PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Nevada Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Nevada
  • About the 120-Hour Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Nevada Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Nevada
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Nevada
  • How to Get a Nevada Real Estate License
  • Nevada License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Nevada Real Estate License Renewal
  • Nevada Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Nevada Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Nevada
  • Scheduling Your Nevada Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Nevada Real Estate Licensing Exam

Nevada Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Nevada real estate license, the Nevada real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the NV state exam, how to renew your NV real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 120-Hour Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get an NV salesperson license?

Starting October 2021, the Nevada Real Estate Commission requires new salesperson applicants to take a 120-hour pre-license education course.

How many hours of education are required to get a NV license?

You will need to have 120 hours of education in real estate to earn your Nevada salesperson license. To meet this requirement, choose from a state-approved vendor to teach the pre-license course.

How can I take the 120-hour NV real estate license course?

You can take the Nevada 120-hour pre-licensing course as a classroom course or online. Choosing to do an online course is the fastest and most affordable way to meet the state's education requirement.

Can I take the 90-hour NV real estate license course online?

Yes, you can take the Nevada salesperson pre-licensing course online. An online course is the easiest way to meet the education requirement.

Can I take the NV pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

There is no published restriction that says you cannot take the Nevada pre-license course while you are still in high school. Just keep in mind that you must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a salesperson license.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the NV pre-license course?

Yes, the Nevada Division of Real Estate will accept a completed law degree as being equal to the real estate principles course and the real estate law course requirements for a salesperson license. You must submit a certified official transcript from an accredited Institution.

Do my college credits count for the NV pre-license course?

Yes, college coursework can count for some of your Nevada pre-license course education. You must have three credits in real estate principles, three credits in real estate law with 18 hours specific to Nevada law, one credit in real estate contracts, and one credit in agency.

Does the NV salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, the Nevada salesperson pre-license course does have a comprehensive final exam. You must pass this exam in order to earn your pre-license education certificate essential for your license application.

What must I do to earn NV pre-license course completion certificate?

Before you can earn your pre-license course completion certificate, you must first work through all 120 hours of the required education. You will end the course with a comprehensive final exam. Passing the exam is required to earn your completion certificates.

How many questions are on the NV pre-license course exams?

Each course section will end with a quiz or exam. The precise number of questions varies from exam to exam. The course administrator shares how many questions are on the different exams and the comprehensive final.

How do I receive my NV Course Completion Certificate?

RealEstateU students will log into their account to download the Nevada course completion certificate.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in NV?

Nevada publishes a list of approved course providers for the 120-hour pre-license course here.

How does the NDRE know that I have completed the pre-license course?

The NDRE will know that you completed the pre-license course when you submit the course completion certificate as part of the license application. Your salesperson application cannot be approved without this certificate.

Will my school notify the NDRE that I have completed my education?

No, it is your responsibility to submit your pre-license course completion certificate as part of your licensing application. The school will not send your completion to the Nevada Division of Real Estate.

How long is my NV Course Completion Certificate valid for?

There is no published expiration date for the course completion certificates.

Applying for a Nevada Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for a NV real estate license?

The basic requirement to apply for a Nevada salesperson license is to be at least 18 years of age. If you need this basic qualification, you'll need to complete a 120-hour pre-license education course, pass the state licensing exam, submit to a background check, and be hired by a licensed Nevada broker.

How do I apply for my Nevada real estate salesperson license?

Your Nevada real estate salesperson license application is known as form 549. You need to print out this form to apply for your license. You also need essential documents listed in the application checklist and the $125 license application fee.

Can I apply online for the NV real estate salesperson license?

No, Nevada does not have an online licensing option at this time. You'll need to type and print out on form 549.

How much is the NV real estate salesperson license application?

The Nevada real estate salesperson license application fee is $125 made payable to the Nevada real estate division as a check or money order. Any payments done in person using a credit card will have a 2% convenience fee tacked on.

What documents will I need to submit with my NV license application?

All applicants will need to submit Form 619 or the original fingerprint verification form. You also need proof of your pre-license education and the score report from Pearson VUE dated within the last 12 months.

When should I file my license application with the NDRE?

You have up to one year to apply for your salesperson license after passing the state licensing exam. It's in your best interest to file your license application as soon as possible so that you can start work as a Nevada license salesperson.

Can I get a Nevada real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

Oh, you must work under the supervision of an employee Nevada license broker. If you wish to have an active license, you'll need to submit your Brokers information as part of your salesperson license application.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in NV?

An inactive license says that you have met all the requirements to hold a Nevada salesperson license, but you are not currently authorized to transact real estate and earn a commission for your efforts. An active license says that you can assist with the purchase, sale, or lease of real estate and be paid for your work

How do I receive an inactive NV real estate license?

To get an inactive Nevada real estate license, you must return your original license with a signed termination notice Form 505 from the broker.

How do I receive an active Nevada real estate salesperson license?

Follow all the steps outlined in the Nevada real estate salesperson application. If approved, you will automatically be on active status. There is no option to apply for an inactive license with your initial application.

How do I change from an inactive to an active NV license?

To resume on an active license, you’ll need to submit Form 544 and the applicable application fees. Depending on how long you have been inactive, you may need to be fingerprinted, retake the state exam, and pay a renewal fee.

What’s the difference between a salesperson and a broker license in NV

A broker license enables you to engage in the business of brokerage and transact real estate with the expectation of payment. A salesperson must be hired as an employee or independent contractor associated with a licensed broker to engage in real estate transactions and be paid.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Nevada

Can I get my Nevada salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

A prior conviction does not automatically disqualify you from getting a Nevada salesperson license. Certain crimes and pleas do disqualify you from receiving a license. These include felonies, crimes of moral turpitude, fraud, or extortion. The Nevada Division of Real Estate does have an appeals process.

What offenses would disqualify me from receiving a NV License?

The NDRE denies licenses if you have been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty, guilty but mentally ill, or nolo contendere for embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, practicing real estate without a license, or any crime involving moral turpitude.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the NDRE?

Nevada salesperson real estate license application will ask questions about your criminal history. Disclose your history here.

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the NDRE?

You will disclose any prior criminal activity as part of the license application process. There are questions on the application to ask about any prior convictions or if you've entered a plea of nolo contendere.

Getting Fingerprinted in Nevada

Do I need to be fingerprinted in NV to earn a salesperson’s license?

Yes, Nevada requires you to be fingerprinted and submit to a background check as part of the salesperson application process. Your fingerprints must be done by an approved fingerprint vendor. Pearson VUE has digital fingerprinting at its Las Vegas in Reno test centers.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Nevada?

Fingerprints must be processed by the government or law enforcement agency within the last year. You can find an approved fingerprint vendor here. Pearson VUE also has digital fingerprinting at its test centers in Las Vegas and Reno, but you must make a reservation ahead of time.

How long does fingerprinting and a background check take in Nevada?

There is no time estimate for how long fingerprinting in the background check takes in Nevada, but you can assume the process will take a few weeks.

How to Get a Nevada Real Estate License

How do I get my Nevada real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your NV Salesperson’s license 1) Show proof of education, such as completing 120-Hour NV Pre-license Salesperson Course 2) Pass the NV salesperson state exam 3) Submit fingerprints for a background check 4) Be hired by a NV broker 5) Submit a salesperson license application

How much does it cost to get my NV salesperson's real estate license?

In total, it can cost as little as $514.25 to earn your Nevada real estate salesperson license. Remember, the cost of earning a license is spread out over the entire licensing process.

How long does it take to get my NV real estate license?

Earn your NV salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1) Complete the 120-hour pre-license course online: 3-6 weeks. 2) Schedule and pass the NV state exam: 1-3 weeks. 3) Submit fingerprints for a background check. 4) Be hired by an NV broker. 5) Apply for your license. A time estimate is not available.

What tests do I need to take to get my NV real estate license?

You will take quizzes and a comprehensive final exam during your pre-license education course during the licensing process. You must also take the state licensing exam, which has a national and state section.

Can I complete the application for a NV salesperson's license online?

No, the Nevada real estate commission does not offer an online application. You will have to print out Form 549 to apply for your license.

Nevada License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a UT real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a Nevada real estate license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my Nevada real estate license?

Nevada has no general education requirements to qualify for a real estate salesperson license.

Can I get a Nevada real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

The Nevada real estate commission has no state residency requirements to earn a salesperson license in the state.

Where can I find regulatory information about NV real estate licenses?

You can find a full listing of all the real estate statutes and regulations on the Nevada Division of Real Estate Statues and Regulations website.

Nevada Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Nevada real estate license?

When it’s time for your first renewal, you will submit Form 580 along with your proof of 36 hours of continuing education. You’ll need to do this 45 days or less in advance of the expiration date.

How much does it cost to renew my NV real estate license?

The salesperson license renewal fee is $180. The late fee is $75.

How often do I have to renew my NV real estate salesperson license?

Nevada salesperson licenses are valid for two years. You need to renew every two years from the date on your license.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in NV?

First-time renewal licensees are required to take 36 hours of post-licensing education within their first year of licensure. You must also take an additional 12 hours of continuing education in the first two years immediately after initial licensing.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in NV?

There are no continuing education requirements for inactive license holders.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in Nevada?

For your first renewal, you’ll need to take a 36-hour post-licensing module within the first year of licensure. In your second year, you’ll need 12 hours of continuing education. After your first renewal, you’ll need 36 hours of continuing education every two years.

How do I renew an inactive NV real estate license?

You’ll submit Form 580 for your inactive renewal.

How soon can I renew my NV real estate license?

You can submit your renewal form and continuing education proof within 45 days of your license expiration, but no later.

What happens if I do not renew my NV license on time?

Your license will be considered expired. There will be a $75 late fee charged to renew your license.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in Nevada?

Fill out Form 544, Application for Reinstatement. The fees you owe will depend on how long your license has been expired. A salesperson reinstatement within one year costs $180.

Nevada Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Nevada real estate license?

Your Nevada salesperson license enables you to assist clients with the purchase, sell, or leasing of residential or commercial real estate.

When is a real estate license required in Nevada?

A real estate license is required anytime you wish to assist someone with buying, selling, or leasing real estate and be financially compensated for your work.

What must I do if I transfer employing brokers in Nevada?

You’ll need to submit Form 505 first, the Termination of Real Estate Salesperson. Then you’ll need Form 504, Real Estate License or Permit Change, and a $20 change of broker/employer fee.

Nevada Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Nevada offer reciprocity with other states?

If you hold a current salesperson real estate license in any of these following states, you can apply using reciprocity: Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Washington, and West Virginia.

How can I get my NV real estate license through reciprocity?

To apply using reciprocity, you will need to fill out application Form 549. Include with your application a certified license history, the results of your Nevada state exam, fingerprints, and the notarized Consent to Service of Process Form 656.

How can I get my NV license if I'm already licensed in another state?

If you are not approved for reciprocity, you will need to follow the steps as any new salesperson agent. You may also need to fill out Form 656 if you are not currently a Nevada resident.

How do I get my NV real estate license if I'm not a NV resident?

You will need to follow the steps as any new salesperson agent, such as getting your required pre-licensing education and taking the state licensing exam. You may also need to fill out Form 656 if you are not currently a Nevada resident.

RealEstateU Questions in Nevada

Is the RealEstateU Nevada pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 120-hour course for $249.

Scheduling Your Nevada Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the Nevada exam without taking the pre-license course?

The state testing provider does not require proof of education, but it's still to your benefit to take the pre-licensing course before taking the state licensing exam. The pre-licensing course prepares you for the practice of real estate. Much of what is on the exam is based on what is taught during the course.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the NV exam

Nevada does not have a time restriction on when you complete the pre-license course to when you can schedule the Nevada exam. Still, it's a good idea to schedule your licensing exam as soon as possible while all of the information is fresh in your mind.

How do I schedule my NV real estate salesperson licensing exam?

Pearson VUE administers the Nevada licensing exam. To schedule the exam, visit https://home.pearsonvue.com/nv/realestate and create an account. You can also schedule by calling Pearson VUE at 888-248-8055. All reservations must be made at least 24 hours in advance.

How much does the NV real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Nevada salesperson state exam licensing fee is $100 per attempt.

How do I pay for the NV state licensing exam?

You will pay Pearson VUE, the state’s exam provider. Pearson VUE accepts credit card, debit cards, electronic checks, and vouchers. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my NV license exam?

Registering for your Nevada salesperson license exam is easy when done online. It only takes about 15 minutes to create your account and to find the nearest testing center to you.

Where can I take the NV real estate licensing exam?

Nevada's Pearson VUE test centers are located in Las Vegas, Elko, and Reno. All exams are by appointment only and must be done in person.

Do I need to take the NV state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

If you are eligible for reciprocity, you only need to take the Nevada-specific portion of the state licensing exam. Otherwise, you need to take the full state exam even if you are licensed in another state.

How do I change or cancel my NV state exam date?

All exam date changes or cancellations must be made at least 48 hours in advance. You will make the change by calling Pearson VUE at 888-248-8055. Failure to call 48 hours in advance will cause you to forfeit your exam fee. Please note that emails and voicemails do not count as canceling your state exam.

Taking the Nevada Real Estate Licensing Exam

How much does it cost to retake the NV State Exam?

The Nevada state licensing exam costs $100 for every attempt.

I failed one portion of the NV exam. Do I have to retake both sections

No, you can take just the section that you failed as long as you do so within 12 months of passing the other section. You must pass both sections within 12 months of your initial test. You still need to pay the full exam fee for your retake.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the NV State Exam?

PearsonVUE has built a calculator into the salesperson exam, so you don’t need to bring one.

What am I required to bring with me to the NV state license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the NV State Exam?

PearsonVUE can accommodate modifications in compliance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations should visit http://pearsonvue.com/accommodations. English as a Second Language (ESL) accommodations are also available.

What are the exam policies at the Nevada Pearson VUE testing center?

Arrive 30 minutes early for check-in. All personal belongings must stay in your vehicle or a test center locker. No food or drinks are allowed in the testing room. You may go to the restroom, but there will not be extra time to finish the exam.

Can I take my NV State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring salesperson?

Yes, you can take your Nevada state exam without being hired by a Nevada licensed broker.

Do my NV State Exam results expire?

Yes, your passing score on the state licensing exam is only good for one year. You must get fingerprinted and submit your license application within that 1-year time frame.

I just passed my NV real estate exam; now what?

Congratulations on passing the state licensing exam! Your next steps are to submit your fingerprints for a background check, find a licensed broker to work under, and fill out Form 549 to apply for your real estate salesperson license.

How will the NDRE know my exam results?

The Division of Real Estate knows how you did on the state licensing exam because you must submit the original passing score report from Pearson VUE that has been dated within the last 12 months. You'll turn this in as part of your licensing application.

How many times can I take the NV state salesperson license exam?

You are not limited on the number of times you can retake the test within a 12-month period. You just must pass the exam within 12 months of your initial test. If you fail just one section, you can retake just the failed part. You must wait 24 hours before rescheduling your exam.

How long does it take to get my NV State Exam results?

You will know how you did on the state licensing exam as soon as you are finished with the test. You will leave the test center with a score report in hand, knowing exactly how you did and what your next steps will be.

I failed my NV real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can retake the Nevada real estate salesperson exam as many times as you need to within a 12-month period. You'll have to pay the exam fee each time you retake the test. If you failed just one section, you can retake just that section.

How do I retake the NV State Exam if I previously failed?

You schedule a retake for the state licensing exam using the same process scheduling your initial exam. You just must wait 24 hours before calling (888) 248-8055 or going online to schedule the test.

How many questions are on the NV state salesperson licensing exam?

The Nevada Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam totals 120 questions, broken into two sections. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions. You must answer 75% correctly to pass. The State section will ask 40 multiple-choice questions, and you must answer 75% correct to pass.

What is included on the Nevada state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the NREC, licensing, real estate regulations, statutes on licensees, and office procedures.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Nevada
  • About the 120-Hour Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Nevada Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Nevada
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Nevada
  • How to Get a Nevada Real Estate License
  • Nevada License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Nevada Real Estate License Renewal
  • Nevada Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Nevada Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Nevada
  • Scheduling Your Nevada Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Nevada Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side