PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Kentucky Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Kentucky
  • About the 96-Hour Kentucky Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Kentucky Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Kentucky
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Kentucky
  • How to Get a Kentucky Real Estate License
  • Kentucky License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Kentucky Real Estate License Renewal
  • Kentucky Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Kentucky Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Kentucky
  • Scheduling Your Kentucky Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Kentucky Real Estate Licensing Exam

Kentucky Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Kentucky real estate license, the Kentucky real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the KY state exam, how to renew your KY real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 96-Hour Kentucky Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get a KY salesperson license?

You must take the 96-hour Kentucky pre-license education course from an approved school. You can also take six credit hours in real estate courses from an accredited college.

How many hours of education are required to get a KY license?

You must take 96 hours of real estate education from a state-approved school or six credit hours in real estate courses from an accredited college.

How can I take the 96-hour KY real estate license course?

You can take the required pre-license course as an in-classroom course or an online course. Keep in mind that online courses are the most flexible with your schedule and can also be the most affordable option.

Can I take the 96-hour KY real estate license course online?

Yes, you can take your Kentucky 96-hour pre-license course online as long as you choose one of the state's approved providers.

Can I take the KY pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

Kentucky does not have any regulations regarding when you take the pre-license course. Just keep in mind that you have to have your high school diploma by the time you apply for your license. The individual course providers may also have age requirements, so you'll want to check with them.

Can I use my law degree credits for the KY pre-license course?

Attorneys must meet the same pre-licensing requirements as all other applicants. Some real estate designated courses in law school can be used to fulfill the education requirements for the sales associates license. You'll need a transcript from your law school to provide the Kentucky Real Estate Commission.

Can I use my college credits for the KY pre-license course?

Kentucky will accept six credit hours in real estate courses towards the pre-licensing education as long as they are from an accredited college.

Does the KY salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, the Kentucky pre-license course does have a course final exam. You must pass this final before being issued a course completion certificate essential for your license application.

What to do to earn the KY pre-license course completion certificate?

Receiving your pre-license course completion certificate requires you to fully complete the 96 hours of licensing education to pass the course final exam.

How many questions are on the KY pre-license course exams?

Your pre-license course quizzes and exam questions vary based on the current section of the course you are taking. Your course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different exams and the comprehensive final.

How do I receive my KY Course Completion Certificate?

If you are a RealEstateU student, your course completion certificate will be available for download and printing in your student account after passing the final exam.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in KY?

Refer to this list of Kentucky-approved proprietary schools to find the right course provider for you.

How does the KREC know that I have completed the pre-license course?

First, you will need to have the school code in order to register for the state licensing exam. This will help them verify that you finished the hours. Second, you will need to provide your proof of pre-licensing education with your Kentucky sales associate application.

Will my school notify the KREC that I have completed my education?

No, your pre-licensing course provider will not tell the KREC that you have completed your education. It is your responsibility to provide the course completion certificate as part of your sales associate application.

How long is my KY Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Your Kentucky course completion certificate does not have a time limit attached to it. However, it's a good idea to work through the steps to licensure as quickly as possible so that all the information is current when you take the exam.

Applying for a Kentucky Real Estate License

How do I change from an inactive to an active KY license?

To make any changes to your licensing status, you will need to file a License Status And Personal Information Update Form with the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. Reactivating your license will cost $10, and you must submit updated insurance coverage information.

What’s the difference between a salesperson- and broker license in KY?

A Kentucky broker license enables you to operate an independent real estate firm into higher sales associates to work for you. A salesperson license enables you to assist with the business of real estate but work under the supervision of a real estate broker.

Where can I check my KY salesperson license application status?

Refer to the Kentucky Department of Professional Licensing license verification tool to see your licensing status. Once you have been approved and issued a license, you will appear here. Another option is to search the Active License Directory from the KYDPL.

How do I get a paper copy of my KY real estate salesperson license?

Your principal broker will be able to visit the Kentucky DPL eServices to print out your license. A copy of your license will also be delivered or mailed to your principal broker.

Where can I get E&O Insurance in KY?

Kentucky Real Estate Commission offers a group Errors & Omissions Insurance policy carried by RISC Insurance Company. Or, you can carry E&O through a private carrier. Consult with your principal broker about which policy to purchase. You will need to submit the “Private Carrier Certification of Coverage” form.

How much is the KY real estate salesperson license application?

The Kentucky salesperson license fee is $130 for an active license. You pay the fee to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission using a credit card, debit card, or electronic check.

What documents will I need to submit with my KY license application?

Be prepared to submit: ● Proof of high school diploma, GED, or equivalent ● Real estate education documentation via official college transcript or course completion certificate ● FBI background check record still valid within 90 days and fingerprint card ● Proof of E&O Insurance

When should I file my license application with the KY Commission?

You only have 60 days after passing the Kentucky State licensing exam to file your license application with the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. After that, you'll need to start the process again.

Can I get a KY salesperson license if I don't work for a broker?

You will need to work for a Kentucky licensed real estate broker in order to receive an active salesperson license. Your licensing application will ask you for the name of a person or company that you will associate with for the business of real estate.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in KY?

An active license says that you have met all of the licensing requirements, that you are in good standing, and that you are authorized to assist and be paid for your work. An inactive license says that you have met the licensing requirements, but you are not currently authorized to assist and be paid for your work.

How do I receive an inactive KY real estate license?

Changing your licensing status requires you to file a License Status And Personal Information Update Form with the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. Inactivating your license will cost $10, and you must renew your license while inactive or it can be canceled.

How do I receive an active Kentucky real estate salesperson license?

You must meet all of the Kentucky licensing requirements and work under the supervision of a Kentucky License broker to receive and maintain an active Kentucky real estate salesperson license.

What are the requirements to apply for a KY real estate license?

You need to complete the pre-license education, submit your fingerprints for a background check, take and pass the state exam, and purchase errors and omissions insurance. Once you have done these steps, you will be ready to apply for your salesperson license.

How do I apply for my Kentucky real estate salesperson license?

You will receive a licensing application at the PSI Testing Center when you pass the state licensing exam. In addition, the Kentucky Real Estate Commission will send you an email within 36-48 hours of passing the exam with online application instructions. You can use either form to apply for your salesperson license.

Can I apply online for the KY real estate salesperson license?

Yes, you can use an online application process for your Kentucky real estate salesperson license. Simply wait 36 to 48 hours in the Kentucky Real Estate Commission will send you an email with instructions for online submission. If you don't receive this email, contact the KREC.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Kentucky

Can I get my KY salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

Kentucky will only grant licenses to people who are trustworthy and deemed competent to transact as a sales associate in a way that is safe to the public.

What offenses would disqualify me from receiving a KY License?

You are more likely to be disqualified for a KY real estate license if your criminal offenses are for violent crimes, felonies, dishonesty, or offenses that would place you on the sex offender registry.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the KY Commission

Your prior criminal activity will be disclosed to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission through the FBI and state criminal history check and on the screening questions included in the sales associate application.

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity to KY Commission?

You personally will disclose your prior criminal history when you submit your sales associate application. The screening questions inquire about your criminal history. You may be asked to submit additional supporting documentation for the Kentucky Real Estate Commission to make a decision about your licensure.

Getting Fingerprinted in Kentucky

Do I need to be fingerprinted in KY to earn a salesperson’s license?

Yes, you must be fingerprinted for a background check as part of the steps for earning a Kentucky salesperson license. You must request a copy of your National and state criminal history before you register for the real estate exam.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Kentucky?

Requesting your fingerprints is a two-step process for Kentucky. You need to contact the FBI and also the Kentucky State Police for your fingerprinting. Visit Uenroll.identogo.com and use the service code 27GJR5 to schedule your appointment.

How long does fingerprinting and a background check take in Kentucky?

It can take several weeks to schedule your fingerprinting appointment and have your criminal history reports generated. However, your national criminal history check will expire 90 days after the report’s date of issuance.

How to Get a Kentucky Real Estate License

How do I get my Kentucky real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your KY Salesperson’s license:
1) Completing 96-Hour KY Pre-license Salesperson Course
2) Submit fingerprints for a background check
3) Apply to take the state exam. Pass the exam.
4) Obtain E&O insurance
5) Submit a sales associate license application

How much does it cost to get my KY salesperson's real estate license?

In total, it can cost as low as $664.25 to earn your Kentucky real estate salesperson license. The fees to earn a license are spread out over the entire process and not paid all upfront.

How long does it take to get my KY real estate license?

Earn your KY salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1. Complete the 96-hour pre-license course online: 3-6 weeks. 2. Schedule and pass the KY state exam: 1-3 weeks. 3. Submit fingerprints for a background check: 1-3 weeks. 4. Purchase E&O insurance. 5. Apply for your license. A time estimate is not available.

What tests do I need to take to get my KY real estate license?

Essentially, you will take two major tests during the process of earning your Kentucky sales associate license. The first is the final exam for the 96-hour pre-license license course. The second will be the Kentucky State licensing exam, which has a national and a state section. You need to pass this to earn a license.

Can I complete the application for a KY salesperson's license online?

Yes, the Kentucky Real Estate Commission does have an online submission process. You will receive an email from the KREC within 36 to 48 hours of passing the state licensing exam with online submission instructions.

Kentucky License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a KY real estate license?

In Kentucky, you must be at least 18 years of age to get a Kentucky real estate salesperson license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my KY real estate license?

Yes, you will need to have a high-school diploma or its equivalent to earn a Kentucky real estate salesperson license.

Can I get a Kentucky real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Yes, Kentucky does not have a state residency requirement to hold a Kentucky real estate license.

Where can I find regulatory information about KY real estate licenses?

Kentucky publishes its rules, regulations, and laws regarding real estate in the state statutes, KRS Chapter 324. The regulations were last updated in 2020. You can find them using this link.

Kentucky Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Kentucky real estate license?

Licensees should log on to the Kentucky DPL eServices to complete their renewal information. Alternatively, you can submit the License Renewal Form to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. You need to include a check or money order made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer for the appropriate renewal fee.

How much does it cost to renew my KY real estate license?

The active license renewal fee if you are covered by the Commission’s Group Policy Errors and Omissions Insurance is $130. If you are an active license renewer but do not have the Commission's Group Policy, the renewal fee is $120. If you are inactive and renewing, the payment is $120.

How often do I have to renew my KY real estate salesperson license?

Your Kentucky real estate salesperson license is good for two years based on a date set by the Commission. Licenses expire on March 31st of a given year.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in KY?

For your initial licensure, you must complete 48 hours of a commission-approved post-license education course that is offered by an accredited institution or a commission-approved real estate school. You must do this within two years of receiving or activating your license.

What are the CE requirements for KY inactive licensees?

While you are on inactive status, you do not need to maintain your continuing education. However, when you want to reactivate your license, you'll need to complete the Kentucky course before your license can be reactivated.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in KY?

All actively licensed agents must complete 12 hours of continuing education during the two-year licensing. You must take at least 6 hours in the first year of licensing, or your license will be automatically canceled. 6 hours must be in real estate law and 6 must be in real estate-related courses approved by the REC.

How do I renew an inactive KY real estate license?

You will need to follow the same process as an active Kentucky real estate licensee. Log on to the Kentucky DPL eServices to complete your renewal information. Alternatively, you can submit the License Renewal Form to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission.

How soon can I renew my KY real estate license?

The licensing renewal window will open on March 1st, and you have until March 31st to complete the renewal process. Go to Kentucky DPL eServices for the fastest way to renew your license.

What happens if I do not renew my KY license on time?

If you are late renewing your license, there is a $200 fine for failure to renew on time. Your license will also automatically revert to expired status. You only have one year to reactivate your license and pay the delinquent fees.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in KY?

Log on to the Kentucky DPL eServices to complete your renewal information. You will need to pay a $200 late fee. If your license has been expired for more than one year, you won't be able to reinstate it. You'll have to go through the licensing process again.

Kentucky Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Kentucky real estate license?

Holding a Kentucky real estate salesperson license allows you to assist with the sale, lease, or management of real estate in Kentucky. You can charge a commission for your work in this regard.

When is a real estate license required in Kentucky?

A real estate license is required anytime you wish to assist with the purchase, sale, lease, or property management of residential or commercial real estate inside the state of Kentucky and be paid a commission for your work.

What must I do in Kentucky if I transfer principal brokers?

When you transfer principal brokers, you need to fill out the Acceptance And Release Form and pay a $10 fee to the Kentucky State Treasurer. On this form, you will be able to unaffiliate from a current principal broker and re-affiliate with a new principal broker. Both must sign the form.

Kentucky Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Kentucky offer reciprocity with other states?

Right now, Kentucky only has reciprocity with Ohio, West Virginia, and Tennessee license holders. As of 2019, the KREC said that it was in negotiations with individual states about reciprocity.

How can I get my KY real estate license through reciprocity?

Licensed Ohio, West Virginia, and Tennessee real estate sales associates can get a license through reciprocity by completing a 40-hour reciprocal license law course, submitting fingerprints for a national criminal record check, and taking the reciprocal license exam.

How can I get my KY license if I'm already licensed in another state?

Kentucky no longer has a policy of license recognition. If you are licensed in another state but that state does not have reciprocity, you will need to follow the same steps as a new sales associate. Kentucky is actively negotiating reciprocity deals, so check with the KREC.

How do I get my KY real estate license if I'm not a KY resident?

Every non-resident has to file an irrevocable consent that states legal actions can be taken against the applicant in the courts of any county in Kentucky. Otherwise, you will need to follow the same steps as a Kentucky resident to pursue your license.

RealEstateU Questions in Kentucky

Is the RealEstateU Kentucky pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 96-hour course for $249 as an online, flexible course.

Scheduling Your Kentucky Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the KY exam without taking the pre-license course?

No, you'll need to take the Kentucky pre-licensing course before you schedule the exam. Part of your registration process is to input a registration code provided by your real estate school. Without this code, you can't register for the state exam.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the KY exam

Kentucky does not put a time limit between when you finish the pre-licensing education and when you can take your exam. However, it's a good idea to schedule your Kentucky licensing exam as soon as possible after finishing the course.

How do I schedule my KY real estate salesperson licensing exam?

Online registration is the fastest and easiest way to schedule your exam. Go to the PSI website. Here you will create an account and enter your pre-license school code to schedule the exam.

How much does the KY real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Kentucky salesperson exam costs $100. You pay the fee directly to psi, which accepts major credit cards for payment.

How do I pay for the KY state licensing exam?

When scheduling the exam, you pay PSI, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card through the online portal. PSI accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. Other registration options ask you to mail a check, money order, or cashier’s check. All payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my KY license exam?

Online registration is the fastest way to book your exam appointment. You can be registered within half an hour by going to the PSI website. The steps ask you to create an account, find an exam appointment and test center near you, and pay the exam fee.

Where can I take the KY real estate licensing exam?

PSI operates testing centers in Bowling Green, Lexington, Louisville, Maysville, Paducah, Somerset, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Knoxville, and Nashville. Find the testing location addresses in the Candidate Handbook or online at the PSI website.

Do I need to take the KY state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

Yes, you will still be taking the state exam in most cases even if you are a real estate license holder in another state. You want to check to see if there is a reciprocity agreement with your particular state and what that means for your licensure process.

How do I change or cancel my KY state exam date?

To change your Kentucky state licensing exam date or cancel altogether, you need to contact PSI at 855-746-8176 at least 48 hours before the scheduled appointment. If you fail to contact PSI before 48 hours, you will forfeit your exam fee.

Taking the Kentucky Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the KY state salesperson licensing exam?

The Kentucky Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section consists of 80 multiple-choice questions. The state section has 50 multiple-choice questions. A passing score is 75% on each section.

What is included on the Kentucky state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the Commission, licensing, brokerage activities, license law of contracts, property management.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the KY State Exam?

You do not need to bring a calculator, but you are allowed to bring one. However, it must be non-programmable, battery-operated, silent, and without alphabetic capabilities.

What am I required to bring with me to the KY state license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the KY State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must fill out the accommodations request form and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Kentucky PSI testing center?

PSI will provide small personal item storage at the test center for items like keys and wallets. However, other personal items like purses, reading material, or electronic devices are prohibited. No food, drink, or chewing gum is allowed in the testing center.

Can I take my KY State Exam if I don't have a principal broker?

Yes, at this stage of the licensing process, you do not have to have been hired by a principal broker to take the state licensing exam.

Do my KY State Exam results expire?

Yes, you have just 60 days to apply for your sales associate license once you have passed both sections of the state licensing exam. If you fail the state exam, you have four months to retake the failed sections.

I just passed my KY real estate exam. What are the next steps?

Your next step is to apply for your sales associate license. You will need to purchase errors and omissions insurance, gather up your documentation and submit the license application as one package to the KREC.

How will the KY Commission know my exam results?

The state testing provider PSI will notify the Kentucky Real Estate Commission that you have passed or failed the exam. If you passed, the KREC will send you an email with license applications directions within 36 to 48 hours.

How many times can I take the KY state salesperson license exam?

You can take the Kentucky State salesperson licensing exam as many times as you need to, but keep in mind you only have four months to pass any failed sections after your first exam. It will cost $100 every time you retake the test, regardless if it is both sections or just one.

How long does it take to get my KY State Exam results?

You will know your Kentucky state licensing exam results as soon as you finish the test. A pass or fail will appear onscreen. You'll also receive an unofficial score report printed out and handed to you.

I failed my KY real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can retake the Kentucky real estate exam, but you must do so within four months of the first time you take the exam. Otherwise, you'll have to take the 96-hour pre-license course again.

How do I retake the KY State Exam if I previously failed?

First, wait 24 hours after your initial test. After that, you can call PSI at 855-746-8176 or go online to your account to set up the retake.

How much does it cost to retake the KY State Exam?

Each time you retake the Kentucky State salesperson licensing exam will cost you $100. That is the fee for one and both sections of the exam.

I failed one portion of the KY exam. Do I have to retake both sections

No, you can just retake the section that you failed. However, you'll still pay the full $100 exam fee.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Kentucky
  • About the 96-Hour Kentucky Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Kentucky Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Kentucky
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Kentucky
  • How to Get a Kentucky Real Estate License
  • Kentucky License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Kentucky Real Estate License Renewal
  • Kentucky Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Kentucky Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Kentucky
  • Scheduling Your Kentucky Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Kentucky Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side