PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Ohio Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Ohio
  • About the 120-Hour Ohio Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for an Ohio Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Ohio
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Ohio
  • How to Get an Ohio Real Estate License
  • Ohio License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Ohio Real Estate License Renewal
  • Ohio Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Ohio Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Ohio
  • Scheduling Your Ohio Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Ohio Real Estate Licensing Exam

Ohio Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Ohio real estate license, the Ohio real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the OH state exam, how to renew your OH real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 120-Hour Ohio Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get an OH salesperson license?

New salesperson applicants must take a 120-hour pre-license course from an approved pre-license school. The ODRE breaks the courses into four modules:
● Ohio Real Estate Principles Practices (40 hours)
● Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours)
● Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
● Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)

How many hours of education are required to get an OH license?

You must take 120 hours in pre-license education. The course must be taught by an approved pre-license school and teach:
● Ohio Real Estate Principles Practices (40 hours)
● Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours)
● Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
● Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)

How can I take the 120-hour OH real estate license course?

You can take the 120-hour pre-license course as an in-classroom course or an online course. The education must be completed at an institution of higher education that awards at least two-year degrees. Remember, online courses are the fastest and most affordable way to complete your required education.

Can I take the 120-hour OH real estate license course online?

Yes, Ohio does permit you to take the required pre-license education online as long as it is from an approved pre-license school.

Can I take the OH pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

While Ohio doesn’t have an education or age limit to take the pre-license course, you must have a high school diploma or its equivalent to apply for your license. Your course provider may have age restrictions on who is allowed to take the course.

Can I apply my law degree credits towards the OH pre-license course?

There is no indication that any law degree courses or credits King count for your Ohio pre-license course education.

Can I apply my college credits towards the OH pre-license course?

The Ohio pre-licensing courses must be taken at an institution of higher education. Some of these may award you college credit. Otherwise, your college credits existing elsewhere may not count for your Ohio pre-license course.

Does the OH salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, your Ohio 120-hour pre-license course will have a final exam. Passing this exam is an essential step in earning your course completion certificate. Your course provider will tell you more about the final exam.

What to do to earn the OH pre-license course completion certificate?

You must successfully complete all four modules and their required hours. You must pass all the quizzes and exams in these modules. Finally, you’ll need to pass the comprehensive course final before you can be issued a course completion certificate.

How many questions are on the OH pre-license course exams?

Due to the nature of the program and the varying amount of time spent on course content, the number of questions on the quizzes and exams varies. The course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different exams and the comprehensive final.

How do I receive my OH Course Completion Certificate?

RealEstateU students will be able to log in to their account after passing the final exam. The course certificate will be available for download right away.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in OH?

Find approved pre-license schools on the Ohio Division of Real Estate website.

How does the ODRE know that I have completed the pre-license course?

You must submit your course completion certificate as part of your state exam and license application. You can’t sit for the exam or receive a license without it.

Will my school notify the ODRE that I have completed my education?

No, it’s your responsibility to include your proof of education through the course completion certificate with your state license application.

How long is my OH Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Your pre-license education certificate is valid for ten years from the date on the certificate.

Applying for an Ohio Real Estate License

Can I apply online for the OH real estate salesperson license?

No, Ohio does not offer online applications for the real estate salesperson license. You'll need to download the salesperson exam application and follow the instructions to begin the process.

How much is the OH real estate salesperson license application?

The salesperson application fee is $81 made payable to the Ohio Division of Real Estate with a check or money order.

What documents will I need to submit with my OH license application?

In addition to your license examination application, you need to provide a copy of the official transcript or certificate of completion showing you met the pre-license class requirement. You may also need to attach additional information regarding any yes answers to the Ethical Conduct and Legal History questions.

When should I file my license application with the ODRE?

Submit your license application to the ODRE soon after finishing your pre-license education. It will take over 30 days for the commission to approve your application for the state licensing exam. You want to take the exam as soon as you can.

Can I get an Ohio real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

No, all Ohio real estate salespersons must be sponsored by it an Ohio licensed broker. In fact, it's part of a requirement for your salesperson exam application.

What is the difference between an OH active and inactive license?

An active license allows you to legally work as a real estate salesperson, representing buyers and sellers transacting real estate. An inactive license does not allow you to work as a real estate salesperson and earn a commission.

How do I receive an inactive OH real estate license?

You can't initially receive an inactive Ohio real estate license. You can request that an active license be made inactive by filling out the Transfer/Reactivation request form.

How do I receive an active Ohio real estate salesperson license?

To receive an active Ohio real estate salesperson license, you must follow all of the steps to receive a new salesperson license. You must pass your fingerprinting, be supervised by an Ohio license broker, has the state exam, and show you have good character.

How do I change from an inactive to an active OH license?

You can ask for your license to be reactivated by submitting the salesperson transfer/reactivation application. You'll need to pay a $34 fee.

What’s the difference between an OH salesperson- and a broker license?

While both licenses enable you to assist clients with their real estate needs and earn a commission for your work, Brokers take additional hours of education and certification. This enables them to independently owned a brokerage in supervised others in the business of Real Estate.

Where can I check my OH salesperson license application status?

You will be issued your salesperson license as soon as you pass the state licensing exam. PSI will send your passing score to the ODRE. Wait 5 to 10 business days before contacting the ODRE to check on your licensing status. You can also try to look up your license status in the online eLicense Center.

What are the requirements to apply for an OH real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or its equivalent, and not have been convicted of a felony or crime of moral turpitude. You'll need to complete the 120 hours of instruction, and find a sponsoring broker before you can submit your salesperson application.

How do I apply for my Ohio real estate salesperson license?

To apply, download the application for the salesperson exam. This application also serves as your state license application. You'll need to mail it to the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Ohio

Can I get my Ohio salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

If you have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude or violated any civil rights laws in real estate within the past two years, you will not be able to get a real estate license.

What offenses would disqualify me from receiving an OH License?

Ohio does not issue salesperson licenses to anyone convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude. You also cannot have violated any civil rights laws in real estate within the past two years.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the OH Commission

You will disclose any prior criminal activity in your salesperson exam application under the ethical conduct section. If you answer yes, you will be required to submit additional paperwork regarding your answer.

Getting Fingerprinted in Ohio

Do I need to be fingerprinted in Ohio to earn a salesperson’s license?

Yes, you must be fingerprinted for a criminal records check at the state and federal levels. Your background check must be submitted within 10 days of turning in your salesperson exam application.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Ohio?

You are required to use a Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI&I) approved Webcheck® user. You must schedule with the vendor and provide them with your reason codes the address of the Division of Real Estate for them to send the background check results.

How long does fingerprinting and a background check take in Ohio?

Your background check results should be sent to the Ohio Division of Real Estate within 30 days of your fingerprinting submission.

How much does fingerprinting cost in Ohio?

The specific fees for your fingerprinting and background check will vary between the vendors. A typical cost for state and FBI checks ranges from 58 to $71. Some vendors have posted their prices on the approved Webcheck® location list.

How to Get an Ohio Real Estate License

How do I get my Ohio real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your OH Salesperson’s license: 1) Complete 120-Hour OH Pre-license Salesperson Course 2) Apply for the OH salesperson state exam and license 3) Submit fingerprints for a background check 4) Schedule the state licensing exam 5) Pass the exam to be issued your license

How much does it cost to get my OH salesperson's real estate license?

In total, it will cost as little as $1,147 to earn your Ohio real estate salesperson license. These costs are spread out over the entire licensing process and not paid all upfront.

How long does it take to get my OH real estate license?

Earn your OH salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1) Complete the 120-hour pre-license course online: 3-6 weeks. 2) Apply for the exam and license: 1-3 weeks. 3) Schedule the background check: 1 week, up to 4 for results. 4) Schedule the exam: 1-3 weeks 5) Receive your license: 5-10 days.

What tests do I need to take to get my OH real estate license?

During your pre-license course, you’ll take a series of quizzes to check for understanding. You’ll have a course final exam to pass before receiving your course completion certificate. Finally, you’ll have the state licensing exam to pass before you can be issued an OH salesperson license.

Can I complete the application for an OH salesperson's license online?

No. Currently, Ohio utilizes a paper application process for new salesperson licensees.

Ohio License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get an OH real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for an Ohio salesperson license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my OH real estate license?

Yes, Ohio does require salespersons to hold a high school diploma, GED, or international equivalent for anyone born after 1950.

Can I get an Ohio real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Ohio does not have a state residency requirement for seeking a real estate salesperson license.

Where can I find regulatory information about OH real estate licenses?

Refer to the Ohio Administrative Code, chapter 1301:5 for information about brokers and salespersons Licensing and responsibilities.

Ohio Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Ohio real estate license?

To renew your Ohio real estate license, you need to use the Ohio Division of Real Estate eLicense Center. You'll log in to your account to add your continuing education and process your license renewal.

How much does it cost to renew my OH real estate license?

The salesperson renewal fee is $182. If you choose to renew online, you can pay using a Visa or MasterCard. Mail-in renewal can be paid with a check or money order made out to the Ohio Division of Real Estate.

How often do I have to renew my OH real estate salesperson license?

You must renew your salesperson license every three years by your birthday. So if you were licensed in 2020, you would renew in 2023 by your birthday.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in OH?

You must complete 30 hours of continuing education. You are required to take three courses, of three hours each, in Civil rights, Core Law, and Ohio Canon of Ethics. Find additional elective courses by searching on the eLicense Center Continuing Education Class Search.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in OH?

Inactive license holders do not need to maintain their continuing education to renew an inactive license.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in OH?

All active salesperson licensees must complete 30 hours of continuing education. Part of the 30 hours requires you to take three courses in Civil Rights, Core Law, and Ohio Canon of Ethics, all three hours each. Find additional elective courses by searching on the eLicense Center Continuing Education Class Search.

How do I renew an inactive OH real estate license?

Renew your inactive Ohio real estate license by using the Division of Real Estate eLicense Center. You can also submit a mail-in application.

How soon can I renew my OH real estate license?

The license renewal window opens 60 days before your birthday in the year that you renew. You cannot turn in your continuing education or renewal application before this date.

What happens if I do not renew my OH license on time?

Failure to renew your license results in it being placed on suspended status. To reactivate a suspended license, you'll need to fill out the transfer/reactivation application and submit proof of 30 hours of continuing education. Your renewal fee will become $227.50. Your broker also must return your original license.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in OH?

To reactivate an expired Ohio salesperson license, you'll need to fill out the transfer/reactivation application. Submit proof you have met the 30 hours of continuing education requirement. The renewal fee is $227.50. Your broker also must return your original license.

Ohio Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Ohio real estate license?

Holding an Ohio salesperson license enables you to assist buyers and sellers in the purchase, sale, lease, or management of residential and commercial real estate and earn compensation for your work.

When is a real estate license required in Ohio?

A real estate license is required anytime you want to be financially paid for helping others with their real estate needs, such as buying, selling, or leasing any property.

What must I do if I transfer employing brokers in OH?

Fill out the Transfer/Reactivation request form and pay a $34 processing fee.

Ohio Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Ohio offer reciprocity with other states?

Yes, Ohio does offer reciprocity with the following states: Arkansas, Connecticut, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

How can I get my OH real estate license through reciprocity?

Take an Ohio real estate law course at an institution of higher education. Be affiliated with an Ohio license broker, then fill out a salesperson reciprocity exam application and the consent to service of process form. Include a certified license history and get fingerprinted by an OH vendor.

How can I get my OH license if I'm already licensed in another state?

If you are eligible for reciprocity, you can submit a salesperson reciprocity exam application. Follow the steps outlined in the application. If your state does not offer reciprocity with Ohio, you will have to follow the same steps as a new salesperson applicant.

How do I get my OH real estate license if I'm not an OH resident?

As part of your application, you'll need to turn in a Consent to Service of Process form. Otherwise, you must follow the same steps as a state resident seeking a salesperson license application.

RealEstateU Questions in Ohio

Is the RealEstateU Ohio pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 120-hour course for $949.

Scheduling Your Ohio Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the Ohio exam without taking the pre-license course?

No. You need to apply to take the state licensing exam. That application asks for your proof of pre-licensing education.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the OH exam

Your course completion certificate is valid for ten years, so in theory, you have up to ten years. However, it’s best to schedule your exam as soon as possible while the material is fresh in your mind.

How do I schedule my OH real estate salesperson licensing exam?

First, apply for the salesperson exam and get fingerprinted. ODRE must approve your application. PSI will send you a Candidate Information Handbook stickered with an OH RE _ID# once you are approved to take the exam. Now you can visit https://www.psiexams.com or call (855) 834-8749 for scheduling.

How much does the OH real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Ohio real estate salesperson state exam fee is $61 paid directly to the testing vendor PSI.

How do I pay for the OH state licensing exam?

You pay PSI, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card. PSI accepts most major credit cards. You can also mail a company check, money order, or cashier’s check. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my OH license exam?

The longest part of the process is waiting for the Ohio Division of Real Estate to approve your application. Once that is done and you have your Ohio Reference ID number, registration and scheduling can be completed in less than half an hour. Visit https://www.psiexams.com or call (855) 834-8749.

Where can I take the OH real estate licensing exam?

PSI exam centers are available in Akron, Cambridge, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, and Troy, Ohio. Search the PSI website or refer to the Ohio Candidate Bulletin for the addresses to find the closest test center for you.

How do I change or cancel my OH state exam date?

Any changes or cancellations must be made at least 48 hours in advance, or you will forfeit your exam fee and have to reapply to take the state exam. To reschedule, call (855) 834-8749. Voicemails are not accepted as cancellations.

Taking the Ohio Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the OH state salesperson licensing exam?

The Ohio Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. A National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions. A passing score is 70%. The State section will ask 40 multiple-choice questions. A passing score is 70%.

What is included on the Ohio state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the commission, licensing, rules of the OREC, and brokerage relationships.

What am I required to bring with me to the OH state license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the OH State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must fill out the accommodations request form and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Ohio PSI testing center?

Don’t bring any personal belongings into the testing center. Wallets and keys can be placed in provided storage. No food or drink is allowed in the exam room. You can use the restroom, but you will not receive extra time.

Can I take my OH State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

No, because your exam application requires you to have a sponsoring broker. Your application won’t be approved unless you have a hiring broker.

Do my OH State Exam results expire?

No, because in Ohio passing the state exam is the last step before you are issued your license. If you pass, you automatically receive your salesperson license.

I just passed my OH real estate exam, now what?

Congratulations! PSI will notify the Ohio Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing you have passed the exam. The ODRE will issue your salesperson license in a few business days.

How will the ODRE know my exam results?

PSI will notify the Ohio Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing you have passed the exam. The ODRE will issue your salesperson license in a few business days.

How many times can I take the OH state salesperson license exam?

Each license application enables you to take the exam one time within your 12-month eligibility window. Your testing window is printed on the mailing label of your Candidate Bulletin. If you fail, you must submit a retake application. You will pay an exam fee each time you retest, $39 for one section or $58 for both.

How long does it take to get my OH State Exam results?

Your exam results will appear on your computer immediately upon finishing the test. You’ll also leave the PSI test center with an official score report.

I failed my OH real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, but you must apply to retake it within twelve months of the eligibility date on your Candidate Bulletin. You’ll receive a retake application with your score report.

How do I retake the OH State Exam if I previously failed?

You’ll receive a retake application with your score report. You must submit this retake application to the ODRE and pay the exam fee. It is $39 if you need to retake one section or $58 if you need to take both. ODRE will let you know when your retake is approved.

How much does it cost to retake the OH State Exam?

It is $39 if you need to retake just one section or $58 if you need to take both. The fee will be paid to PSI, the testing vendor.

I failed one portion of the OH exam. Do I have to retake both sections

No, you can retake just the section you failed. The retake fee will be $39 regardless of which section you are retaking.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the OH State Exam?

You don’t need to, but you can. Only non-programmable calculators that are silent, battery-operated, and do not have an alphabetic keyboard are allowed.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Ohio
  • About the 120-Hour Ohio Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for an Ohio Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Ohio
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Ohio
  • How to Get an Ohio Real Estate License
  • Ohio License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Ohio Real Estate License Renewal
  • Ohio Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Ohio Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Ohio
  • Scheduling Your Ohio Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Ohio Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side