PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: New Hampshire Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > New Hampshire
  • About the 40-Hour New Hampshire Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a New Hampshire Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in New Hampshire
  • Getting Fingerprinted in New Hampshire
  • How to Get a New Hampshire Real Estate License
  • New Hampshire License Qualifications / Requirements
  • New Hampshire Real Estate License Renewal
  • New Hampshire Real Estate Profession Questions
  • New Hampshire Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in New Hampshire
  • Scheduling Your New Hampshire Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the New Hampshire Real Estate Licensing Exam

New Hampshire Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your New Hampshire real estate license, the New Hampshire real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the NH state exam, how to renew your NH real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 40-Hour New Hampshire Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get a NH real estate license?

You must take a 40-hour pre-licensing course from a pre-approved course provider. This course will teach you about real estate topics relevant to working in real estate in New Hampshire.

How many hours of education are required to get a NH license?

You will take a total of 40 hours of pre-licensing education before you take the state licensing exam.

How can I take the 40-hour NH real estate license course?

You can take the New Hampshire salesperson pre-license course as a classroom course or as a remote, online class. No matter how you take the course, it must be with a pre-approved provider. Online courses are a popular option because they are more flexible and tend to be more affordable than live learning.

Can I take the 40-hour NH real estate license course online?

Yes, you can take the New Hampshire salesperson pre-licensing class as an online course as long as you take it with a pre-approved school.

Can I take the NH pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

New Hampshire does not have any stipulations about holding a high school diploma before taking the salesperson pre-license course. Just keep in mind you must be at least 18 years old to apply for a license and your course completion certificate is only valid for six months.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the NH pre-license course?

New Hampshire does not exempt practicing attorneys or law school graduates from taking the pre-licensing course.

Can I use my college credits towards the NH pre-license course?

For the salesperson pre-license education, any college credits do not count. If you decide to pursue a broker’s license, there is a pathway to have college courses count for pre-licensing education.

Does the NH salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, your pre-license course is required to have a final exam of at least 25 questions. Your course administrator will provide you with more information about the final exam.

What to do to earn the NH pre-license course completion certificate?

You will receive your New Hampshire pre-license education course completion certificate after you finish all the units in the 40 hours of required work. You must pass any quizzes along the way and successfully pass the course final exam.

How many questions are on the NH pre-license course exams?

The exact number of questions on your pre-license course exams will vary based on the current section of the course you are taking. Your course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different exams and the comprehensive final.

How do I receive my NH Course Completion Certificate?

If you are a RealEstateU student, your course completion certificate will be available to you as soon as you finish and pass the final exam. All you need to do is log into your account, and you will be able to find the certificate for download in the course information.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in NH?

New Hampshire's Office of Professional Licensure and Certification Publishes a list of pre-approved schools.

How does the NHREC know that I have completed the pre-license course?

New Hampshire Real Estate Commission requires you to submit proof of completing a pre-licensing course when you turn in your exam registration form. You won't be approved to take the state licensing exam without turning in proof of education.

How long is my NH Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Your course completion certificate for the New Hampshire salesperson pre-license course is valid for six months. You need to finish the remaining steps within this timeframe, or you may need to take the pre-license course again.

Applying for a New Hampshire Real Estate License

What documents will I need to submit with my NH license application?

All salesperson applicants must include the original passing licensing exam score report. In addition, your answers to questions 1-6 in part four of the application may require you to submit additional documentation. Follow the instructions if this applies to you.

When should I file my license application with the Commission in NH?

The New Hampshire Real Estate Commission gives you six months from passing the state licensing exam to submit your licensing application. Your application must be submitted while your criminal record report is valid. Time the submission of these so you do not delay your application approval.

Can I get a NH real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

New Hampshire does require you to work under the supervision of a state licensed real estate broker. You need to provide your supervising broker's information as part of the real estate application.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in NH?

If you have an inactive license, you cannot engage in any real estate brokerage activities. An active license means you can work as a real estate agent, perform real estate brokerage work such as consultations, marketing, and negotiations, and be compensated for work as a real estate professional.

How do I receive an inactive NH real estate license?

To change from an active to inactive real estate license, all you need to do is fill out a “De-activation of an Active License” form. Send it to the NHREC with your original wall license and pocket card.

How do I receive an active NH real estate salesperson license?

You will automatically receive an active New Hampshire real estate salesperson license once you complete all of the licensing steps. So, you will need to take the pre-license course, pass the state exam, pass the criminal record check, and be hired by a New Hampshire broker.

How do I change from an inactive to an active NH license?

When you’re ready to re-activate your license, you need the “Activation of an Inactive License” form. It must be signed by your principal broker, include a $20 amendment fee, and may need proof of your continuing education.

Are NH salesperson and a principal broker license different?

The key difference is a principal broker license enables you to operate as an independent business and to hire employees who will work under your supervision in the business of real estate. A salesperson must work under the supervision of a principal broker.

Where can I check my NH salesperson license application status?

You can visit the New Hampshire online licensing license lookup portal to check on your application status.

What are the requirements to apply for a NH real estate license?

Before you can apply for a New Hampshire salesperson license, you must be at least 18 years of age. You will need to take 40 hours of pre-licensing education, pass the state licensing exam, be hired by a licensed New Hampshire broker, and initiate your criminal record check.

How do I apply for my New Hampshire real estate salesperson license?

The New Hampshire Real Estate Commission uses a paper application process. You will need to download and print out the application.

Can I apply online for the NH real estate salesperson license?

No, the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission does not have an online application portal for the initial salesperson license at this time. You will need to print the application documents.

How much is the NH real estate salesperson license application?

The New Hampshire real estate salesperson license application fee is $90 made payable by check to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in New Hampshire

What offenses disqualify me from receiving a NH Salesperson License?

New Hampshire makes licensing decisions on a case-by-case basis, but generally, any offenses related to dishonesty will disqualify you from receiving a license. If you are concerned your conviction disqualifies you, you can petition for a determination of eligibility with the NHREC.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the NH Commission

There are questions on the license application that also ask about your criminal history. If you have any misdemeanor or felony conviction, in addition to positive answers on the application, you must file a criminal record report from that jurisdiction and an Arrest and Conviction Form with the NHREC.

When to disclose any prior criminal activity to the NH Commission?

You officially disclose any prior criminal activity when you file your license application. It has questions regarding prior history. You’ll also need to fill out an Arrest and Conviction Form with more details.

Getting Fingerprinted in New Hampshire

Do I need to be fingerprinted in NH to earn a salesperson’s license?

No, you do not need to be fingerprinted as part of the New Hampshire salesperson licensing process. You do need to submit a criminal record release for a background check.

How do I submit my criminal records check in New Hampshire?

Submit a notarized criminal record release and the required fee of $25 to the Department of Safety, Division of State Police. Fill out the release form, which is already pre-filled in Section 2 by the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission.

How long does the criminal record check take in New Hampshire?

There is no provided timeline for how long it takes the Department of Safety, Division of State Police to run your criminal record check. However, the criminal record report is only valid for six months. You'll need to apply for your license application within this timeframe or you'll have to request a new report.

How to Get a New Hampshire Real Estate License

How do I get my New Hampshire real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your NH Salesperson’s license: 1) Complete the 40-Hour NH Pre-license Salesperson Course 2) Submit criminal record release form 3) Pass the NH salesperson state exam 4) Submit a salesperson license application with character affidavits

How long does it take to get my NH real estate license?

Earn your NH license in approx. 3 months 1)Complete the 40-hour pre-license course online: 1-3 weeks 2)Apply for the state licensing exam: 1-3 weeks 3)Schedule and pass the NH state exam: 1-3 weeks 4)Submit criminal records check consent 1-3 weeks 5)Be hired by an NH broker 1-3 months 6)Apply for your license 2-4 weeks

How much does it cost to get my NH salesperson's real estate license?

In total, earning your New Hampshire real estate salesperson license can cost as little as $519. These costs are spread over the licensing process and not paid all upfront.

What tests do I need to take to get my NH real estate license?

You will take a state licensing exam that measures your understanding of essential national and state real estate practice and topics. You’ll also take a final exam as part of your pre-licensure course. You must pass the final to earn your course completion certificate.

Can I complete the application for a NH salesperson's license online?

New Hampshire currently does not offer the initial salesperson application for online filing. You need to print and complete the application. Once you are licensed, you can renew online.

New Hampshire License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a NH real estate license?

The New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification requires all real estate salesperson applicants to be at least 18 years of age.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my NH real estate license?

No high school diploma or equivalent is required to earn or hold a New Hampshire real estate license.

Can I get a NH real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

You can hold a New Hampshire real estate license if you do not live inside the state. You have to follow the same licensing procedures as a state resident. You will need a signed irrevocable consent and power of attorney statement.

Where can I find regulatory information about NH real estate licenses?

The rules and regulations governing real estate practice in New Hampshire are found in the state statutes, Chapter REA 100, Organizational Rules.

New Hampshire Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my New Hampshire real estate license?

You’ll need to submit a “Real Estate Salesperson Renewal” form, either as a paper application or as an online renewal. You need to include information about your continuing education.

How much does it cost to renew my NH real estate license?

The renewal fee for a New Hampshire salesperson is $90.

How often do I have to renew my NH real estate salesperson license?

Your New Hampshire salesperson real estate license is valid for two years from the issuance date. The NHREC will notify you 30 days before expiration by email to renew your license.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in NH?

All first-time salespersons need to complete the 12-hour post-licensing continuing education courses in each of the four approved course topics.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in NH?

All inactive renewal applicants shall complete a minimum three-hour continuing education core course accredited by the Commission.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in NH?

All active renewal applicants shall complete a minimum three-hour continuing education core course that has been accredited by the Commission. You must also complete an additional 12 hours of elective courses accredited by the NHREC.

How do I renew an inactive NH real estate license?

Make sure you have taken the three-hour required core course by the NHREC. Then, you will submit a paper renewal form or an online renewal.

How soon can I renew my NH real estate license?

The NHREC will notify you 30 days before your license expiration to go to the online renewal portal and begin the renewal process. Your notification will be by email, so make sure the Commission has your most current email address on record.

What happens if I do not renew my NH license on time?

If you do not renew within a year, you will be considered an original applicant and will need to start the process over. If you renew within a year, you’ll need to pay a late fee and the renewal fee.

New Hampshire Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my New Hampshire real estate license?

If you hold a New Hampshire real estate salesperson license, you are legally able to earn a commission, or the expectation of a commission, by representing sellers and buyers in the selling, purchasing, listing, exchange, leasing, renting, or leasing option on any real property, real estate improvement or timeshare.

When is a real estate license required in New Hampshire?

A real estate license is required to represent a buyer(s) or seller(s) in a real estate transaction and earn a commission or compensation for the rendered services. This includes listing, selling, purchasing, leasing, lease options, and renting. A license enables the licensee to advertise real estate properties.

What must I do in NH if I transfer employing brokers?

You need to turn in a “Change of Managing Broker” form with a $20 processing fee. Include the original firm wall license and the pocket card of the old/new managing broker.

New Hampshire Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

How can I get my NH license if I'm already licensed in another state?

You must email nhrec@oplc.nh.gov to inquire about any reciprocity and licensure equivalency requirements. The steps vary according to the state you currently hold an active license. Depending on your state and situation, you may fill out an equivalency packet.

How do I get my NH real estate license if I'm not a NH resident?

You need to follow the same requirements as a New Hampshire resident. This includes steps like taking the 40-hour pre-license course, being hired by a NH licensed broker, and passing the state exam.

RealEstateU Questions in New Hampshire

Is the RealEstateU New Hampshire pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 40-hour course for $249. Online learning is the fastest and most flexible way to meet New Hampshire’s education requirements.

Scheduling Your New Hampshire Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the NH exam without taking the pre-license course?

No. The New Hampshire Real Estate Commission must approve you to take the state licensing exam. With your registration form, you are required to provide proof of completing the pre-license education.

How long do I have after the pre-license course to schedule my NH exam

Your course completion certificate is only valid for six months, so you want to schedule your state licensing exam before your certificate expires. It will take the NH Real Estate Commission some time to approve you to take the exam, so submit your registration form promptly after finishing your course.

How much does the NH real estate salesperson license exam cost?

New Hampshire salesperson licensing exam costs $155 paid to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire, by check or money order.

How do I pay for the NH state licensing exam?

You will pay the New Hampshire State Treasurer by check or money order. Make your payment out to “Treasurer, State of New Hampshire.” Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How do I schedule my NH real estate salesperson licensing exam?

Your first step is to submit the exam registration form with your proof of completing the pre-license education and the examination fee. When the NHREC approves your exam eligibility, the state's testing vendor PSI will notify you that you can schedule your exam. PSI recommends to set your exam appointment online.

How long does it take to register and schedule my NH license exam?

Expect for the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission to take five to ten business days to process your exam registration. Once you have the approval email from PSI, you can be registered and scheduled for an exam within an hour. Online scheduling is the fastest and easiest way to register for your exam.

Where can I take the NH real estate licensing exam?

Testing locations are available in Concord, Manchester, Nashua, and Portsmouth. Refer to the PSI website or the candidate testing bulletin for specific addresses.

How do I change or cancel my NH state exam date?

Any cancellations or changes to your New Hampshire real estate licensing exam appointment must be made at least two calendar days before the scheduled exam date. You can reschedule online at www.psiexams.com or call PSI at 855-340-3711.

Taking the New Hampshire Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the NH state salesperson licensing exam?

The New Hampshire Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions, and a passing score is 56. The State section will ask 40 multiple-choice questions, and a passing score is 28.

What is included on the NH state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the NH Commission, licensing requirements, licensee conduct, and NH principles and practice.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the NH State Exam?

You will be provided with an online calculator, but you can bring a silent, non-programmable calculator without alphabetic keys.

What to bring with me to the NH state salesperson license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Can I take my NH State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

You do not need to be hired by a New Hampshire license real estate broker before you take the state licensing exam.

Do my NH State Exam results expire?

You have six months after passing the New Hampshire licensing exam to submit your real estate salesperson license application.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the NH State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must submit an accommodations request online and include documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

How will the New Hampshire Commission know my exam results?

You need to include your original passing exam score reports with your real estate license application. Without it, the real estate commission will not approve your license.

What are the exam policies at the New Hampshire PSI testing center?

All personal belongings must be stored in your vehicle or in the test center's secure storage. No eating, drinking, or smoking is permitted in the exam center. No electronic devices are allowed in the testing room. A full list of procedures is in the Candidate Information Bulletin.

I just passed my NH real estate exam, now what?

Congratulations on passing the NH real estate salesperson licensing exam. Your license application must be submitted within six months of passing the state exam. Your next step is to be hired by a licensed real estate broker, gather the application documents, and find three individuals to provide character affidavits.

How many times can I take the NH state salesperson license exam?

You can retake the New Hampshire licensing exam up to eight times within your six-month testing eligibility window. If you fail to pass within this window, you'll need to retake an accredited pre-license education course.

How long does it take to get my NH State Exam results?

You will know how you did on your New Hampshire licensing exam as soon as you are done. Your score will appear on your testing screen. You will also leave the test center with a score report printed. If you do not pass, you will receive a diagnostic report.

I failed my NH real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can. You need to submit a new examination fee and the original failing score report(s) before you can reschedule. You can retake up to eight times within six months.

How do I retake the NH State Exam if I previously failed?

To schedule your exam retake, you must submit the original score report to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission along with the state licensing exam fee of $155. Once you have an email from PSI, you can go online or call to set the exam appointment.

How much does it cost to retake the NH State Exam?

Each time you take the New Hampshire salesperson licensing exam will cost you $155.

I failed one portion of the NH exam. Do I have to retake both sections

Yes, you can take just one section. You still need to submit a new examination fee and the original passing and failing score report(s) before you can be rescheduled.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > New Hampshire
  • About the 40-Hour New Hampshire Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a New Hampshire Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in New Hampshire
  • Getting Fingerprinted in New Hampshire
  • How to Get a New Hampshire Real Estate License
  • New Hampshire License Qualifications / Requirements
  • New Hampshire Real Estate License Renewal
  • New Hampshire Real Estate Profession Questions
  • New Hampshire Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in New Hampshire
  • Scheduling Your New Hampshire Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the New Hampshire Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side