PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Louisiana Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Louisiana
  • About the 90-Hour Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Louisiana Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Louisiana
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Louisiana
  • How to Get a Louisiana Real Estate License
  • Louisiana License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Louisiana Real Estate License Renewal
  • Louisiana Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Louisiana Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Louisiana
  • Scheduling Your Louisiana Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Louisiana Real Estate Licensing Exam

Louisiana Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Louisiana real estate license, the Louisiana real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the LA state exam, how to renew your LA real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 90-Hour Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get a LA salesperson license?

Louisiana requires you take a 90-hour salesperson pre-license course from one of the state’s pre-approved education providers. You can take the course online or in person.

How many hours of education are required to get a LA license?

Louisiana’s salesperson pre-license course is 90 hours. Salesperson pre-licensing hours must be in specific real estate courses that include coverage of real estate principles/practices, the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Law of Agency, and Civil Law pertaining to real estate.

How can I take the 90-hour LA real estate license course?

The state’s pre-approved education providers offer the courses as in-person classes or as online courses. Many applicants opt for online courses for their flexibility and affordable price.

Can I take the 90-hour LA real estate license course online?

Yes, many students prefer to take the course online because it is more affordable and flexible than in-person classes. As long as a state-approved education provider provides the course, you can take it online.

Can I take the LA pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

The Louisiana Real Estate Commission requires you to be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or equivalent before applying for a license. You could take the course near the end of your high school education to time your Salesperson Application Part A with proof of education.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the LA pre-license course?

No, Louisiana does not accept law degree credits towards the education course.

Can I use my college credits towards the LA pre-license course?

The LREC can award some credit for college courses towards the coursework. The coursework information will need to be sent to the Education Division before submitting any licensing application.

Does the LA salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, the Louisiana salesperson pre-license course will be capped by a comprehensive final exam.

What to do to earn the LA pre-license course completion certificate?

You successfully complete the Louisiana salesperson pre-license course by passing all course quizzes and exams, plus the comprehensive final exam.

How many questions are on the LA pre-license course exams?

Your course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the comprehensive final for the pre-license course.

How do I receive my LA Course Completion Certificate?

You will receive your Certificate of Completion after passing the pre-license course final exam. The certificate will be available to download after logging into your RealEstateU account.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in LA?

Louisiana provides this list of pre-approved education providers for your real estate license education.

How does the LREC know that I have completed the pre-license course?

You must submit with your salesperson application Part A the certificate of completion from your 90-hour pre-license course provider.

Will my school notify the LREC that I have completed my education?

No. You must provide the proof of real estate education with your salesperson application Part A. RealEstateU students will submit their Certificate of Completion as evidence they met the required 90 hours of pre-licensing education.

How long is my LA Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Your LA course completion certificate does not have an expiration date. However, it is to your benefit to move through the steps as quickly as possible while the information is fresh. If you do not want to start practicing real estate right away, you could always request an inactive license.

Applying for a Louisiana Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for a LA real estate license?

You must complete the 90-hour pre-license course, pass the state licensing exam, order a background check, and obtain E&O insurance. You’ll send Part A and Part B of the license application. You must also be at least 18 years of age. You’ll need a sponsoring broker to get an active license.

How do I apply for my Louisiana real estate salesperson license?

To apply, you’ll submit a paper application and associated documents for Part A and Part B of the Salesperson Application.

Can I apply online for the LA real estate salesperson license?

No, you’ll need a paper application for Part A of the Salesperson Application and Part B. Once licensed, Louisiana utilizes an online portal to track real estate salesperson licensing.

How much is the LA real estate salesperson license application?

Your salesperson license application fee is $90, made payable to the Louisiana Real estate Commission with a check or money order.

What documents will I need to submit with my LA license application?

You’ll need your certificate of completion from your 90-hour pre-license course. If you are submitting through reciprocity, you’ll need a certified license history from your current state. With Part B, you’ll need to have proof of E&O insurance through proof of payment and the declarations page.

When should I file my LA license application with the Commission?

You will have up to (1) year after successfully completing the state exam to file Part B- Initial Salesperson License Application.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in LA?

An active license allows you to legally work as a real estate salesperson, representing buyers and sellers in transacting Louisiana real estate. An inactive license does not allow you to work as a real estate salesperson and earn a commission.

How do I receive an inactive LA real estate license?

You can submit an inactive license application without current E&O insurance or identifying a sponsoring broker. An active salesperson can also request their license be made inactive with the same application.

How do I receive an active Louisiana real estate salesperson license?

You need to have a sponsoring broker, proof of current or continuous E&O insurance, and complete the background check. If you have these ready, you’ll turn in the Initial Real Estate License Application-Part B to receive an active real estate license.

How do I change from an inactive to an active LA license?

When you want to move your license from inactive to active, first make sure you have current E&O insurance, a sponsoring broker, and an approved background check. Make sure you’ve met any continuing education requirements. If you meet those requirements, go to the MyLREC Portal for the activation of license form.

What’s the difference between a salesperson- and broker license in LA?

transactions. A broker license allows the licensee to supervise other brokers. A broker company license enables the holder to manage real estate companies.

Where can I check my LA salesperson license application status?

Louisiana uses an online portal to track active license applications.

What are the post-licensing education requirements in LA?

Louisiana requires all new applicants to take a one-time 45-hour post-license education hours within 180 days of your initial license date. You must take the course from LREC approved education providers.

Can I get a Louisiana real estate license if I don't work for a broker

To work with an active license in Louisiana, you need to be hired by a sponsoring broker. Their sponsorship is required for the Initial Real Estate Salesperson License-Part B. You can file for an inactive salesperson license, but you won’t be able to legally transact real estate and earn a commission.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Louisiana

Can I get my LA salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

Louisiana requires any applicant who has been convicted of a felony to first submit a Felony Applicant Form for review. You may be required to appear for a hearing at an LREC meeting where the Commission will make a final decision on initial licensure.

What offenses would disqualify me from receiving a LA Broker License?

Louisiana can deny a license if you have been convicted of forgery, embezzlement, larceny, conspiracy to defraud, theft, or moral turpitude. Any applicant who has been convicted of a felony must first submit a Felony Applicant Form to the LREC for review.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the LA Commission

Any applicant who has been convicted of a felony must first submit a Felony Applicant Form to the LREC for review. Otherwise, you will disclose any prior criminal activity through your salesperson license application. You’ll also be required to have a background check as part of the licensing process.

Should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the LA Commission?

You will disclose any prior criminal activity on the salesperson license application. Anyone convicted of a felony will disclose it before beginning the steps to licensing, as you’ll need LREC approval.

Getting Fingerprinted in Louisiana

Do I need to be fingerprinted in LA to earn a salesperson's license?

No, but Louisiana does require real estate salespersons to have a background check. You must order the check via LREC’s Clearbox Portal on its website.

How long does a background check take in Louisiana?

The LREC does not provide an estimated time to run a background check through its Clearbox vendor. Background checks are only good for 180 days. They will match the results to your Part B license application.

How to Get a Louisiana Real Estate License

How much does it cost to get my LA salesperson's real estate license?

In total, it can cost as little as $616 to earn your Louisiana real estate salesperson license. These costs are spread out over the entire licensing process and not paid all upfront.

How long does it take to get my LA real estate license?

Earn your LA salesperson license in approx. 2 months. 1)Take the 90-hour pre-license course online: 2-4 weeks 2)Send Part A Salesperson License Application: 1-4 weeks 3)Schedule and pass the state exam: 1-3 weeks 4)Order a background check. 1-4 weeks 5)Purchase E&O insurance. 6)Submit Part B of your license application

What tests do I need to take to get my LA real estate license?

Applicants must take the Louisiana pre-license salesperson exam, administered by PSI. If you are not applying by reciprocity, you will also take a final exam during the 90-hour pre-license salesperson course.

Can I complete the application for a LA salesperson's license online?

No, Louisiana uses print license applications for Part A and Part B. Once you have a license, you can use the MyLREC portal to manage your license.

How do I get my Louisiana real estate salesperson's license?

Earning your LA salesperson license takes seven steps:
1- Take the 90-hour pre-license course
2- Submit Part A of your license application
3- Schedule your exam
4- Pass the state exam
5-Submit a Background Check
6- Purchase E & O Insurance
7- Submit Part B of the license application

Louisiana License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a LA real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a Louisiana salesperson license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my LA real estate license?

Yes, Louisiana requires a high diploma or general education diploma (GED) for a real estate salesperson license.

Can I get a Louisiana real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

You are not required to be a resident to get a Louisiana salesperson's license. You must meet the same requirements as residents, like showing proof of education, taking the 90-hour Louisiana pre-license salesperson course, passing the state exam, and getting E&O insurance.

Where can I find regulatory information about LA real estate licenses?

You can find information about the Louisiana Real Estate Commission and its laws and rules on its website. You can also search the state legislature for regulations on obtaining a real estate salesperson license, continuing education requirements, and code enforcement.

Louisiana Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Louisiana real estate license?

When it’s time to renew your Louisiana real estate salesperson license, use the state's online portal. You will need to complete 12 hours of continuing education each year. Renewing your salesperson license costs $35.

Does my post-licensing course count for continuing education in LA?

Yes, in your initial licensing year, the 45-hour post-licensing course will give you eight hours of continuing education credit. You’ll still need to take the mandatory four-hour course topic assigned for the year by the LREC.

How much does it cost to renew my LA real estate license?

The base fee to renew your Louisiana real estate salesperson license is $35. You’ll also need to renew your E&O insurance policy.

How often do I have to renew my LA real estate salesperson license?

Your Louisiana salesperson license is good for one year and expires on December 31. You’ll need to pay for renewal and take continuing education every year.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in LA?

In your first year, you must take the 45-hour post-licensing course within 180 days of receiving your initial license. This course will give you eight hours of continuing education credit. You’ll still need to take the mandatory four-hour course.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in LA?

Anyone with an inactive real estate salesperson license must still meet the continuing education requirements before they can renew the license. This means taking 12 hours of continuing education before your license expiration date. You’ll also pay a $35 renewal fee.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in LA?

Active salesperson's licenses are required to take a total of 12 hours of continuing education from an approved provider during the year. Four of those hours must be in a mandatory course topic assigned each year by the LREC.

How do I renew an inactive LA real estate license?

You renew an inactive Louisiana real estate salesperson license by completing the same online renewal process as an active license. You’ll need to show you met the 12 hours of continuing education requirement and pay a fee.

What happens if I do not renew my LA license on time?

Your license will be considered delinquent. You’ll need to pay the renewal and delinquent fees and submit a renewal application. If you do not submit the application and pay fees within three months, your license will be considered expired.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in LA?

Unfortunately, if you let your inactive or active salesperson license expire, you’ll need to start again with the initial applicant process.

Louisiana Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Louisiana real estate license?

Holding a Louisiana real estate salesperson license enables you to sell or lease all types of real estate in the State of Louisiana and earn a commission in the process. You can represent buyers looking to purchase any type of real property in Louisiana and earn a commission from an employing broker.

When is a real estate license required in Louisiana?

A real estate license is required if you represent a seller or buyer of real property as an agent and earn a commission in the process. Note that you do not need a real estate license to buy or sell your own home.

What must I do if I transfer employing brokers in LA?

Louisiana requires you to notify them of the transfer. Go to the MyLREC portal to find the transfer/termination sponsorship forms. Transfer fees cost $35.

Louisiana Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Louisiana offer reciprocity with other states?

Yes, Louisiana offers reciprocity for Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Iowa, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania.

How can I get my LA real estate license through reciprocity?

Earning a Louisiana real estate salesperson license via reciprocity requires you to turn in a Certified License History with Part A & Part B of the Salesperson License Application. All applicants must order a background check and show proof of E & O insurance.

How can I get my LA license if I'm already licensed in another state?

Anyone with an active license not in a reciprocal state must submit an official license history from their current state. Send the information to the Education Division before submitting any licensing application. The LREC may give partial credit for pre-licensing education and accept the national exam results.

How do I get my LA real estate license if I'm not a LA resident?

You will follow the same basic steps as a Louisiana resident to earn your salesperson license. This means taking a 90-hour salesperson pre-license course, passing the state licensure exam, showing proof of E&O insurance, submitting a background check, and submitting both parts of the salesperson license application.

RealEstateU Questions in Louisiana

Is the RealEstateU Louisiana pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 90-hour pre-license course for $249.

Scheduling Your Louisiana Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the LA exam without taking the pre-license course?

No. Before scheduling the Louisiana exam, you have to submit a Salesperson License Application Part A that requires proof of education. Without it, you won’t be approved to take the state exam.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the LA exam

While LREC doesn’t specify a timeline, it does indicate that for all applicants that it won’t accept any education courses older than five years.

How do I schedule my LA real estate salesperson licensing exam?

PSI administers the LA salesperson pre-license exam. After submitting your Salesperson License Application Part A, the LREC will notify PSI when you are approved to take the exam. PSI will email you when you can schedule your exam. Visit http://www.psiexams.com/ or call (855) 579-4644.

How much does the LA real estate salesperson license exam cost?

Taking the Louisiana real estate salesperson license exam will cost $85, payable directly to PSI.

How do I pay for the LA state licensing exam?

You will directly pay PSI, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card. PSI accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. You can also mail a check, money order, or cashier’s check. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my LA license exam?

Once you’ve been approved, scheduling your exam is easiest by going online to http://www.psiexams.com/ or calling (855) 579-4644. Setting up a PSI website account takes eight steps. You can be registered and scheduled in under 15 minutes.

Where can I take the LA real estate licensing exam?

PSI offers computer testing centers in Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Metairie, New Orleans, and Shreveport. For specific addresses or to find a test center near you, visit the PSI website.

Do I need to take the LA state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

If you’re not a candidate via reciprocity, then yes. The LREC may exempt you from the national portion of the test if you’ve taken it within the last five years. Otherwise, it requires you to take the exam even if you are licensed in another state.

How do I change or cancel my LA state exam date?

Visit http://www.psiexams.com/ or call PSI at (855) 579-4644 to reschedule or cancel your state exam. You must cancel or reschedule at least (2) days before your test date to not forfeit the $85 testing fee. Please note that a voicemail is not accepted as a cancellation.

Taking the Louisiana Real Estate Licensing Exam

Are there any testing accommodations available for the LA State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications per the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must send an accommodations request form and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Louisiana PSI testing center?

PSI will provide secure storage for candidates to store their personal belongings during the test. Food, drink, smoking, and electronic devices are not permitted in the testing center. You will be allowed to use the restroom during the exam, but you will not receive extra time.

Can I take my LA State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, Louisiana does not require you to have a sponsoring broker to take the state exam. However, you will need broker sponsorship when you submit Part B of the Salesperson License Application.

Do my LA State Exam results expire?

Your salesperson license exam results are only good for one year from the date of the passing examination. After that, you’ll need to start again with Part A of the Salesperson License Application.

I just passed my LA real estate exam, now what?

You need to order a background check, find a sponsoring broker, and purchase E&O insurance. You’ll need to do this before you submit Part B of the online salesperson application.

How will the Commission know my LA exam results?

PSI will automatically send your score report upon completion of your test to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission.

How many times can I take the LA state salesperson license exam?

You can take the state salesperson license exam more than once, but you’ll need to apply to the LREC for permission to retake. The new exam eligibility will cost $15 plus the exam fee of $85. Keep in mind that the score of the section you passed is only valid for (1) year for your salesperson license application.

How long does it take to get my LA State Exam results?

You’ll know right away. Your Louisiana salesperson license exam results display on-screen when you finish the test. A score report will appear on-screen and will be emailed to you. If you did not pass, you’ll see a diagnostic report by topic area and exam type.

I failed my LA real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes. You can retake your real estate salesperson exam as many times as necessary to pass within one year of your initial exam date. You will need to apply for a new exam eligibility to LREC. The fee costs $15. If you pass one section and not the other, you can retake just the failed section.

How do I retake the LA State Exam if I previously failed?

Once LREC approves your new exam eligibility, visit PSI’s website or call (855) 579-4644 to reschedule your state exam.

How much does it cost to retake the LA State Exam?

Any exam retakes have a $15 exam eligibility fee paid to LREC, plus the salesperson exam fee of $85, made payable to PSI.

I failed one portion of the LA exam. Do I have to retake both sections

No. You can retake just the section that you still need to pass, but you’ll pay the full $85 exam fee. Keep in mind for your license application that any passing scores are only valid for (1) year from your initial test date.

How many questions are on the LA state salesperson licensing exam?

The LA Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections with a total of 135 questions. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions. A passing score is 56. You’ll have 105 minutes on this section. The State section will ask 55 multiple-choice questions. A passing score is 40. You’ll have 75 minutes

What is included on the Louisiana state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the Commission, licensing, regulatory requirements, statutes on licensees, and LA’s Civil Law.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the LA State Exam?

You don’t need to bring a calculator, but you can as long as it is a non-programmable calculator. It must be silent, battery-operated, and have no alpha keyboard.

What am I required to bring with me to the LA salesperson license exam

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Louisiana
  • About the 90-Hour Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Louisiana Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Louisiana
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Louisiana
  • How to Get a Louisiana Real Estate License
  • Louisiana License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Louisiana Real Estate License Renewal
  • Louisiana Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Louisiana Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Louisiana
  • Scheduling Your Louisiana Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Louisiana Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side