PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Minnesota Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Minnesota
  • About the 90-hour Minnesota Real Estate Salesperson Course Bundle
  • Applying for a Real Estate License
  • License Qualifications and Requirements
  • Minnesota Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • MN Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Real Estate License Renewal
  • Real Estate Profession Related Questions
  • RealEstateU Related Question
  • Scheduling Your State Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Minnesota State Licensing Exam

Minnesota Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Minnesota real estate license, the Minnesota real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the MN state exam, how to renew your MN real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 90-hour Minnesota Real Estate Salesperson Course Bundle

Can I use my college credits towards the MN pre-license courses?

No, the Minnesota Real Estate Commission does not offer exemptions for college credits. You must take the 90 hours of pre-licensing education.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the MN pre-license courses?

No, the Minnesota Real Estate Commission does not offer exemptions for law school credits. You must take the 90 hours of pre-licensing education.

Can I take the 90-hour MN pre-licensure courses online?

Yes. As long as you take Course I, II, and III from a Minnesota real estate commission approved education provider, you may take advantage of online instruction. A current list of approved course providers is available through the state’s PULSE Portal.

How many questions are on the MN pre-license course exams?

Each course includes a proctored final exam. The final exams consist of 155 multiple-choice questions each. You must achieve a passing grade of 70% to receive your certificate of completion.

Can I take the MN pre-license courses if I’m still in high school?

You may take the required coursework, but you must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a Minnesota real estate salesperson license.

How do I receive my MN pre-license course completion certificate?

RealEstateU will provide you with a course completion certificate as soon as you pass each final exam. You will need your Course I course completion certificate to take your Minnesota State Salesperson License Exam.

Do I need a high school diploma before I can get my MN license?

The Minnesota Real Estate Commission does not specify license applicants to have a high school diploma or GED.

What real estate courses are required to apply for a MN license?

An applicant for a Minnesota real estate salesperson license must complete a total of 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework. Minnesota breaks the courses into three 30-hour courses known as Course I, Course II, and Course III.

Is there an age requirement to get my Minnesota real estate license?

Minnesota’s Real Estate Commission does not specify an age requirement to take the 90-hour pre-license course bundle. However, you must be at least 18 years of age when you apply for your license.

Applying for a Real Estate License

What are the next steps once I have passed the MN salesperson exam?

You have one year from the date you passed both sections of the exam to apply for your license. Before doing so, you must pass Course II and Course III, plus find a Minnesota licensed real estate broker to associate with.

What documentation is needed for my MN salesperson license application

You’ll need to demonstrate you have successfully completed Course I, Course II, and Course III. In addition, include your official score report from the state licensing exam. Depending on your application answers, you may also need to include further written statements and court documentation.

How long does it take to process my MN real estate salesperson license

Every application is considered on an individual basis. The time it takes to process the applications will vary for this reason. Your real estate broker will notify you when your salesperson license application has been approved and you have been granted an active real estate license.

Can I get a MN real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

No. Minnesota requires you to work for a Minnesota-licensed real estate broker. You will work on behalf of the broker in your salesperson duties. Your associated real estate broker will submit your license application for you.

Do I need to be fingerprinted for a MN real estate license?

No. Minnesota does not require fingerprinting for real estate salesperson licensing.

License Qualifications and Requirements

How old must you be to receive a MN real estate salesperson license?

You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a Minnesota real estate salesperson license.

What are the education requirements for a MN salesperson license?

Minnesota does not have any general education requirements, such as a high school diploma, GED, or college coursework.

How long will it take to earn my MN real estate salesperson license?

The time needed to earn your Minnesota license depends on how long it takes you to complete the required 90-hour pre-license courses, pass the state exam, and find a sponsoring Minnesota real estate broker. The entire licensing process may be as short as 6 weeks.

Do I need to be a MN resident to apply for a salesperson license?

No. Minnesota has no residency requirements to qualify for a real estate salesperson license.

How much does it cost to earn my MN real estate salesperson license?

The costs associated with obtaining your Minnesota real estate salesperson license are as follows: All three 90-hour pre-license courses:
RealEstateU offers the 90-hour course bundle for $299.
State Exam Fee: $63.
License Application Fee: $110.
Total Cost: $472

Can I get my MN license if I have a past arrest or conviction?

A criminal record does not necessarily prevent you from receiving your MN license. You will be asked to provide written statements and supporting documentation with your application. Your real estate broker will notify you if your application has been approved or denied.

What are the requirements for applying for a salesperson license in MN

In Minnesota, you must be at least 18 years of age, pass the 90-hour pre-license course bundle, and pass the state real estate exam. Next, you must find a licensed real estate broker to work with; they will submit your application.

What examinations do I need to take to get my MN salesperson license?

First, you must pass the final exams of the three required Minnesota pre-license courses. The final exams are 155 questions. Second, you must pass the state licensing exam. You must score at least a 70 to pass the state exam.

What steps do I need to follow to earn my MN salesperson license?

To apply for your MN real estate salesperson license, you must be at least 18 years of age. After that:
Step 1: Complete 90-Hour Minnesota Salesperson Pre-license Course Bundle
Step 2: Apply for the State Exam
Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam
Step 4: Find a Sponsoring Licensed Real Estate Broker

What criminal background questions are on the MN license application?

Generally speaking, the application will ask about any prior criminal convictions, criminal charges, withheld or deferred judgment, or administrative actions. If you answer affirmatively to these, you will need to submit an additional written statement and documentation.

Minnesota Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity

Can I receive my MN salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

The MN real estate commissioner has the right to deny an application on the grounds of any misleading statements made on the application, engagement in fraudulent practices, failure to comply with state statutes, been shown to be financially irresponsible or untrustworthy.

How do I disclose any prior criminal activity to the MN Commission?

The Minnesota real estate salesperson application asks questions regarding criminal history. As part of the application, you must submit a written statement explaining each incident, a copy of the charging document, and a copy of a document that demonstrates the resolution of the charges or final judgment.

MN Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Minnesota offer reciprocity with other states?

Active real estate license holders and residents of Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Oklahoma are eligible for reciprocity. Wisconsin license holders need to take a 13-hour course and the state exam. All other active license holders must meet the course and exam requirements.

Can I get my MN salesperson license if I live in another state?

Yes, you can apply for a Minnesota real estate salesperson license even if you live in another state. However, you’ll still need to work under a Minnesota-licensed real estate broker and comply with the salesperson license requirements.

Can I obtain a MN salesperson license if I’m not a U.S. citizen?

Minnesota has no citizenship requirements for obtaining your real estate salesperson license. You must be at least 18 years of age, pass the 90-hour Minnesota Pre-license Course Bundle, and successfully pass the state exam. You will need a Social Security number as part of the application process.

How can I get my MN license through reciprocity?

Full reciprocity holders will need to contact a Minnesota-licensed primary broker to submit their application. In addition, you must email a letter of current license certification no older than 90 days at the time of the application. Partial reciprocity holders will take an additional 13-hr course.

How can I get my MN license if I'm licensed in another state?

Licensed non-residents in a non-reciprocal state must complete the 90-hour Minnesota pre-license course bundle, pass the state portion of the salesperson exam, and find a Minnesota-licensed broker to submit the application.

Real Estate License Renewal

What is the cost of renewing my Minnesota salesperson license?

The fee for renewal is $70. The fee breakdown is $40 for the renewal, $20 for the real estate education, research, and recovery fun, and a $30 technology surcharge.

Is there a grace period for renewing my MN salesperson license?

Your license is expired if not renewed by the due date. If you do not renew your salesperson license within two years of your license expiration, your license will be canceled.

How do I get my MN real estate license reinstated once it has expired?

Ask your broker about missing requirements. You must meet these requirements before applying to reactivate your license. You’ll need to pay the $70 renewal fee plus a $20 reactivation fee. This must be done before two years lapse, or you will need to begin the Minnesota salesperson licensing process again.

What would cause my MN real estate salesperson license to go inactive?

Your real estate license can become inactive for failing to complete continuing education, ending your association with a licensed broker, for outstanding tax or child support obligations, an enforcement action, or if your associated broker’s license becomes inactive.

How do I transfer my MN license to a new broker?

Ask your new Minnesota licensed real estate broker to apply for a transfer of license. You can transfer your license as long as your renewal deadline has not passed.

Do I have to take education courses if my MN license is inactive?

Yes. You must meet the continuing education requirements in order to have your salesperson license reinstated.

How do I renew my Minnesota salesperson license?

Your Minnesota real estate broker will submit your renewal application on your behalf. The renewal fee for a salesperson license totals $70. The Department of Commerce will notify your broker when the renewal application is approved.

What are the MN salesperson license continuing education requirements?

During the two years your license is active, you must complete at least 30 hours of continuing education. 15 of those hours must be in the year before your renewal. You must also take one hour of anti-discrimination laws training and one hour on laws or regulations concerning agency representation.

How often do I need to renew my MN real estate salesperson license?

Your Minnesota real estate salesperson license is good for two years. You must stay associated with an actively licensed Minnesota real estate broker and meet the continuing education requirements.

Real Estate Profession Related Questions

What am I able to do with my MN real estate salesperson license?

A Minnesota real estate salesperson license enables you to legally be able to earn a commission or other compensation, or the expectation of a commission or other compensation, by representing sellers and buyers in the selling, purchasing, listing, exchange, leasing, renting, or leasing option on any real property.

When is a MN real estate salesperson license required?

A Minnesota real estate salesperson license is required to represent a buyer or seller in a real estate transaction and earn a commission or compensation for the services. The license enables the licensee to advertise and market real estate properties and their services.

RealEstateU Related Question

Is the RealEstateU MN course bundle an approved course provider?

Yes, RealEstateU is an approved Minnesota course provider. Its Minnesota pre-license coursework is fully approved by the Minnesota Department of Commerce.

Scheduling Your State Real Estate Licensing Exam

How do I schedule my MN salesperson license exam?

Schedule your exam by visiting www.pearsonvue.com or calling 833-273-1946. You must reserve your exam at least 24 hours before your desired date.

How do I find a test center across Minnesota?

The current list of test centers, including specific location details and directions, is available on the back cover of the Real Estate Candidate Handbook or searchable online at PearsonVUE.

How long does it take to register and schedule my MN State exam?

Registration is easily done online by visiting the PearsonVUE website. Once you create an account, you can have your exam scheduled within a few minutes. You can also schedule your exam by calling PearsonVUE at (833) 273-1946

Do I need to take the MN state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

If you are licensed in another state, and your licensed state does not have full reciprocity with Minnesota, you will need to take the state portion of the exam. You will schedule the exam through PearsonVUE. Search their website for a testing center near you. The state exam fee is $39.

How do I reschedule or cancel the test date for my MN real estate exam

If you must schedule or cancel your state exam, you must call (833) 273-1946 at least forty-eight (48) hours in advance, or your exam fee will be forfeit. Credit card refunds will be processed immediately, while electronic checks and vouchers take 2-3 weeks.

What if I cancel my Minnesota exam less than two days prior to my exam

By missing your exam or canceling within 48 hours, you forfeit your exam fee and need to reschedule your exam. You will need to submit a new registration and pay the exam fee if you need to reapply for a missed exam.

What information must I provide when I schedule my MN license exam?

Be prepared to provide your full name as it appears on an official government ID. Include your email, phone, and address for contact purposes. You will also need to provide payment details.

Can I take my MN state exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes. The only requirements to take the Minnesota state salesperson exam are to pass Course I. You will need to be associated with a Minnesota licensed broker to apply for your license.

Taking the Minnesota State Licensing Exam

Who do I contact if I have a question about the MN licensing exam?

For questions or requests about the exam itself, refer to PearsonVUE Real Estate Candidate Handbook. Otherwise, contact PearsonVUE Customer Service at pearsonvuecustomerservice@pearson.com. You can also make a written inquiry addressed to: Pearson VUE/Minnesota Real Estate 5601 Green Valley Dr., Bloomington, MN 55437

What security procedures are there during the MN state examination?

No recording devices of any type are allowed in the testing area. You will be asked to deposit personal belongings in secure storage at the testing center. Any guests must immediately depart the premises after dropping you off.

What personal items are allowed in the MN licensing exam room?

No personal items are allowed into the testing center other than keys and wallet. You will be provided with secured storage to place personal belongings before entering the exam room. In addition, no food or drink is permitted into the exam room.

Can I eat a snack or drink a bottle of water during my Minnesota test?

No, eating and drinking are not allowed in the test center. Chewing gum is also prohibited.

Can I bring a calculator to my Minnesota salesperson license exam?

You are permitted to bring a non-scientific calculator that is separate from a cell phone or any other electronic device. The test administrator will also provide you with materials for doing calculations.

How far ahead of time should I arrive for my MN exam appointment?

Plan to arrive at your test center no later than 30 minutes prior to your appointment time. This provides adequate time to sign in, provide identification and your Course I completion certificate, and familiarize yourself with the exam process. If you are late, your exam fees will be forfeited.

Do I need to take the MN license exam if I’m licensed in another state

Residents of Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Oklahoma qualify for reciprocity and are exempt from the exam. All other license holders will need to take the state portion of the exam.

How long will it take to know my Minnesota state exam score?

You will leave your test center with an official score report in hand. Your report will be marked “pass” or “fail.” Passing candidates will have information on how to apply for the salesperson license. Candidates who fail one or both sections will receive details for scheduling a retest.

I failed the MN state real estate licensing exam. Now what?

If you failed one or both portions of the real estate salesperson licensing exam, the official score report will include instructions for retesting. Wait 24 hours, then register for the exam as you did the first time, by going online at https://home.pearsonvue.com/mncommerce or by contacting PSI at 833-273-1946.

If I don't pass how do I know what areas to concentrate on or a retake

On your official score report, you are provided with a diagnostic report for the general section of the test before leaving. It will show your strengths and weaknesses on each exam question type. Unfortunately, if you failed the state exam, you will not receive further information.

How many times can I retake the MN real estate exam?

There is not a specified limit on the number of times you can retake the Minnesota salesperson exam. You do need to wait 24 hours before scheduling your retake. You will need to pay the exam fee each time you take the exam, either $63 for the full exam or $39 for one section.

How many questions are on the MN real estate exam?

The questions are divided between the general (or national real estate) portion and the state portion. The national portion includes 80 scored questions and (5) unscored pretest questions. The state salesperson portion includes 50 scored questions and 5-10 unscored pretest questions.

What is included on the MN real estate salesperson state exam?

The exam content for the general and state portions will cover real property characteristics, forms of ownership, brokerage license law, contracts and disclosures, conveyance procedures, and financial instruments.

Who administers the licensing exam for a MN salesperson license?

The Minnesota Real Estate Commission contracted with PearsonVUE to administer the real estate salesperson licensing examination.

How far in advance do I need to schedule my MN licensing exam?

It is advisable to schedule your exam as far ahead of your desired date as possible. You must register at least 24 hours in advance when scheduling your exam online. Walk-in exams are not available.

What is the cost of the MN real estate salesperson licensing exam?

The fee for taking the state licensing exam is $63 for scheduling both portions of the exam or $39 if you only need to take one portion. Payment must be made ahead of time. PearsonVUE accepts credit card, debit card, and electronic check. You may also purchase and use a pre-paid voucher.

What payment methods can I use for the MN state licensing exam?

PearsonVUE accepts credit card, debit card, and electronic check. You may also purchase and use a prepaid voucher. You will need to pay for your exam at the time you schedule it. Exam fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.

What may I bring into the MN real estate licensing exam?

No personal belongings will be allowed in the exam room. Any personal belongings brought to the test center must be secured in the proper storage provided before entering the exam room. Personal items prohibited include electronic devices, watches, wallets, purses, and writing devices, as well as notebooks.

Are there breaks during the Minnesota exam?

Any break policies are established by the exam sponsor. Most sponsors allow unscheduled breaks. To request an unscheduled break, raise your hand to get the administrator’s attention. You will not get extra exam time if you choose to take a break. You must leave the testing room, but not the floor or building.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Minnesota
  • About the 90-hour Minnesota Real Estate Salesperson Course Bundle
  • Applying for a Real Estate License
  • License Qualifications and Requirements
  • Minnesota Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • MN Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Real Estate License Renewal
  • Real Estate Profession Related Questions
  • RealEstateU Related Question
  • Scheduling Your State Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Minnesota State Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side