Your licensing portal will also show you any other requirements you must meet.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in OK?

Inactive license holders do not have to meet the continuing education requirements. You will need to get up to date before you can move your license to inactive status.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in OK?

All Oklahoma resident sales associates need 21 hours of continuing education every three years. You must take one hour each in: Broker Relationship Act, Code and Rules, Contracts and Forms, Fair Housing, Hot Topic, and Professional Conduct.

How do I renew an inactive OK real estate license?

You will need to go online to the license renewal portal and pay the $125 inactive salesperson license fee plus the $15 Education and Recovery Fund fee.

How soon can I renew my OK real estate license?

The licensing renewal portal will open 60 days before your expiration date. Log in to the Oklahoma licensing portal to find your expiration date.

What happens if I do not renew my OK license on time?

Anyone who fails to renew their Oklahoma salesperson license on time or does not meet their continuing education requirement by the renewal date will be changed to a lapsed status.

How do I reinstate in OK an expired real estate license?

You need to go online to the Oklahoma license portal, as long as your license has not been expired for more than three years. For an active reinstatement, you will need to pay $285. For an inactive reinstatement, the fee is $210.

How do I renew my Oklahoma real estate license?

All your continuing education must be completed in order to renew your OK real estate license. Your renewal portal will open 60 days before your license expiration date in the OK license portal. The portal also shows your particular renewal requirements and the remaining continuing education that must be completed.

How much does it cost to renew my OK real estate license?

The renewal fee for a provisional salesperson license is $95 plus $5 for the Education and Recovery Fund. For sales associates, the licensing fee is $200 plus $15 for the ERF. For inactive provisional salesperson licenses - $100. For inactive sales associates, the cost is $125 + $15 for the Education and Recovery Fund.

Oklahoma Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Oklahoma real estate license?

Holding an Oklahoma real estate salesperson license enables you to assist with the purchase, sale, lease, or property management of real estate in the state of Oklahoma. The license works for residential and commercial real estate.

When is a real estate license required in Oklahoma?

A real estate license is required anytime you would like to earn a commission for work in purchasing, selling, leasing, or managing property on behalf of another person or corporation.

What must I do in OK if I transfer brokers?

Any request to transfer to a new brokerage needs to be submitted through the licensing portal. The transfer fee is $40.

Oklahoma Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Oklahoma offer reciprocity with other states?

Yes, Oklahoma does have reciprocal licensing agreements with Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota. It also has a shortened pathway to licensure if you have a license in one of the other unlisted states.

How can I get my OK real estate license through reciprocity?

Complete at least one hour each of continuing education in Oklahoma Broker Relationship Act, Oklahoma Code And Rules, and Oklahoma Contracts And Forms. Then obtain a certified license history from the state in which you hold your current license. Submit this history with your application for a sales associate license.

How can I get my OK license if I'm already licensed in another state?

If you have two years or more experience within the last five years, you could qualify to take the Oklahoma state-only examination through PSI. If you do not have a license in a reciprocal state or have less than two years’ of experience within the last five years, you must undergo the full process.

How do I get my OK real estate license if I'm not an OK resident?

If you are already licensed in another state you can follow the pathway to earn your Oklahoma sales associate license. Otherwise, you must follow the same steps as an Oklahoma resident to earn a provisional sales associate license. Oklahoma’s vendors have accommodations for taking fingerprints and testing out-of-state.

RealEstateU Questions in Oklahoma

Is the RealEstateU Oklahoma pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 90-hour course for $249.

Scheduling Your Oklahoma Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the OK exam without taking the pre-license course?

No, you need to take the 90-hour pre-license course first. This is because the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission must approve you to take the test, and they won't do that without seeing proof of your education requirement being met first.

How long do I have after OREC approves me to schedule the OK exam?

Your certificate of completion is good for three years. Once you are approved to take the test, the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission does not designate a specific timeline. However, your testing approval will definitely only be good until your pre-licensing certificate expires.

How do I schedule my OK real estate salesperson licensing exam?

Once your application is approved, the OREC will notify the testing vendor PSI. Expect to see an email within 48 hours of your application approval. Inside this email will be a direct link for you to schedule your exam.

How much does the OK real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Oklahoma real estate salesperson exam fee is $60. The fee is paid directly to psi through the online link using a credit card.

How do I pay for the OK state licensing exam?

You will directly pay PSI, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card when you register using the online link. PSI accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. You can also mail a check, money order, or cashier’s check. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my OK license exam?

The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission tries to review all applications within five business days. Once your application is approved, testing vendor PSI will email you within 48 hours with the link to schedule your exam. The actual process of going online and scheduling the exam will be done within an hour.

Where can I take the OK real estate licensing exam?

PSI Test Centers are located in Oklahoma City, Tulsa, McAlester, and Woodward. Visit PSI online or review the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission License Examination Candidate Bulletin for information on specific addresses to find the center closest to you.

Do I need to take the OK state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

It depends on how long you have been licensed or where you hold your active real estate license. You will want to look at Oklahoma's pathways for a sales associate license for licensed real estate professionals.

How do I change or cancel my OK state exam date?

Any changes or modifications to your Oklahoma licensing exam appointment must be done at least 48 hours in advance. If you do not make these changes within 48 hours, you forfeit your examination fee. To make any changes, you must call PSI at 855-746-8169. Voice mails do not count as a reschedule or cancellation.

Taking the Oklahoma Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the OK state salesperson licensing exam?

The Oklahoma Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists a national and a state section. The total number of questions is 130, and each question is worth one point. A passing score is 70%.

What is included on the Oklahoma state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the OK laws and rules, the OK Broker Relationships Act, and Property Management.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the OK State Exam?

You don't need to bring a calculator, but it is allowed. Only silent, non-programmable calculators that do not have paper tape printing capabilities or a keyboard containing the alphabet will be allowed in the examination site. It must be battery powered.

What am I required to bring with me to the OK salesperson license exam

Arrive 30 minutes early to the exam site and bring with you one form of identification. PSI requires primary identification to be government-issued, such as your state driver’s license or ID card, a US government-issued passport or military identification card, or issued alien registration card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the OK State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications per the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must fill out the accommodations request form and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Oklahoma PSI testing center?

No personal items are allowed into the test room. Small items such as wallets, keys, and small purses can be placed in Secure Storage at each site before you enter the test room. Food and drink are not allowed. The center proctors will check to make sure no recording devices are being hidden.

Can I take my OK State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, Oklahoma does not require that you be hired by a managing broker in order to take your state licensing exam.

Do my OK State Exam results expire?

Yes, your passing score on the Oklahoma State licensing exam is good for only one year. You will have 365 days from the day you pass the test to issue your provisional sales associate license.

I just passed my OK real estate exam. What are the next steps?

Your next step is to start interviewing and be hired by a Managing broker. Apply for your provisional sales associate license issuance. Your broker must approve you before you can resume these steps. Take the 45-hour post-licensing course within one year.

How will the Commission know my OK exam results?

Testing vendor PSI will notify the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission of your state licensing exam results. The OREC will contact you within 48 hours about issuing your license online.

How many times can I take the OK state salesperson license exam?

Oklahoma does not State any limits on how many times you can retake the salesperson license exam. It likely depends on how long your pre-license course completion certificate is valid.

How long does it take to get my OK State Exam results?

You will know how you did on the Oklahoma state licensing exam right away. A score report will appear on screen notifying you of your results. If you fail the test, it will also provide you with some diagnostic information.

I failed my OK real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you are allowed to retake the exam again. You must wait 24 hours before contacting PSI to schedule your retake.

How do I retake the OK State Exam if I previously failed?

Wait 24 hours before trying to reschedule your Oklahoma State licensing exam. Then, you will contact PSI either by logging onto your online account or by calling them at 855-746-8169.

How much does it cost to retake the OK State Exam?

The exam fee for the Oklahoma State licensing exam is $60, even if you are retaking the test.

I failed one portion of the OK exam. Do I have to retake both sections

Yes, you will have to retake both sections. Oklahoma does not give the option to take just the failed section.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Oklahoma
  • About the 90-Hour Oklahoma Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for an Oklahoma Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Oklahoma
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Oklahoma
  • How to Get an Oklahoma Real Estate License
  • Oklahoma License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Oklahoma Real Estate License Renewal
  • Oklahoma Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Oklahoma Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Oklahoma
  • Scheduling Your Oklahoma Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Oklahoma Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side