PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: New Jersey Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > New Jersey
  • About the 75-Hour New Jersey Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a New Jersey Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in New Jersey
  • Getting Fingerprinted in New Jersey
  • How to Get a New Jersey Real Estate License
  • New Jersey License Qualifications / Requirements
  • New Jersey Real Estate License Renewal
  • New Jersey Real Estate Profession Questions
  • New Jersey Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in New Jersey
  • Scheduling Your New Jersey Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the New Jersey Real Estate Licensing Exam

New Jersey Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your New Jersey real estate license, the New Jersey real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the NJ state exam, how to renew your NJ real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 75-Hour New Jersey Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

Will my school notify the NJREC that I have completed my education?

No, but it does notify the testing vendor PSI that you are now eligible to take the state licensing exam. Since you can’t take the test without this approval, the NJREC knows you have met the education requirements.

How long is my NJ Course Completion Certificate valid for?

You will have one year from the date your course provider sends your testing eligibility to PSI exams to schedule your state licensing exam. After that, you’ll have to take the course again.

What course am I required to take to get a NJ salesperson license?

You are required to take the New Jersey 75-hour Pre-license Salesperson Course from the state's list of approved education providers.

How many hours of education are required to get a NJ license?

You must take 75-hours of pre-license education as part of earning a NJ salesperson license.

How can I take the 75-hour NJ real estate license course?

You can take the New Jersey real estate salesperson pre-license course as a classroom course or a remote, online course. Online learning is the fastest and most affordable way to complete the 75-hour education requirement.

Can I take the 75-hour NJ real estate license course online?

Yes, you can take the 75-hour New Jersey real estate course online as long as you take the course from certified and approved education providers.

Can I take the NJ pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

There is no age requirement to take the 75-hour pre-license course, but remember you must be 18 years of age to apply for your license. You have to take the course before the state exam, and a passing state exam score is only good for one year.

Can I use my law degree credits for the NJ pre-license course?

If you are a practicing attorney in New Jersey, you can qualify for a salesperson education waiver. You must be admitted to practice law in New Jersey or any other state at the time of your application. You'll need to download and fill out the salesperson education waiver from the state.

Can I use my college credits for the NJ pre-license course?

Yes, you can use college credits if they total at least 75 hours in real estate or related subjects or if your degree was in real estate.

Does the NJ salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, your New Jersey pre-license course will end with a final exam. Your course administrator will provide you with more information about the length and content of the final exam.

What то do to earn the NJ pre-license course completion certificate?

You must fully work through the 75-hours of content and pass the course final exam before you can receive a course completion certificate.

How many questions are on the NJ pre-license course exams?

The exact number of questions on the pre-license course exams does vary based on the section of the course. Your course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different exams and the comprehensive final.

How do I receive my NJ Course Completion Certificate?

RealEstateU students will find their course completion certificate after passing the course final exam. Log in to your course account to find and download the certificate.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in NJ?

Here is the state's list of approved education providers.

How does the NJREC know that I have completed the pre-license course?

Your course provider notifies the testing vendor PSI that you have passed the education requirement and qualify to take the state licensing exam. You can’t take the required licensing exam without satisfying the 75-hour education requirement.

Applying for a New Jersey Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for a NJ real estate license?

The salesperson license requirements are:
● Be 18 years or older
● Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
● Take 75-hour pre-license education
● Pass state licensing exam
● Be hired by a managing broker
● Submit fingerprints for a background check

How do I apply for my New Jersey real estate salesperson license?

Your Managing Broker will submit your license application after you have been hired. You must provide your broker with your Applicant ID number. This ID number is found on your testing scorecard that proves you successfully passed the state exam.

Can I apply online for the NJ real estate salesperson license?

Yes. Actually, your Managing Broker will go to the Online Licensing Services portal for your license application.

How much is the NJ real estate salesperson license application?

The initial license application fee is $160. Personal checks are not accepted.

What documents will I need to submit with my NJ license application?

You will need to have ready: ● PSI state exam passing score report, both completed and signed by the employing broker ● Completed Sagem-Morpho Universal Form and receipt (provided when fingerprinting is done) ● Proof of high school education ● Any additional documentation as indicated by screening questions

When should I file my NJ license application with the Commission?

You only have one year from the date you pass the pre-license course to file the application. Work with your Managing Broker as soon as you are hired to submit the application, so you can be certified as a New Jersey real estate salesperson as soon as possible.

Can I get a NJ real estate license if I don't work for a salesperson?

No. In New Jersey, it’s your Managing Broker that submits your license application. If you’re not hired, you can’t receive a license.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in NJ?

An active license enables you to help clients with all of their real estate purchase, sale, and leasing needs and earn a commission for your work. An inactive license means you have met the requirements to hold a NJ license, but you are not currently authorized to work as a real estate salesperson and earn a commission

How do I receive an inactive NJ real estate license?

You can request an inactive New Jersey real estate license by writing a formal letter of resignation to your current managing broker. Your broker will then go to the New Jersey Real Estate Online Licensing Services and inactivate your license.

How do I receive an active New Jersey real estate salesperson license?

You earn an active New Jersey real estate salesperson license by meeting all of the right criteria. This includes passing the state licensing exam and working under the supervision of a managing broker. A managing broker must always supervise you if you hold a salesperson license.

How do I change from an inactive to an active NJ license?

When you like your license to return to active status, you can have your license electronically updated by your managing broker through the Rec Brokers Portal. If you have transferred brokers, a $25 transfer fee is made payable by check or company credit card. You can also submit a paper transfer application.

Is there difference between a salesperson and managing broker license?

A salesperson license enables you to assist clients with the purchase, sale, and Lease of commercial and residential real estate. Your work has to be supervised by a managing broker. A broker license enables you to open up a real estate brokerage, hire employees, and manage a real estate business.

Where can I check my NJ salesperson license application status?

The best way to check your license status is to go to the real estate commission's online licensing portal and use the Real Estate Licensee Search.

How do I get a paper copy of my NJ real estate salesperson license?

To print a copy of your New Jersey salesperson license, first log in to Online Licensing Services (OLS). The main menu has a link about generating your license. You'll need to click on “email my individual license.” It will now show you how to view, save, print, or email your license.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in New Jersey

Can I get my NJ salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

If you have been convicted of forgery, burglary, robbery, any theft offense other than shoplifting, criminal conspiracy to defraud, or similar offenses within the prior five years, your application will be denied.

What offenses would disqualify me from receiving a NJ License?

Disqualifying offenses include forgery, burglary, robbery, any theft offense other than shoplifting, criminal conspiracy to defraud, or similar offenses that have happened in the prior five years. Any convictions for shoplifting or revocation of a professional license for just cause may also be grounds for denial.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the NJ Commission

After you pass your real estate licensing exam, you will be asked a series of screening questions. Disclose at this time any prior criminal activity. If the NJREC has any concerns about your qualifications, you will be given a chance to submit a written explanation for your screening question responses.

When to disclose any prior criminal activity to the Commission in NJ?

You will disclose any prior criminal activity after you pass the real estate licensing exam. You will be asked a series of screening questions at this time.

Getting Fingerprinted in New Jersey

Do I need to be fingerprinted in NJ to earn a salesperson’s license?

Yes, New Jersey does require all real estate salespersons to be fingerprinted for a state and federal background check.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in New Jersey?

Try to time your fingerprinting with your application submission. Start by filling out the required Universal Form. Next, online scheduling is highly recommended for booking your fingerprint location and time. You will directly pay IDEMIA a $66.05 fee for the background check. They accept Visa, MasterCard, and more.

How long does fingerprinting and a background check take in NJ?

It usually takes about 7 to 10 days from the day you schedule the appointment to the actual appointment. After that, there is not a time estimate for how long the background check takes.

How to Get a New Jersey Real Estate License

How do I get my New Jersey real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your NJ Salesperson’s license:
1) Show proof of completing the 75-Hour NJ Pre-license Salesperson Course
2) Pass the NJ salesperson state exam
3) Submit fingerprints for a background check
4) Find a Managing Broker to work under and sponsor the license

How much does it cost to get my NJ salesperson's real estate license?

In total, it will cost as little as $520.05 to earn your New Jersey real estate salesperson license. These costs are spread out over the entire licensing process and not all paid upfront.

How long does it take to get my NJ real estate license?

Earn your NJ salesperson license in approx. 3 months.
1) Complete the 75-hour pre-license course online: 2-4 weeks.
2) Schedule and pass the NJ state exam: 1-3 weeks.
3) Submit fingerprints for a background check: 1-3 weeks
4) Be hired by a broker: 4-8 weeks
5) Apply for your license.

What tests do I need to take to get my NJ real estate license?

During your pre-license course, you’ll take a series of quizzes and exams to check for understanding. The course ends with a final exam. Next, you’ll take the NJ state licensing exam. This is a required comprehensive exam with 110 questions.

Can I complete the application for a NJ salesperson's license online?

Your Managing Broker will go to the Online Licensing Services portal to submit the application on your behalf.

New Jersey License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a NJ real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age before you can get a New Jersey salesperson license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my NJ real estate license?

Yes, New Jersey requires all salespersons to hold a high school diploma or its equivalent in education.

Can I get a New Jersey real estate license if I'm not a state resident

There are no state residency requirements to earn a real estate salesperson license.

Where can I find regulatory information about NJ real estate licenses?

You will find statutes and laws regarding New Jersey real estate in the New Jersey Statutes Title 45:15. Additional rules are in the New Jersey Administrative Code Title 11:5.

New Jersey Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my New Jersey real estate license?

Your managing broker will actually submit your real estate license for renewal. You do have to take two steps on your own. First is to fill out the qualifying questionnaire, and second, you have to turn in your continuing education credits.

How much does it cost to renew my NJ real estate license?

The renewal fee for a New Jersey salesperson license is $100. If you miss the deadline, reinstating your license will cost $150. If your continuing education is late, the commission charges a $200 late fee.

How often do I have to renew my NJ real estate salesperson license?

Your New Jersey salesperson license is valid for two years. The license term ends July 1 of odd-numbered years.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in NJ?

If you received your initial license during the first year of the NJ real estate license term, you must complete the 12 hours of continuing education to renew your license for the next turn. If you received your license in the second year of the license term, you are not required to meet this 12 hour requirement.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in NJ?

You will need to make sure you complete the required continuing education credits applicable in the preceding license term before you submit an inactive renewal.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in NJ?

Each license term, you must complete 12 credit hours of continuing education. Six of these 12 credits must be in the “core topics” as defined by the NJREC. The other six credits can be in electives or core classes.

How soon can I renew my NJ real estate license?

All of your continuing education must be completed and uploaded into the system by May 31 of the renewal year.

What happens if I do not renew my NJ license on time?

Your license will expire and you will no longer be legally able to practice real estate in New Jersey. If you want to reinstate your license, you will have to fill out a reinstatement application and pay a late fee.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in NJ?

Reinstating your salesperson license requires you to complete the continuing education credits applicable in the preceding license term. You'll need to answer the required qualifying questions online. Finally, your active broker of record will apply for your reinstatement by going to Online Licensing Services.

New Jersey Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my New Jersey real estate license?

Holding a New Jersey salesperson license enables you to transact residential or commercial real estate on behalf of clients and be financially compensated for your work.

When is a real estate license required in New Jersey?

A real estate license is required any time you wish to be paid for assisting others with buying, selling, or leasing any real estate in New Jersey.

What must I do if I transfer employing salespersons in NJ?

First, you need to submit a resignation letter to your current employer broker. They will go into Online License Services and deactivate your license. Next, your new managing broker must go into the system and request the transfer. There is a $25 transfer fee.

New Jersey Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does New Jersey offer reciprocity with other states?

Unfortunately, New Jersey does not offer real estate license reciprocity with any state.

How can I get my NJ real estate license through reciprocity?

New Jersey does not offer a path for currently licensed real estate professionals to earn a license through reciprocity. You'll have to follow the same steps as a new real estate salesperson.

How can I get my NJ license if I'm already licensed in another state?

Most real estate salesperson applicants have to follow the exact same process, even if they are licensed in another state. If you are licensed in Florida, New York, or Pennsylvania, you could have some of the education requirements waived.

How do I get my NJ real estate license if I'm not a NJ resident?

You must follow all the same steps as a New Jersey State resident to earn a real estate salesperson license. If you are a salesperson who holds a license in Florida, New York, or Pennsylvania, you could qualify for an education waiver. Check out the requirements for a waiver for your state.

RealEstateU Questions in New Jersey

Is the RealEstateU New Jersey pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 75-hour course for $249.

Scheduling Your New Jersey Real Estate Licensing Exam

Do I need to take the NJ state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

Yes, because New Jersey does not offer any reciprocity with any state, all salesperson applicants must take the state exam.

How do I change or cancel my NJ state exam date?

Modifying your NJ state exam appointment must be done at least 48 hours in advance by calling 855-579-4624.

Can I schedule the NJ exam without taking the pre-license course?

No, you can’t take the required state licensing exam without showing proof you met the 75-hour education requirement. Your course provider will send your testing eligibility to the testing vendor PSI.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the NJ exam

Your testing eligibility is only good for one year. Not only is it only valid for one year, but you also need to apply for your license before that year is up. It’s highly recommended to schedule your licensing exam as soon as possible.

How do I schedule my NJ real estate salesperson licensing exam?

You can schedule your exam directly by visiting https://www.psiexams.com/njre or calling 855-579-4624. Online scheduling is the fastest way to register for your exam.

How much does the NJ real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The NJ salesperson licensing exam fee is $45 paid directly to PSI. For online registration, they accept major credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover) or a JCB card.

How do I pay for the NJ state licensing exam?

You will directly pay PSI, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card. PSI accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards and JCB cards. Other options include mailing a check, money order, or cashier’s check. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my NJ license exam?

Registering is fast and easy when done online. Visit https://www.psiexams.com/njre to set up an account, find test centers, create an exam appointment, and pay the fee.

Where can I take the NJ real estate licensing exam?

PSI examination centers are available in Brick, Cherry Hill, Hamilton Square Area, Linwood, New Brunswick, New Providence, North Brunswick, Northfield Area, Rochelle Park, and Secaucus. New Jersey also offers a remote proctored examination. Go to PSI online to find the specific address and location closest to you.

Taking the New Jersey Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the NJ state salesperson licensing exam?

The New Jersey Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam is a comprehensive exam asking questions on national and state real estate topics. There are 110 total questions, with the potential of 5-10 “pre-test” questions that do not count for your score.

What is included on the New Jersey state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures and contracts, the NJREC, licensing, regulatory requirements, and state-specific regulations.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the NJ State Exam?

You do not need to, but you can. If you choose to bring a calculator, it must be non-programmable, non-alphabetic, silent, and battery operated.

What am I required to bring with me to the NJ state license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the NJ State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must submit an accommodations request and accompanying documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the New Jersey PSI testing center?

Personal items are not permitted in the test room. There is locker storage for wallets and keys. Food, drink, and smoking are not permitted. No electronic devices, including smartwatches, are allowed.

Can I take my NJ State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you can take the NJ real estate licensing exam without being hired by a Managing Broker. You will need one to apply for your license.

Do my NJ State Exam results expire?

Yes. You have one year from passing your pre-license course to pass the state licensing exam, be hired by a Managing Broker, be fingerprinted, and submit your license application.

I just passed my NJ real estate exam. Now what?

At this point, you’ll have less than one year to be hired and submit your license application. You are only eligible for one year from the date you passed your pre-license course. Start interviewing with New Jersey Managing Brokers right away. You’ll also need to schedule fingerprints for a background check.

How will the Commission know my NJ exam results?

You must submit your original PSI score report, signed by your employing broker, with your license application.

How many times can I take the NJ state salesperson license exam?

New Jersey does not specify a limit on salesperson license exam retakes. Any retakes must be taken with your one-year eligibility window.

How long does it take to get my NJ State Exam results?

The good news is you will know your NJ salesperson exam results right away! You leave the test center with an official score report and next steps information.

I failed my NJ real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can retake the NJ real estate salesperson exam. You can’t schedule a retake at the testing center and must wait 24 hours before online or phone rescheduling.

How do I retake the NJ State Exam if I previously failed?

Wait 24 hours before logging in online. Go to the PSI website and follow the instructions to schedule your next exam attempt. You’ll need to pay the $45 exam fee again.

How much does it cost to retake the NJ State Exam?

Each time you take the New Jersey salesperson exam costs $45.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > New Jersey
  • About the 75-Hour New Jersey Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a New Jersey Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in New Jersey
  • Getting Fingerprinted in New Jersey
  • How to Get a New Jersey Real Estate License
  • New Jersey License Qualifications / Requirements
  • New Jersey Real Estate License Renewal
  • New Jersey Real Estate Profession Questions
  • New Jersey Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in New Jersey
  • Scheduling Your New Jersey Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the New Jersey Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side