PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Montana Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Montana
  • About the 70-Hour Montana Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Montana Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Montana
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Montana
  • How to Get a Montana Real Estate License
  • Montana License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Montana Real Estate License Renewal
  • Montana Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Montana Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Montana
  • Scheduling Your Montana Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Montana Real Estate Licensing Exam

Montana Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Montana real estate license, the Montana real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the MT state exam, how to renew your MT real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 70-Hour Montana Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course must I take to get a MT real estate salesperson license?

All salespersons candidates must take 70 hours of pre-licensing education from a state-approved course provider. The pre-license course must include the topics outlined in Rule 24.210.660.

How many hours of education are required to get a MT license?

You are required to take a 70-hour pre-license course on general real estate practice, law and ethics, and related topics. The course must be from an approved course provider.

Can I take the 70-hour MT real estate license course online?

Yes, you may take the 70-hour Montana pre-license course through online learning. You must take the course through an approved education provider.

Can I take the MT pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

The Montana Board of Realty Regulation does not stipulate you have to be out of high school to take the course. Check with the individual course providers if they have age and education requirements.

Can I apply my law degree to the MT pre-license education?

Montana does exempt practicing attorneys or recognize law degree credits for pre-license education. You'll need to take the 70-hour pre-license course.

Can I apply college credits to the MT pre-license course?

Sorry, but Montana does not recognize college credits for the pre-license education requirement. You'll need to take the 70-hour pre-license course.

Does the MT salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, the course will require you to take a comprehensive final exam on the course material. You'll need to pass the course to receive the necessary course completion certificate.

What to do to earn the MT pre-license course completion certificate?

To earn the course completion certificate, you'll need to work through all the units in your pre-license course successfully. The end of the course has a comprehensive final exam you must pass. Your course provider will inform you about the nature of the test.

How many questions are on the MT pre-license course exams?

Your course administrator will provide you with information about the different exams and the comprehensive final questions.

How will I receive the Montana Course Completion Certificate?

RealEstateU students will access a downloadable course completion certificate in their account after passing the final exam. All you need to do is log in.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in Montana?

Refer to this list of state-approved course providers. Remember that online courses are the most flexible and typically more affordable than in-person classes.

How does the MBRR know that I have completed the pre-license course?

You must provide your official course completion certificate from your course provider. Without it, you won't be approved for a license.

Will my school notify the MBRR that I completed the education?

No. It's your responsibility to keep your official course completion certificate and submit it with your license application.

How long is my MT Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Once you have passed the course final exam, your course completion certificate is valid for two years.

How can I take the 70-hour MT real estate license course?

You can take the 70-hour Montana pre-license real estate course as an in-person course or through remote learning. An online course is the fastest and most convenient way to meet the education requirement.

Applying for a Montana Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for a MT real estate license?

To apply for your license, you must be at least 18 years of age and have received credit for completing two years of a full curriculum of study at an accredited high school or its equivalent. Next, you'll need to take 70 hours of pre-licensing education, pass the licensing exam, and be hired by a licensed MT broker.

How do I apply for my Montana real estate salesperson license?

You can decide to apply online or with a paper application. An online application will be faster to process.

Can I apply online for the Montana real estate salesperson license?

Yes, Montana does have an online application process. You do have a paper application option.

How much is the MT real estate salesperson license application?

The Montana salesperson license application costs $150. Online applications can pay with a credit card. Paper applications can be paid with a check or money order.

What documents will I need to submit with my MT license application?

The documents that must be included are: ● Your pre-licensing education completion certificate ● Official score exam results ● Any official license verification from states or jurisdictions where you held a license ● Additional documentation as noted to any "yes" answers to the application discipline questions

When should I file my license application with the MT Commission?

It is a good idea to file your license application as soon as an endorsed Montana broker has hired you and purchased E&O insurance. You have one year from passing your exam to apply. The quicker you file, the sooner you can start your real estate career.

Can I get a MT real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

No. Your real estate salesperson application requires verification from a Montana licensed and supervision-endorsed broker.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in MT?

An active license means you are certified to work as a real estate agent, perform real estate brokerage activities, and be compensated for your work. If you have an inactive license, you cannot engage in any real estate brokerage activities or earn any commission for your work.

How do I receive an inactive MT real estate license?

You can receive an inactive Montana license by requesting your license be placed on inactive status. You must still renew each renewal period. You don't need to report your continuing education until you return to active status.

How do I receive an active Montana real estate salesperson license?

You receive an active real estate license by meeting all the licensing requirements. That includes working on the supervision of an endorsed real estate broker and maintaining your continuing education hours.

How do I change from an inactive to an active MT license?

You need to fill out a status change form and prove you have met the current continuing education requirements. When you change from inactive to active, the fee is $75.

Are a MT salesperson and an endorsed broker license different?

A salesperson is about to engage in marketing to the public and representing interests in real estate. An endorsed broker can hire employees to work under them.

Where can I check my MT salesperson license application status?

You can run a license search through the Montana Department of Labor & Industry. The Board of Realty Regulation will email you when your license is approved.

How do I get a paper copy of my MT real estate salesperson license?

You can print a paper copy by logging into the Montana Department of Labor & Industry license portal.

Where in MT can I get Errors and Omission Insurance?

The MBRR offers a group professional policy through Rice Insurance Services Company that costs as low as $168. You can purchase professional liability coverage from an independent carrier as long as your coverage meets the state requirements. You need to provide proof of coverage with your application.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Montana

Can I get my Montana salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

A criminal conviction may not automatically bar you from receiving a license. The Board reviews your background information for honesty and trustworthiness. Consult the Board or program website for more information about how a criminal conviction may impact your application.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the MT Commission

Prior criminal activity is disclosed in question 10 of the license application. The application will want supporting documentation if you answer "yes" to any questions.

Getting Fingerprinted in Montana

Do I need to be fingerprinted in MT to earn a salesperson's license?

Montana does not have a fingerprint or background check requirement for your salesperson license. You will need to answer questions about your background in the license application.

How to Get a Montana Real Estate License

How do I get my Montana real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your MT Salesperson's license: 1) Complete the 70-Hour MT Pre-license Salesperson Course 2) Pass the MT salesperson state exam 3) Be hired by a licensed supervising broker 4) Obtain Errors & Omissions insurance 5) Submit a salesperson license application

What tests do I need to take to get my MT real estate license?

You will take quizzes and a final exam during your 70-hour post-license course. After that, you must pass the 111-question state licensing exam.

How much does it cost to get my MT salesperson's real estate license?

Earning your Montana real estate salesperson license can cost as little as $673. The associated costs are spread out over the licensing process and not paid all upfront.

Can I complete the MT salesperson's license application online?

Yes, Montana does offer an online application process for the salesperson license. You can submit a paper application as an alternative.

How long does it take to get my MT real estate license?

Earn your MT salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1. Complete the 70-hour pre-license course online: 2-4 weeks. 2. Schedule and pass the MT state exam: 1-3 weeks. 3. Be hired by an endorsed broker: 1-3 months. 4. Purchase E&O insurance: 1 day. 5. Apply for your license. A time estimate is not available.

Montana License Qualifications / Requirements

How old must I be to get a Montana real estate license?

Before you qualify for a Montana real estate license, you must be at least 18 years of age.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my MT real estate license?

No, but you must have received credit for completing two years of a full curriculum of study at an accredited high school or its equivalent.

Can I get a Montana real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Yes, you can earn a Montana real estate license if you do not live in the state.

Where can I find regulatory information about MT real estate licenses?

Find laws and regulations in The Montana Code Annotated 2021, Title 70, Property, and Title 37, Chapter 51. In addition, you can see the Administrative Rules of Montana 24.210: Board of Realty Regulation.

Montana Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Montana real estate license?

All renewals are done online through the Montana Department of Labor and Industry licensing portal. You'll need to register for an account.

How much does it cost to renew my MT real estate license?

The active license renewal license fee is $150. An inactive renewal fee is $75.

How often do I have to renew my MT real estate salesperson license?

You will need to renew your Montana real estate salesperson license every year by October 31. The renewal portal opens 60 days before.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in MT?

All active licensees are required to complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing real estate education each year. An approved provider must teach all courses.

What are the education requirements for inactive licensees in MT?

You don't need to maintain continuing education, but you will need to meet the requirement before reactivating your license. The inactive license renewal fee is $75.

What are the continuing education requirements for MT active licensees

All active licensees are required to complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing real estate education each year. An approved provider must teach all courses.

How do I renew an inactive MT real estate license?

You must go online to the Montana real estate licensing portal to initiate the renewal process.

How soon can I renew my MT real estate license?

License renewals open 60 days before the expiration date. You will receive an email from the Montana Board of Realty Regulation when it's time to renew your license. Renewals are done online through the licensing portal.

What happens if I do not renew my MT license on time?

Failure to renew on time will cause your license to be considered expired. To reinstate, you will be charged the renewal fee and the late fee of $50.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in MT?

The reinstatement of a suspended license costs $50. You'll also need to show proof of your continuing education hours.

Montana Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Montana real estate license?

A Montana real estate salesperson license legally enables you to earn a commission or other compensation, or the expectation of a commission, for representing sellers and buyers in the selling, purchasing, listing, exchange, or leasing any real property, real estate improvement, or timeshare.

When is a real estate license required in Montana?

A real estate salesperson license is required anytime you want to represent or advertise to the public in the state of Montana or when dealing with any real estate interest in the state.

What must I do in Montana if I transfer employing brokers?

You'll need a change of broker form. The supervising broker transfer fee, when done by mail, is $40. If submitted online through the licensing portal, it has no fee.

Montana Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

How to get MT real estate license if I hold a license in another state

Submit an application with an official license verification from the jurisdiction you hold a license. You will need to take the Montana state portion of the exam. You'll also need a pre-licensing education.

How can I earn a MT real estate license if I'm not a MT resident?

You need to follow the same steps as a Montana residence. That includes the 70-hour pre-license education, passing the exam, and submitting the license application.

Does Montana have a reciprocity agreement with other states?

Montana doesn't have an official reciprocity agreement with our states. Out-of-state licensees can submit an application with an official license verification from the jurisdiction you hold a license.

RealEstateU Questions in Montana

Is the RealEstateU Montana pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, RealEstateU is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer a flexible 70-hour course for $249.

Scheduling Your Montana Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the Montana exam without taking the pre-license course?

While you won't need proof of education to schedule the exam or take the test, the course will prepare you to successfully pass the exam and start your real estate career. You'll also need the pre-license course certificate for your application.

How long do I have after finishing the course to pass the exam?

Your course completion certificate is valid for two years. You'll need to submit your real estate license application within that time frame, so ideally, you would take the exam soon after finishing the course. The earlier you take the test, the fresher the information will be in your mind.

How do I schedule my MT real estate salesperson licensing exam?

PSI recommends online scheduling as the most convenient way to schedule your state licensing exam. Go online to www.psiexams.com and create an account. You can also use telephone scheduling by calling 855-898-0716.

How much does the MT real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Montana state licensing exam fee is $106. The fee is nonrefundable.

How do I pay for the Montana salesperson state licensing exam?

You will directly pay PSI, the state's exam provider, using a credit card. PSI accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. You can also mail a check, money order, or cashier's check. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my MT license exam?

Registration can be done in under an hour. All you need to do is set up an account online at www.psiexams.com.

Where can I find test centers for the MT real estate licensing exam?

PSI test centers are available in Billings, Helena, Kalispell, and Missoula. Go online to find specific addresses or look at the Candidate Information Handbook.

Do I need to take the MT state exam if I'm licensed in another state?

Yes. Out-of-state license holders seeking a Montana salesperson license need to take the state portion of the Montana licensing exam.

How do I change or cancel my MT state exam appointment?

If you need to make a change to your salesperson exam appointment, it must be done 48 hours in advance. Otherwise, you will lose your registration fee. Changes can be done by logging into your account or by calling 855-898-0716.

Taking the Montana Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the MT state salesperson licensing exam?

The Montana Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions. You must answer 56 correctly to pass. The State section will ask 33 multiple-choice questions, and you must answer 23 correctly to pass.

What is included on the Montana state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the MBRR, licensing, regulatory requirements, statutes on licensees, and state-specific projects

Do I need to bring a calculator to the MT State Exam?

You will be provided with an online calculator. Only non-programmable calculators that are silent, battery-operated, non-alphabetic, and paper tape printing.

What to bring with me to the MT state salesperson license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver's license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the MT State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications per the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must go online to PSI to make an accommodations request. Be ready to submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about your limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Montana PSI testing center?

Only approved items are allowed in the testing center. Personal belongings must be placed in the provided secure storage. No food, drink, smoking, or gum is allowed in the exam room. See the Candidate Bulletin for a complete list of prohibited items.

Can I take my MT State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you can take the exam without being hired by a licensed Montana broker. You will need to be hired before submitting your license application.

Do my MT State Exam results expire?

Your passing score is good for one year. You'll need to finish the licensing process before the score report expires.

I just passed my MT real estate exam; now what?

Congratulations on passing the Montana real estate exam. Your next steps are: ● Be hired by a Montana broker with a supervision endorsement. ● Purchase errors and omissions insurance ● Turn in the real estate salesperson application Once you complete these steps, you'll be a licensed real estate professional.

How will the MT Board of Realty Regulation know my exam results?

You are required to submit an official passing exam report from the salesperson exam with your license application.

How many times can I retake the MT state salesperson license exam?

Montana's Board of Realty Regulation does not indicate a limit to the number of times you can take the licensing exam. You will need to pass it within two years of taking your pre-license course, or that course completion certificate will expire.

How long does it take to get my MT State Exam results?

You'll know how you did on the Montana salesperson licensing exam immediately after finishing the test. The test center will supply you with an official score report.

I failed my MT real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can take the state licensing exam again. Make sure you pass it within two years of your course completion certificate date. You'll pay the same exam fee.

How do I retake the MT State Exam if I previously failed?

Follow the same registration process as you did to initially sign up for the exam. Go to www.psiexams.com or call (855) 898-0716.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Montana
  • About the 70-Hour Montana Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Montana Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Montana
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Montana
  • How to Get a Montana Real Estate License
  • Montana License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Montana Real Estate License Renewal
  • Montana Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Montana Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Montana
  • Scheduling Your Montana Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Montana Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side