PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Massachusetts Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Massachusetts
  • About the 40-Hour Massachusetts Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Massachusetts Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Massachusetts
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Massachusetts
  • How to Get a Massachusetts Real Estate License
  • Massachusetts License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Massachusetts Real Estate License Renewal
  • Massachusetts Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Massachusetts Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Massachusetts
  • Scheduling Your Massachusetts Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Massachusetts Real Estate Licensing Exam

Massachusetts Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Massachusetts real estate license, the Massachusetts real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the MA state exam, how to renew your MA real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 40-Hour Massachusetts Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get a MA real estate license?

Massachusetts salesperson license applicants must take an approved 40-hour pre-license course from a board-approved real estate school. It will cover topics such as brokerage and law of agency, contracts, valuation, federal and Massachusetts laws, licensing requirements, and disciplinary procedures.

How many hours of education are required to get a MA license?

You are required to take a 40-hour pre-license course to obtain a Massachusetts salesperson license. A board-approved real estate school must administer the course, but you can take it as a classroom or online course.

How can I take the 40-hour MA real estate license course?

Applicants can choose between taking the course as a classroom or online learning course. Many opt to take the pre-license course online because of its flexibility and affordability.

Can I take the 40-hour MA real estate license course online?

Yes, you can take the course online as long as you choose a board-approved real estate school. Online learning is the most flexible and affordable way to earn your real estate license.

Can I take the MA pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

Check with your course provider if they have any high school completion requirements before taking the course.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the MA pre-license course?

Massachusetts-licensed attorneys with a current law license in good standing can apply for an attorney-broker license. Otherwise, your law degree credits don’t apply for the pre-license course.

Can I use my college credits towards the MA pre-license course?

Unfortunately, your college credits do not count towards the Massachusetts pre-license education course. You must take the course from an approved provider and receive the pre-license education completion form.

Does the MA salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, you will need to take and pass a pre-license course final exam to successfully complete the course. After you pass the final, you will be issued a Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate form.

What must I do to earn the MA pre-license education certificate?

To earn your Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate form, you must take a 40-hour pre-license education course from a board-approved real estate school. You’ll need to pass the course's final exam.

How many questions are on the MA pre-license course exams?

The exact number of questions on your pre-license course exams will vary based on the current section of the course you are taking. Your course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the checkpoint quizzes and the comprehensive final.

How do I receive my MA Course Completion Certificate?

Once you pass the course final exam, RealEstateU students simply log in to their account to find and download their Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in MA?

Refer to this list of board-approved real estate schools to find course providers. Remember, you can take the course as an online course or classroom course.

Does the Board of Registration know I completed the pre-license course

Your course provider will issue you a Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate form. You must include this form with your license application package submission.

Will my school notify the Board that I have completed my education?

No, it’s your responsibility to keep a record of your Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate form and submit it with your license application.

How long is my MA Real Estate Education Certificate valid for?

Your Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate is valid for two years from the date on the certificate.

Applying for a Massachusetts Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for a MA real estate license?

The requirements to apply for a Massachusetts salesperson license are as follows:
● Be at least 18 years of age
● Have a Social Security number or tax ID number
● Pass the 40-hour pre-license education course
● Obtain three character endorsements

How do I apply for my Massachusetts real estate salesperson license?

You will need to visit PSI examination services online and download the Massachusetts Candidate Information Book. Inside the book you will find the application checklist and the application documents. Print, complete, and mail the application to PSI.

Can I apply online for the MA real estate salesperson license?

No, the Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Licensing does not have an online application process at this time. You will need to download, print, and complete the documents. Once you've done so, you will mail them to PSI Examination Services.

How much is the MA real estate salesperson license application?

Your Massachusetts salesperson license exam application fee is $85. You must submit this to PSI.

What documents will I need to submit with my MA license application?

In order for your application to be considered complete, you must include the following documentation:
● A current picture
● Pre-license education certificate form
● Three character endorsements
● CORI acknowledgement form

When should I file my license application with MA Board of Licensing?

It is best to file your license application as soon as you have your three character endorsements. Your pre-license education completion certificate is good for two years, but you'll want to take the test while most of the information is still fresh in your mind.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in MA?

If you have an inactive license, you cannot legally engage in any real estate brokerage activities. An active license means you can work as a real estate agent, perform real estate brokerage activities, and be compensated for work as a real estate professional.

How do I receive an active MA real estate salesperson license?

You receive an active Massachusetts Real Estate salesperson license by meeting all of the licensing requirements. This includes completing the pre-license education, submitting a license application, passing the state's background check review, and passing the state licensing exam.

How do I change from an inactive to an active MA license?

To reactivate your Massachusetts license, you must complete a license reactivation form that is found on the board of Licensing website under applications and forms. Complete the form and email it to the board. It takes 2 to 3 business days to process this request, and 4 to 6 weeks to receive your wallet license.

Where can I check my MA salesperson license application status?

Check your license status at any time by visiting the license database. Any updates will happen within 24 to 48 hours of issuance.

How do I get a paper copy of my MA real estate salesperson license?

You receive a printed wall license at the PSI Testing Center when you pass the state exam. Otherwise, you will need to contact the MA Board of Licensing to receive a copy of your salesperson license.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Massachusetts

Can I get my MA salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

It depends on the conviction. Major convictions such as murder, assault, and sexual crimes can disqualify you. The Board of Licensing will review other crimes. No license shall be issued unless evidence of good moral character is found as required by this section.

What offenses disqualify me from receiving a MA Salesperson License?

If you have been convicted any major crimes within the last ten years, such as murder, rape, aggravated sexual assault, assault with intent to rape, armed assault, burglary, kidnapping, arson, indecent assault or battery, unnatural acts, inducing sex with a minor. Level 3 sex offenders are disqualified.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the Board in MA?

Your prior criminal history is disclosed in the Criminal Offense Record Information (CORI) acknowledgment form that is part of the license application.

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the Board in MA?

Disclose your prior criminal activity to the Board of Licensing during the license application process. You are required to fill out a Criminal Offense Record Information (CORI) acknowledgment form with information about your criminal history.

Getting Fingerprinted in Massachusetts

Do I need to be fingerprinted in MA to earn a salesperson’s license?

Massachusetts does not have a fingerprinting requirement along its path to earning a salesperson's license. You will need to approve a background check as part of the license application.

How to Get a Massachusetts Real Estate License

How do I get my Massachusetts real estate salesperson’s license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your MA Salesperson’s license:
1) Complete the 40-Hour MA Pre-license Salesperson Course
2) Submit (3) Character References
3) Submit license application
4) Take and pass the state licensing exam
5) Pay for and receive your salesperson license

How much does it cost to get my MA broker's real estate license?

In total, it will cost as low as $484-531 to earn your Massachusetts real estate salesperson license. The licensing costs are spread out over the entire process and not paid all upfront.

How long does it take to get my MA real estate license?

Earn your MA broker license in approximately two months.
1) Complete the 40-hour pre-license course online: 1-3 weeks.
2) Obtain character references: 1-3 weeks
3) Apply for your license: 2-4 weeks
4) Schedule and pass the MA state exam: 1-3 weeks.

What tests do I need to take to get my MA real estate license?

During the licensing process, you take two major tests: the final exam for the pre-license course and the Massachusetts real estate licensing exam.

Can I complete the application for a MA salesperson’s license online?

No. The Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salesperson requires you to mail in all applicable documents to the state’s testing vendor, PSI.

Massachusetts License Qualifications / Requirements

Do I need a high school diploma to get my MA real estate license?

A high school diploma is not a requirement for earning a Massachusetts real estate salesperson license.

Can I get a MA real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

There are no state residency requirements to earn a Massachusetts real estate license. You do need a social security number or tax identification number.

Where can I find regulatory information about MA real estate licenses?

You can find state regulations and rules regarding real estate practice in Massachusetts General Law Chapter 112.

How old do I have to be to get a MA real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to earn a Massachusetts real estate salesperson license.

Massachusetts Real Estate License Renewal

What happens if I do not renew my MA license on time?

Your license will go on an inactive status. You must update your continuing education and fill out the Request For Reinstatement Application if you wish to reinstate. You need to pay the renewal fee plus a $57 late fee.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in MA?

If your license has been expired for more than two years, you can ask for it to be reinstated by completing the Request For Reinstatement Application under the “applications and forms” link on the Board of Licensing website.

How do I renew my Massachusetts real estate license?

The Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Licensing will mail you a license renewal form to your address. If you do not receive a license renewal form, contact the board at 617-727-2373. Once you have that form, you can go online to the ePLACE portal to manage your license and complete your renewal.

How much does it cost to renew my MA real estate license?

The salesperson license renewal fee is $103. Renewal happens every two years around your birthday.

How often do I have to renew my MA real estate salesperson license?

Your Massachusetts Real Estate salesperson license is valid for two years. Each person's expiration date is individualized, so you'll want to pay attention to the issuance and expiration date on your license.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in MA?

First-time license renewals must meet the same continuing education requirements for all active license holders, which is to complete the 12 hours of continuing education prior to renewing your license. A list of classes is published here.

What are the CE requirements for MA inactive licensees?

You do not need to take continuing education to have an inactive license, but you will need to take the 12 hours of education if you choose to reactivate your license.

What are the CE requirements for MA active licensees?

To maintain an active real estate license in Massachusetts, you must complete 12 hours of continuing education before your renewal date.

How do I renew an inactive MA real estate license?

The Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Licensing will mail you a license renewal form to your address. Once you have that form, you can go online to the ePLACE portal to manage your license and complete your renewal.

Massachusetts Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Massachusetts real estate license?

A real estate license enables you to complete brokerage activities within the state of Massachusetts and be compensated for your work. This includes the purchase, sale, lease, or property management of commercial and residential real estate.

When is a real estate license required in Massachusetts?

You will need to have a real estate license in Massachusetts anytime you wish to engage in real estate related brokerage activities while representing others and be compensated for your work.

What must I do in MA if I transfer brokers?

You need to record your affiliation with the Board of Licensing. The broker of record will complete a form called the affiliation notice located under the applications and forms link on the board's website. It can either be mailed or faxed to the Real Estate Board.

Massachusetts Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Massachusetts offer reciprocity with other states?

Yes, Massachusetts does offer reciprocity with other states that have similar laws regarding the practice of Real Estate. They do not provide a specific list of states.

How can I get my MA real estate license through reciprocity?

Applications through reciprocity have to be submitted online through the Division Of Professional Licensure ePLACE portal. Upload supporting documents, such as the certified letter of good standing by your current active state. Certificates of licensure must have been issued 90 days before the application submission.

How can I get my MA license if I'm already licensed in another state?

Applications through reciprocity have to be submitted online through the Division Of Professional Licensure ePLACE portal. Upload supporting documents, such as the certified letter of good standing by your current active state. Certificates of licensure must have been issued 90 days before the application submission.

How do I get my MA real estate license if I'm not a MA resident?

You must follow all the same steps as a Massachusetts state resident. One detail of note is that you must take the state licensing exam inside of Massachusetts. This is because they issue your license at the testing center.

RealEstateU Questions in Massachusetts

Is the RealEstateU Massachusetts pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 40-hour pre-license course for $199.

Scheduling Your Massachusetts Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the MA exam without taking the pre-license course?

No. You have to submit your license application for approval before you can schedule the exam. This package requires your Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the MA exam

Your Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate is valid for two years from the certificate date. Once you are approved to take the exam, it’s recommended you schedule as soon as possible.

How do I schedule my MA real estate salesperson licensing exam?

After your license application is approved, online scheduling is the easiest and fastest way to set your exam appointment. Go online to www.psiexams.com and create an account. Follow all the instructions to find a test center near you and schedule the exam.

How much does the MA real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The MA real estate salesperson license exam fee is $85. Approved Veterans, Active Duty, and their spouses can waive the application processing fee, making their exam fee $54. See if you qualify in the Candidate Handbook.

How do I pay for the MA state licensing exam?

You will directly pay PSI, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card. PSI accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. You can also mail a check, money order, or cashier’s check. All exam fees must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my MA license exam?

Online scheduling is the fastest way to register and schedule your exam. You can have an exam appointment in less than an hour by visiting www.psiexams.com.

Where can I take the MA real estate licensing exam?

Test centers are available in Auburn, Boston, Fall River, Lawrence, and West Springfield. You must take the Massachusetts licensing exam inside Massachusetts.

Do I need to take the MA state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

You can apply for your license and receive a waiver for the state exam and the education component. Applications through reciprocity have to be submitted online through the Division Of Professional Licensure ePLACE portal.

How do I change or cancel my MA state exam date?

You need to make any changes to your state exam date two days before your scheduled appointment, or you will forfeit the exam fee. Call 800-733-9267 to modify your exam appointment.

Taking the Massachusetts Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the MA state salesperson licensing exam?

The Massachusetts Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section asks 80 multiple-choice questions, and the State section asks 40 multiple-choice questions. There may be 5-10 experimental questions. You need to score a minimum of 70% to pass.

What is included on the MA state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the MA board, licensing, contracts, consumer protection laws, and MA-specific regulations.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the MA State Exam?

Personal calculators are not permitted in the exam room. PSI will provide you with an online calculator, and you’ll have scratch paper.

What is required to bring with me to the MA state broker license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must have a photo and signature, like a government-issued driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something with your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the MA State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must fill out the accommodations request form from the Candidate Handbook and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Massachusetts PSI testing center?

All personal items must be left in your vehicle or secured in the storage at the test center. No food, drink, or gum or allowed in the exam room. The test proctor will ask you to turn out your pockets and lift your sleeves to ensure they are empty. You can only leave the room to use the restroom and must ask permission

Can I take my MA State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you can take the Massachusetts state licensing exam without being hired by a Massachusetts licensed broker.

Do my MA State Exam results expire?

No, because you receive your real estate license at the test center when you pass the exam. You leave the test center a licensed real estate salesperson.

I just passed my MA real estate exam, now what?

You must be prepared to pay your licensing fee the same day you take your exam. Report to the testing proctor. Your licensing fee will be prorated based on Massachusetts General Law chapter 112, sections 87XX and 87ZZ. Your photograph will be taken and you will be issued a license card and wall certificate.

How will the MA Board of Real Estate Licensing know my exam results?

The Massachusetts Board Of Real Estate Licensing will know your exam results because you will be issued a license. PSI will record your new license in the system.

How many times can I take the MA state salesperson license exam?

You must pass all sections of the Massachusetts real estate licensing exam within two years of the completion date on your educational certificate form. Otherwise, you have an unlimited number of retakes. The retake fee is $54.

How long does it take to get my MA State Exam results?

You will know how you performed on the Massachusetts state real estate exam as soon as you are finished. If you have passed the exam, you will be issued your real estate salesperson license on the spot. If you did not pass, you will receive a score report with some diagnostic information.

I failed my MA real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can retake the Massachusetts Real Estate salesperson exam. You have an unlimited number of retakes as long as you take them before your educational certificate form expires.

How do I retake the MA State Exam if I previously failed?

You need to wait 24 hours before trying to reschedule your real estate salesperson exam. After that, you can log into your PSI account to schedule the retake. The retake fee is $54.

How much does it cost to retake the MA State Exam?

The Massachusetts salesperson exam retake fee is $54. The fee is the same regardless of taking one section or both sections. You can reschedule your retake by going online to your PSI account.

I failed one portion of the MA exam. Do I have to retake both sections

No, you can just retake the section of the exam that you failed. Make sure you schedule your retake before your educational certificate form expires. The retake fee will be $54.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Massachusetts
  • About the 40-Hour Massachusetts Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Massachusetts Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Massachusetts
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Massachusetts
  • How to Get a Massachusetts Real Estate License
  • Massachusetts License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Massachusetts Real Estate License Renewal
  • Massachusetts Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Massachusetts Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Massachusetts
  • Scheduling Your Massachusetts Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Massachusetts Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side