PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Nebraska Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Nebraska
  • About the 66-Hour Nebraska Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Nebraska Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Nebraska
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Nebraska
  • How to Get a Nebraska Real Estate License
  • Nebraska License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Nebraska Real Estate License Renewal
  • Nebraska Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Nebraska Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Nebraska
  • Scheduling Your Nebraska Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Nebraska Real Estate Licensing Exam

Nebraska Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Nebraska real estate license, the Nebraska real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the NE state exam, how to renew your NE real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 66-Hour Nebraska Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get a NE real estate license?

All new real estate salespersons must take (2) 30-hour Nebraska Real Estate Commission approved courses, one in NE License Law and one in Real Estate Principles and Practices, plus a six-hour course in professional practice and standards. That's a total of 66 hours of pre-license education.

How many hours of education are required to get a NE license?

In total, you take 66 hours of pre-licensing education. The Nebraska Real Estate Commission requires you to take (2) 30-hour pre-license courses In Nebraska license law and real estate principles and practices. Additionally, you need a six-hour course in professional practice and standards.

How can I take the 66-hour NE real estate license course?

Salesperson candidates can take their pre-license education as an online course or a classroom course as long as it is from a state-approved education provider. Many students decide to take an online course as it can be faster and more flexible than a classroom-based course.

Can I take the 66-hour NE real estate license course online?

Yes, you can meet the state's education requirements through online education if you choose an approved Real Estate School.

Can I take the NE pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

There are no stipulations against taking the pre-license education while you are still a high school student. However, you must be a graduate by the time you submit your license application, which is the step directly after meeting the education requirement.

Can I use my college credits towards the NE pre-license course?

Yes, the Nebraska Real Estate Commission will accept college or university coursework for a credit towards the pre-license education. You must send an official transcript with your application package.

Does the NE salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, Nebraska requires every pre-license course to have at least one exam during the course, which is often the final exam. This means in the course of meeting the 66 hours of required pre-license education you will take at least three exams.

What to do to earn the NE pre-license course completion certificate?

To earn your pre-license course completion certificates, you must successfully complete all of the units with your course provider, and you must pass the course exams.

How many questions are on the NE pre-license course exams?

The configuration of the pre-license course exams varies based on the section of the course you are taking. Your course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different exams and the final exam.

How do I receive my NE Course Completion Certificate?

If you are a RealEstateU student, you will find your course completion certificate available to download in your account after passing the final exam.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in NE?

Refer to this list published by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission of approved real estate education providers and their courses.

How does the NREC know that I have completed the pre-license course?

Some course providers will electronically send your course completion certificate to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. Otherwise, when you submit your salesperson license application, you are required to provide proof that you have completed your pre-licensing education.

How long is my NE Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Nebraska does not publish an expiration date for your course completion certificates. Ask your course provider for more information.

Applying for a Nebraska Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for a NE real estate license?

Before you can apply for a Nebraska Real Estate salesperson license, you must: ● Be at least 19 years old ● Have a high school diploma or its equivalent ● Be a legal resident of the United States or a citizen ● Take a total of 66 hours of pre-licensing education

How do I apply for my Nebraska real estate salesperson license?

The Nebraska Real Estate Commission recommends your salesperson real estate license application be submitted online. You do have the option to download the application and mail it in.

Can I apply online for the NE real estate salesperson license?

Yes, your real estate license application can be submitted online in Nebraska. The Commission does offer the option to download the application for mailing in, but processing takes longer.

How much is the NE real estate salesperson license application?

The license application fee is $135 paid to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. You also pay the $150 license examination fee at the same time.

What documents will I need to submit with my NE license application?

Include with the salesperson application: ● Proof of your high school education or its equivalent ● Proof of pre-licensing education either as transcripts or certificates of completion ● A passport-type photograph showing your head and shoulders sized at least 2x2 inches and taken within the last year

When should I file my license application with the Commission in NE?

Your salesperson license application will be filed with the Nebraska Real Estate Commission after you complete the pre-license education and before you take the state licensing exam. This is the required progression from the NREC.

When do I request my Nebraska License Issuance?

You have 30 days after passing the state licensing exam to submit your license issuance form. You'll need to include the license issuance fee in the signature of your employing broker.

What documents do I need to include for my NE license issuance request

Include with your license issuance form proof of passing the state licensing exam, the section signed by your employing broker, and proof of Errors and Omission insurance coverage

What is the license issuance fee in Nebraska?

You must pay an $80 salesperson license issuance fee to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission to receive your license.

Can I get a NE real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

No. In order to complete your license issuance form, it must be signed by an employee broker indicating you agreed to be employed by and supervised by that licensed real estate professional.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in NE?

If you hold an inactive real estate license, you cannot engage in any real estate brokerage activities. An active salesperson license means you can work as a real estate agent, perform real estate brokerage activities, and be compensated for work as a real estate professional.

How do I receive an inactive NE real estate license?

There are two ways you can get an inactive NE Real Estate salesperson license. You can either request to be placed on inactive status by going to the licensee portal or your broker can submit a termination of affiliation form to the Commission office. You will go inactive on the date the Commission receives the request

How do I change from an inactive to an active NE license?

You will need to meet any required continuing education you may still need. You will need to go online to the license portal and fill out a transfer form from inactive to active status.

Are salesperson and an employing broker license in Nebraska different?

While both types of licenses enable you to work in the business of real estate, a salesperson license entitles you to work under the supervision of a licensed real estate broker. An employing broker license enables you to open an independent brokerage and hire employees to work under you.

Where can I check my NE salesperson license application status?

Go to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission license portal to the licensing applicant look-up section. Here you'll be able to find your status.

Where can I get E&O Insurance in Nebraska?

You can purchase a policy from the Nebraska Real Estate Commission E&O group plan, or you can purchase from any company authorized by the state of Nebraska Department of Insurance.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Nebraska

Can I get my NЕ salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

The NREC can deny a license for convictions of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude in any court of competent jurisdiction. It also has grounds for denial if you have been convicted of forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, extortion, or conspiracy to defraud.

What offenses disqualify me from receiving a NE Salesperson License?

You can be disqualified for receiving a license if you have been convicted of forgery, embezzlement, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or obtaining money under false pretenses. You can also be denied if you've been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the NE Commission

You will disclose prior criminal activity to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission when you make your salesperson license application. Any prior criminal activity will also appear in your criminal history check. There is a review process if you have been denied an opportunity to take the exam and earn your license.

Getting Fingerprinted in Nebraska

Do I need to be fingerprinted in NE to earn a salesperson's license?

Yes, all real estate salespersons must be fingerprinted for a criminal background check in Nebraska. This step comes after submitting your license application.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Nebraska?

Your salesperson license application must be on file at the Nebraska Real Estate Commission before the fingerprint cards are released to you. Instructions will be included with the fingerprint cards. You will directly pay the State Patrol for background check fees.

How long does fingerprinting and a background check take in Nebraska?

The Nebraska Real Estate Commission estimates that it takes an average of 4-6 weeks for criminal record reports to be received at their office. For this reason, they recommend you pursue the fingerprinting process as soon as possible.

How to Get a Nebraska Real Estate License

How do I get my Nebraska real estate salesperson's license?

Complete these steps to earn your NE Salesperson's license: 1) Complete a total of 66-hours of pre-license education 2) Apply for the salesperson license 3) Be fingerprinted for a background check 4)Pass the NE salesperson state exam 5)Obtain E&O insurance 6)Submit a license issuance form 7)Take post-license education

How long does it take to get my NE real estate license?

Earn your NE salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1.Complete the 66-hour pre-license course online 2-4 weeks 2.Apply for your license 3-4 weeks 3.Schedule and pass the NE state exam 1-3 weeks 4.Submit fingerprints for a background check 1-3 weeks 5.Purchase E&O insurance 1 day 6.Apply for license issuance 1-3 weeks

How much does it cost to get my NE salesperson's real estate license?

In total, it can cost as little as $704 to earn your Nebraska real estate salesperson license. The fees are spread over the licensing process and not paid all upfront.

What tests do I need to take to get my NE real estate license?

You will take at least one final exam in every education course. This means you will take a final exam for the two 30-hour pre-license courses and the six-hour course in professional practice and standards. All salesperson candidates must also pass a state licensing exam.

Can I complete the application for a NE salesperson's license online?

Yes, you can! The Nebraska Real Estate Commission recommends you submit the real estate license application online. You do have the option to download the application and mail it in.

Nebraska License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a NE real estate license?

All Nebraska salesperson applicants must be at least 19 years of age to apply and receive a license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my NE real estate license?

Yes, all Nebraska real estate license candidates must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.

Can I get a Nebraska real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Yes, you can hold a Nebraska real estate license if you are not a state resident. You must be a US citizen or a legal resident.

Where can I find regulatory information about NE real estate licenses?

The Nebraska Real Estate Commission keeps an updated page on the state's licensing rules and regulations. Here you'll find the license manual, which contains all the laws and regulations. You'll also find administrative procedures, Title 299 rules, and Commission interpretations.

Nebraska Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Nebraska real estate license?

The Nebraska Real Estate Commission requests that you use the online license portal to track and execute your salesperson license renewal. To start the process, you'll simply log in using your licensing information and follow the renewing steps.

How much does it cost to renew my NE real estate license?

The renewal fee for the Nebraska salesperson license is $140. If your annual is late, you will be charged a $25 late fee per month starting on December 1. You will be unable to renew at all starting on June 30.

How often do I have to renew my NE real estate salesperson license?

Your Nebraska Real Estate salesperson license is valid for two years. Your license will expire on November 30 of a given year. Your license will state which year you expire and need to renew.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in NE?

First-time renewing salespersons must take 12 hours of post-license education within 180 days of receiving their license, or you will be placed on inactive status. The post-license education course is also called course number 7000. You can select from approved providers at the Nebraska Real Estate Commission website.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in Nebraska?

Nebraska inactive real estate salesperson license holders must still renew their license when it expires. You must also meet the continuing education requirements of 18 hours each two years.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in Nebraska?

Nebraska's active salesperson license holders are required to take 18 hours of education every two years. Your education provider should electronically submit your course completion, but you should also keep a record of the course completion certificate.

How do I renew an inactive NE real estate license?

To renew your inactive Nebraska real estate license, you need to visit the Commission's licensee portal. Follow all of the steps and pay the $140 renewal fee. If you fail to renew on time, you will be charged a $25 fee per month until June 30, at which time your license will be considered expired.

How soon can I renew my NE real estate license?

You will be notified when the licensee portal is open for renewals. Pay attention to your email. Make sure the Nebraska Real Estate Commission has the correct address on file.

What happens if I do not renew my NE license on time?

Anyone who fails to renew their Nebraska salesperson license on November 30 of the renewal year will start to be charged a $25 per month late fee on December 1. You will continue to accrue late fees until June 30. After this, your license will be considered expired.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in Nebraska?

You cannot reinstate an expired Nebraska real estate license. You will have to begin the licensing process again.

Nebraska Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Nebraska real estate license?

If you hold a NE real estate license, you are legally able to earn a commission or other compensation, or the expectation of compensation, by representing sellers and buyers in the selling, purchasing, listing, exchange, leasing, renting, or leasing option on any real property, real estate improvement or timeshare.

When is a real estate license required in Nebraska?

A real estate salesperson license is required to represent a buyer or seller in a real estate transaction and earn a commission. A salesperson license is not required to sell or buy your own home.

What must I do if I transfer affiliating brokers in Nebraska?

The Nebraska Real Estate Commission has a licensing portal that enables you to fill out a broker transfer form. The broker transfer fee is $25. You also need an employee broker letter to employ. Make sure your continuing education and your insurance information are up-to-date.

Nebraska Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Nebraska offer reciprocity with other states?

Nebraska does not offer direct reciprocity with any other states. However, it does offer a license recognition pathway, but you have to live in Nebraska before the license can be issued. You need to download the license recognition application and the license issuance checklist.

How can I get my NE real estate license through license recognition?

Start by downloading the license recognition application and the license issuance checklist. Use that as a guide for completing the steps. You need to complete a license application, a background check, and a three-hour course.

How do I get my NE real estate license if I'm not a NE resident?

If you are not a Nebraska resident and you want to hold a salesperson license, you generally need to follow the same steps as a resident. That includes a background check and application. If you are a licensed nonresident, you can follow the pathway for license recognition.

RealEstateU Questions in Nebraska

Is the RealEstateU Nebraska pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 66-hour course for $349.

Scheduling Your Nebraska Real Estate Licensing Exam

How do I change or cancel my NE state exam date?

Any changes to your state licensing exam appointment must be made at least 48 hours in advance by visiting the PSI website or calling PSI at (855) 834-8748. Please note that a voice mail is not a form of cancellation. If you do not cancel 48 hours in advance, you forfeit the exam fee.

Can I schedule the Nebraska exam without taking the pre-license course

No. You must submit your salesperson license application to be approved to take the state exam. The application process will need proof of your pre-licensing education.

How long I have after being approved to test to schedule the NE exam?

You have one year from the date the Nebraska Real Estate Commission approves your application and your examination to schedule and take the test.

How do I schedule my NE real estate salesperson licensing exam?

When the Nebraska Real Estate Commission approves your application, PSI will send you an email that you are now able to schedule and take the salesperson licensing exam. The fastest way to schedule the exam appointment is to go online to www.psiexams.com. Telephone scheduling is available by calling (855)-834-8748.

How much does the NE real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Nebraska license examination fee is $150. You will pay the exam fee to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission when you submit your license application.

How do I pay for the NE state licensing exam?

You will pay the Nebraska Real Estate Commission your licensing exam fee when you make your license application. If you submit this online, you can pay by credit card. You can also mail a check, money order, or cashier's check. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my NE license exam?

Once you've received the approval email from PSI, you can be registered and scheduled for your Nebraska licensing exam within an hour. All you need to do is go to www.psiexams.com, create an account, search for the test center nearest to you, find the next testing appointment, and schedule the exam.

Where can I take the NE real estate licensing exam?

Examination centers are available in Lincoln, North Platte, and Scottsbluff. For specific addresses, refer to the PSI website or look at the Candidate Bulletin.

Do I need to take the NE state exam if I'm licensed in another state?

In most cases, if you are actively licensed and in good standing as a real estate professional in another state, you will be exempt from taking the state exam. You will need to take and pass a course in Nebraska Real Estate License Act and Statutes.

Taking the Nebraska Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the NE state salesperson licensing exam?

The Nebraska Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions. You must answer 60 correctly to pass. The State section will ask 50 multiple-choice questions, and you must answer 38 correctly to pass.

What is included on the Nebraska state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the Commission, licensing, regulatory requirements, and statutes on licensees.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the NE State Exam?

A calculator will be provided to you, but you may bring a silent, nonprogrammable calculator without alphabetic keys.

What to bring with me to the NE state salesperson license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver's license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Can I take my NE State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you can take your state licensing exam if you have not been hired by a state-licensed broker yet. You will need to be hired before you can request your license be issued. Since you only have 30 days after passing to finish the process, you should be in the final stages of finding a licensed broker.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the NE State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must make an online accommodations request and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

Do my NE State Exam results expire?

Yes, once you pass the state licensing exam, you have 30 days to finish the licensing process. This means you must have your employing broker sign the license issuance form and submit your issuance fee.

What are the exam policies at the Nebraska PSI testing center?

New electronic devices are allowed in the testing room. Personal belongings must be secured in storage provided at the exam center. No food, drinking, or smoking is allowed in the test center. A full list of items not allowed in the PSI Testing Center is in the Candidate Information Bulletin.

I just passed my NE real estate exam, now what?

Congratulations on passing the Nebraska salesperson license exam. You have 30 days to purchase errors and omissions insurance, submit the license issuance form, and pay your license issuance fee.

How will the NE Commission know my licensing exam results?

You are required to submit your original score report that shows you passed the state and national portions of the licensing exam. You will turn these in with your license issuance form.

How many times can I take the NE state salesperson license exam?

Your exam eligibility is only good for one year from your license application form. You'll have to pass the exam within that window. Each time you fail the exam, you have to reapply to take the test. If you pass one section, you have three attempts or six months to pass the other section.

How long does it take to get my NE State Exam results?

You will know how you did on the Nebraska licensing exam before you leave the test center. You'll be given a score report that shows if you have passed or failed. If you do not pass, you will also receive a diagnostic report of your strengths and weaknesses. You'll need to keep these reports for your license issuance.

I failed my NE real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can retake the real estate salesperson exam. Each time you go to retake, you must reapply for exam eligibility. If you fail the entire test, you have within one year of your exam eligibility to pass.

How do I retake the NE State Exam if I previously failed?

Each time you retake the licensing exam, you must reapply for exam eligibility and pay the required exam fee. You need to show your failed score report.

How much does it cost to retake the NE State Exam?

It costs $150 each time you take the Nebraska Salesperson Licensing Exam.

I failed one portion of the NE exam. Do I have to retake both sections

You can just retake the failed portion, but there are limits. You have three attempts or six months to pass the other section, whichever comes first. If you cannot pass the other section within this window, you have to retake the full exam. Each time you go to retake, you must reapply for exam eligibility.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Nebraska
  • About the 66-Hour Nebraska Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Nebraska Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Nebraska
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Nebraska
  • How to Get a Nebraska Real Estate License
  • Nebraska License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Nebraska Real Estate License Renewal
  • Nebraska Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Nebraska Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Nebraska
  • Scheduling Your Nebraska Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Nebraska Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side