PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Kansas Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Kansas
  • About the 60-Hour Kansas Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Kansas Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Kansas
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Kansas
  • How to Get a Kansas Real Estate License
  • Kansas License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Kansas Real Estate License Renewal
  • Kansas Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Kansas Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Kansas
  • Scheduling Your Kansas Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Kansas Real Estate Licensing Exam

Kansas Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Kansas real estate license, the Kansas real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the KS state exam, how to renew your KS real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 60-Hour Kansas Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get a KS real estate license?

Kansas requires real estate salesperson applicants to have 60 hours of pre-licensing education. Kansas Real Estate Commission breaks these hours into two courses of 30 hours each. The first is the Principles Of Real Estate and the second is the Kansas Practice Course.

How many hours of education are required to get a KS license?

You must take a 60-hour pre-licensing education course. Kansas breaks up its pre-licensing education into two 30-hour courses, the Principles of Real Estate and the Kansas Practice Course.

How can I take the 60-hour KS real estate license course?

You can take the required pre-licensing education as a classroom course or an online course. Remember, an online course offers more flexibility with your schedule and is often more affordable than an in-person classroom course.

Can I take the 60-hour KS real estate license course online?

Yes, Kansas does allow you to take your real estate education through an online course as long as it is from an approved Real Estate School.

Can I take the KS pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

While there are no restrictions against taking the pre-license course while still in high school, you must have a high school diploma to apply for a license. You have to apply for the license within six months of completing the 30-hour Kansas Practice Course.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the KS pre-license course?

No, Kansas does not excuse the pre-license education requirement for receiving a law degree.

Can I use my college credits for the KS pre-license course?

No, Kansas does not have a pathway for college credits to count for the Kansas pre-licensing course.

Does the KS salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, the Kansas pre-licensing courses do have final exams to cap your coursework. You have to pass this final in order to get your certificate of completion. Your course administrator will provide you with more information about the number of questions and the content of the exam.

What to do to earn the KS pre-license course completion certificate?

You will need to work through the entire 60 hours of required pre-licensing education and then pass the final exam at the end of the course.

How many questions are on the KS pre-license course exams?

Kansas requires a minimum of 50 quiz or examination questions for the pre-license courses, but the precise number of questions will vary based on the current section of the course you are taking. Your course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different quizzes and the comprehensive final.

How do I receive my KS Course Completion Certificate?

If you are a RealEstateU student, your course completion certificate will be available to you for download and printing after you pass the exam. Simply log in to your account to find your certificate.

Where can I find approved KS pre-license course providers?

Here is the list of current Kansas approved real estate schools.

How does the KREC know that I have completed the KS pre-license course

As part of your Kansas real estate salesperson application, you must turn in your pre-license course completion certificates dated within the last six months of the application date.

Will my school notify the KREC that I have completed my KS education?

No, your course provider does not notify the Kansas Real Estate Commission that you have completed your required pre-licensing education hours. It is up to you to keep your course completion certificate and to turn it in with your license application.

How long is my KS Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Your course completion certificate is valid for six months after completing the 30-hour Kansas practice course.

Applying for a Kansas Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for a KS real estate license?

To apply for a Kansas real estate salesperson license, you must be at least 18 years of age and have earned a high school diploma or its equivalent. The state requires you to take 60-hours in pre-licensing education, pass a licensing exam, and pass a background check.

How do I apply for my Kansas real estate salesperson license?

Once you pass see Kansas licensing exam, you will need to submit your certificate of completion for the pre-license education, the license application, and a $125 salesperson license fee. Your affiliating license Kansas real estate broker must sign your licensing application.

Can I apply online for the KS real estate salesperson license?

No, Kansas does not have an online application system for Real Estate salespersons. You'll have to use the application materials given to you at the Pearson VUE testing center.

How much is the KS real estate salesperson license application?

The Kansas real estate salesperson licensing fee is $125.

What documents will I need to submit with my KS license application?

You must include with your application the course completion certificate from the Kansas practice course, proof of education, and, if applicable, any supporting documentation regarding past licensing or your character, a non-resident form, and prior certified license history.

When should I file my KS license application with the Commission?

You need to file your salesperson license application before your Kansas practice course completion certificate expires. It is valid for six months from the day you completed the course. File your application as soon as possible.

Can I get a Kansas real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

No, Kansas will not issue a salesperson license to someone not affiliated with a licensed Kansas real estate broker. Your broker must sign your license application. No original licenses will be issued on inactive status.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in KS?

If you have an inactive license, you cannot engage in any real estate brokerage activities. An active license means you can work as a real estate agent, perform real estate brokerage activities, and be compensated for work as a real estate professional.

How do I receive an inactive KS real estate license?

No, Kansas original salesperson licenses will be issued on inactive status. If you are an active licensee seeking an active status, you need to log into My License E-gov and select “affiliation change.”

How do I receive an active Kansas real estate salesperson license?

You receive an active Kansas real estate salesperson license by meeting all of the licensing requirements set by the Kansas Real Estate Commission. This includes working under the supervision of a Kansas licensed real estate broker.

How do I change from an inactive to an active KS license?

To reactivate your Kansas salesperson license, log in to My License E-gov and select reactivation. The reactivation fee is $15, and your continuing education requirements must be met.

What’s the difference between a salesperson and a broker license in KS

A real estate broker takes responsibility for overseeing the conduct of a real estate brokerage business. They can hire employees and operate an independent brokerage. A real estate salesperson works for and is supervised by the managing broker.

Where can I check my KS salesperson license application status?

You can visit the Kansas Real Estate Commission website to run a license search and see your status.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Kansas

Can I get my Kansas salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

If you have been convicted of 4 or more misdemeanors or a felony, you must first be reviewed by the Kansas Real Estate Commission. You need to fill out and submit an offense report form and wait for their determination.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the KS Commission

Anyone who has been convicted of a felony or four or more misdemeanors must submit an Offense Report Form to the Kansas Real Estate Commission before beginning the licensing process. Otherwise, you will declare your prior criminal history during the application process.

When to disclose any prior criminal activity to the KS Commission?

For applicants that have a felony conviction or four or more misdemeanors, you disclose your prior criminal activity before you begin the licensing process. You must fill out and turn in the Offense Report Form to the KREC. They will make a determination on if you will qualify for a license or not.

Getting Fingerprinted in Kansas

Do I need to be fingerprinted in KS to earn a salesperson’s license?

Yes, Kansas does require real estate salesperson applicants to be fingerprinted and to order a background check. Your background check results are only good for 180 days, so time your fingerprinting and background check with your license application submission.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Kansas?

Fingerprinting must be done by a state-authorized vendor or by a local police or law enforcement agency. You will need to fill out the payment authorization form and the waiver agreement. Fingerprinting will cost $60 for the criminal history record check and $15 for the application fee.

How long does fingerprinting and a background check take in Kansas?

It could take one to three weeks to set up the fingerprinting appointment. The Kansas Real Estate Commission does not state how long it takes to process the fingerprinting and background check. Once it is received, it is only good for 180 days.

How to Get a Kansas Real Estate License

How do I get my Kansas real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your KS Salesperson’s license: 1) Completing 60-Hour KS Pre-license Salesperson Course 2) Pass the KS salesperson state exam 3) Submit fingerprints for a background check 4) Affiliate with a KS Broker 5) Submit a salesperson license application with verifying paperwork

How much does it cost to get my KS salesperson's real estate license?

Here are the costs associated with obtaining your Kansas real estate salesperson license. 60-hour salesperson pre-license course: $149 State Exam Fee: $82 Fingerprint Fee: $75 License Application Fee: $125 Total Estimated Cost: $431 These costs are spread out over the entire licensing process and not paid all upfront.

How long does it take to get my KS real estate license?

Earn your KS salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1) Complete the 60-hour pre-license course online: 2-4 weeks. 2)Schedule and pass the KS state exam: 1-3 weeks. 3)Submit fingerprints for a background check: 1-3 weeks. 4)Be hired by a KS Broker: 1-3 months 5)Apply for your license. A time estimate is not available.

What tests do I need to take to get my KS real estate license?

There are two primary tests that you will take in the process of getting your Kansas real estate salesperson license. The first will be the final exam of your Kansas 60-hour pre-licensing course. You have to pass this final to earn your certificate of completion. The second major test is the state licensing exam.

Can I complete the application for a KS salesperson's license online?

No, Kansas does not have an online application process. The testing vendor Pearson VUE will give you license application documents once you pass the exam. These documents are what you must turn in for your licensing.

Kansas License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a KS real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age before you can earn a Kansas real estate salesperson license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my KS real estate license?

Yes, the Kansas Real Estate Commission requires all salesperson applicants to have earned a high school diploma or its equivalent before applying for the license.

Can I get a Kansas real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Kansas does not have a state residency requirement for earning a salesperson license. So you can get a Kansas real estate license even if you do not live inside the state.

Where can I find regulatory information about KS real estate licenses?

You can find the Kansas Real Estate Commission Statute Book on the real estate commission website. It also lists and links to the relevant chapters of the Real Estate Transactions Act and the Rules And Regulations of the Kansas Real Estate Commission.

Kansas Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Kansas real estate license?

When it is time to renew your Kansas salesperson license, you will use the My License E-gov portal. Select “renew license” from the navigation menu and follow all the instructions. The fee will be $125.

How much does it cost to renew my KS real estate license?

The fee to renew a Kansas real estate salesperson license is $125.

How often do I have to renew my KS real estate salesperson license?

Your Kansas real estate salesperson license is good for two years. You can log on to My License E-gov portal to find your renewal date.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in KS?

Any active Kansas salesperson license holder must take 12 hours of continuing education every two years. Three of these 12 hours are in the Kansas mandatory course.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in KS?

There are no continuing education requirements for inactive salesperson license holders, but you need to meet the 12 hours to reactivate your license when you are ready. Depending on how long your status is inactive, there could be additional education requirements. An inactive license will expire if it is not renewed.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in KS?

All active license holders must take 12 hours of continuing education during the two-year cycle. Three of these hours must be in the approved course titled “Kansas Required Core.”

How do I renew an inactive KS real estate license?

You can log on to My License E-gov portal, select “renew license,” and follow the instructions.

What happens if I do not renew my KS license on time?

If you fail to complete all of your renewal requirements or do not renew on time, you must stop performing licensed activities when your current license expires. You will need to meet your continuing education requirements and apply to reactivate your license.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in KS?

Log into the My License E-gov portal. If you have been inactive for less than two years and you renewed it without all 12 required continuing education hours, they must be completed before you reactivate.

Kansas Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Kansas real estate license?

Holding a Kansas real estate salesperson license enables you to work under the supervision of a licensed real estate broker. You can assist clients with the purchase, sale, lease, or management of real property.

When is a real estate license required in Kansas?

A real estate license is required anytime you wish to assist with the purchase, sale, lease, or management of real property and be compensated for your work.

What must I do in KS if I transfer employing brokers?

Anytime you change supervising Brokers or your company affiliation, you need to log into Mylicense E-gov and select affiliation change. There is a $15 fee to activate an affiliation with a new company.

Kansas Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Kansas offer reciprocity with other states?

Kansas does not offer reciprocity with other states, but it will accept your license to waive some pre-licensing education and the national portion of the state licensing exam.

How can I get my KS real estate license through reciprocity?

Kansas does not offer reciprocity, but it will forgive some of the pre-license education and the national portion of the state licensing exam.

How can I get my KS license if I'm already licensed in another state?

Salespersons that hold an active license in another state will need to take the 30-hour pre-licensing course called the Kansas Practice Course. When it comes time to take the state licensing exam, file a client exam waiver to Pearson VUE after creating your account.

How do I get my KS real estate license if I'm not a KS resident?

Any non-resident seeking a Kansas salesperson license has to follow all the same steps as a state resident. In addition, when you go to submit your license application documents, you must turn in a non-resident form.

RealEstateU Questions in Kansas

Is the RealEstateU Kansas pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 60-hour course for $149.

Scheduling Your Kansas Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the Kansas exam without taking the pre-license course?

Taking the pre-license course will prepare you for the state licensing exam. You need to bring your course completion certificate to the testing center to show that you have met the pre-licensing education requirement.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the KS exam

Your course completion certificate is only valid for six months, so you want to schedule the Kansas salesperson licensing exam as soon as possible in case you need any retakes.

How do I schedule my KS real estate salesperson licensing exam?

PearsonVUE administers the Kansas salesperson licensing exam. Schedule an exam online at www.pearsonvue.com. You must register at least 24 hours before your desired test date. You can also schedule over the telephone by calling (800) 274-4971.

How much does the KS real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Kansas salesperson licensing exam fee for any first-time test-taker is $82 paid directly to Pearson VUE using a credit card, debit card, voucher, or check. Any retakes will cost $75.

How do I pay for the KS state licensing exam?

You will directly Pearson VUE, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card. PearsonVUE accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover cards, debit cards, vouchers, and checks. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my KS license exam?

Simply go to www.Pearsonvue.com at least 24 hours before your preferred testing and create an account. You will be able to search for testing centers, select your testing day, and pay for the exam. The whole process can take less than an hour.

Where can I take the KS real estate licensing exam?

Pearson VUE offers testing locations in Hayes, Overland Park, Topeka, Wichita, and Kansas City. It also has occasional testing locations in Salina, Pittsburgh, Emporia, Fort Riley, and Garden City. You can search online for the testing center nearest you or look at the Candidate Handbook.

Do I need to take the KS state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

Yes, you still need to take the state exam if you are licensed in another state, but you can apply for a client exam waiver to exempt you from the national portion of the state licensing exam.

How do I change or cancel my Kansas state exam date?

Any modifications to your Kansas licensing exam appointment must be done a minimum of 48 hours in advance. You will need to call Pearson VUE at 1-800-274-4971.

Taking the Kansas Real Estate Licensing Exam

I just passed my KS real estate exam. What are the next steps?

Congratulations on passing the Kansas salesperson licensing exam. You need to be hired by a licensed broker. Next, file your license application as soon as possible. Some supporting documentation is only valid for six months, such as your background check and your Kansas Practice Course completion certificate.

How will the Commission know my KS exam results?

You are required to turn in your official score report with your license application.

How many times can I take the KS state salesperson license exam?

There is not a limit to the number of times you can take that Kansas salesperson license exam, but there is a time limit. You must pass the exam within six months of your first exam attempt.

How long does it take to get my KS State Exam results?

You will get your Kansas salesperson real estate licensing exam results before you leave the test center. If you pass the test, you also receive license application materials.

I failed my KS real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can retake the Kansas real estate salesperson exam. You must pass both sections of the exam within six months of your first test date. You will need to pay a $75 retake fee.

How do I retake the KS State Exam if I previously failed?

Wait 24 hours after your testing attempt. Then you can log in to www.Pearsonvue.com or call Pearson VUE at 800-274-4971 to reschedule the exam.

How much does it cost to retake the KS State Exam?

Each time you retake the Kansas State licensing exam will cost $75.

I failed one portion of the KS exam. Do I have to retake both sections

No, you can just retake the portion of the exam that you failed. Keep in mind that you have to pass both sections of the exam within six months of your first testing attempt.

How many questions are on the KS state salesperson licensing exam?

The Kansas Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions, and the State section will ask 30 multiple-choice questions.

What is included on the Kansas state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the Commission, licensing, regulatory requirements, prohibited acts, and brokerage relationships

What am I required to bring with me to the KS state license exam?

You will need to bring your course completion certificates and (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the KS State Exam?

Yes, all PearsonVUE examination sites will provide accommodations following the Americans with Disability Act (ADA). Visit Pearson VUE and its test accommodations webpage to request testing accommodations. Be prepared to supply medical supporting documentation for the request.

What are the exam policies at the Kansas Pearson VUE testing center?

Pearson VUE takes exam security very seriously. All personal belongings are supposed to be placed in secure storage or in your vehicle. No food, drink, chewing gum, and smoking is not permitted in the test center. You do not get extra time for using the restroom.

Can I take my KS State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

You don't need to have been hired by a state-licensed real estate broker in order to take the state licensing exam. You will need to be hired relatively soon after passing the exam.

Do my KS State Exam results expire?

Yes, you have just six months after passing the exam to submit your license application, fees, and supporting documents to the Kansas Real Estate Commission.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the KS State Exam?

You do not need to bring a calculator to the state licensing exam. Pearson VUE will provide you with one if necessary.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Kansas
  • About the 60-Hour Kansas Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Kansas Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Kansas
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Kansas
  • How to Get a Kansas Real Estate License
  • Kansas License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Kansas Real Estate License Renewal
  • Kansas Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Kansas Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • RealEstateU Questions in Kansas
  • Scheduling Your Kansas Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Kansas Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side