PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Hawaii Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Hawaii
  • About the 60-Hour Hawaii Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Hawaii Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Hawaii
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Hawaii
  • Hawaii License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Hawaii Real Estate License Renewal
  • Hawaii Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Hawaii Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • How to Get a Hawaii Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Hawaii
  • Scheduling Your Hawaii Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Hawaii Real Estate Licensing Exam

Hawaii Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Hawaii real estate license, the Hawaii real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the HI state exam, how to renew your HI real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 60-Hour Hawaii Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get a HI salesperson license?

If you do not meet Hawaii's education requirement, then you will need to take a 60-hour pre-licensing course from an approved state vendor.

How many hours of education are required to get a HI license?

You are required to take 60 hours of pre-licensing education from a state-approved vendor. Taking a course from a state-approved school is faster and more affordable than pursuing a bachelor's degree in real estate.

How can I take the 60-hour HI real estate license course?

Hawaii permits you to take the 60-hour pre-licensing course as an in-person learning program or an online course as long as it is with a state-approved school. The online option is the least expensive and fastest way to meet the state's education requirements.

Can I take the 60-hour HI real estate license course online?

Absolutely! Hawaii permits you to take the 60-hour pre-licensing course and an online course as long as it is through an approved vendor. An online course is faster and more affordable than pursuing a four-year degree in real estate.

Can I take the HI pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

While you can take the 60-hour pre-licensing course while you are still in high school, you will not be able to sit for the state licensing exam until you have a high school diploma or its equivalent. Your course completion certificate is good for two years.

Can I use my law degree credits for the HI pre-license course?

Yes, the state of Hawaii does allow United States law school graduates to use their coursework as the equivalent of the 60-hour pre-licensing education.

Can I use my college credits for the HI pre-license course?

Yes, Hawaii does accept college credits for the 60-hour pre-licensing course as long as you have received a Bachelor of Arts or a Bachelor of Science in Real Estate or Business from an accredited college or university in the United States. You'll need to submit a copy of your college transcripts.

Does the HI salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, the 60-hour pre-licensing course is capped with a comprehensive final exam. You must pass this exam to earn your course completion certificate. Your course provider will tell you more about the length and content of the exam.

What to do to earn the HI pre-license course completion certificate?

To earn your 60-hour pre-license course completion certificate, you must pass the final exam. Your course certificate will be valid for two years. RealEstateU students will find the course certificate by logging into their account after taking the final exam.

How many questions are on the HI pre-license course exams?

The exact number of questions on your pre-license course quizzes and exams varies based on the current section of the course. The course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different quizzes and the final exam.

How do I receive my HI Course Completion Certificate?

RealEstateU students will find the course completion certificate by logging into their account after taking the final exam. Remember, the certificate is valid for up to two years.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in HI?

Here you will find the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs- Real Estate Branch approved education providers.

How does the HREC know that I have completed the pre-license course?

You will be unable to schedule and take the Hawaii state salesperson licensing exam without providing proof that you have completed the pre-license education requirement. You'll need to bring the course completion certificate with you to the exam site. You also need to turn this in with your licensing application.

Will my school notify the HREC that I have completed my education?

The school does not notify the Hawaii Real Estate Branch that you have completed your pre-licensing education. It'll be up to you to provide the proof for your state licensing exam and through your license application.

How long is my HI Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Your Hawaii 60-hour pre-licensing course completion certificate is valid for two years from the date you pass the final exam.

Applying for a Hawaii Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for a HI real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age and have earned a high school diploma or its equivalent. Meet the state's education requirement, such as taking 60 hours of pre-licensing education from a state-certified school. Finally, pass the state licensing exam to receive your licensing application.

How do I apply for my Hawaii real estate salesperson license?

When you successfully pass the state licensing exam, you receive the Hawaii real estate salesperson license application at the PSI Testing Center. You'll need to use this application and its instructions to submit your license application within two years of passing the exam. Hawaii uses a paper application process.

Can I apply online for the HI real estate salesperson license?

No, the Hawaii Department of Consumer and commerce Affairs, Real Estate Commission, does not have an online application process at this time. You'll need to use the application handed to you at the PSI Testing Center when you pass the exam.

How much is the HI real estate salesperson license application?

Your license application fee varies depending on when in Hawaii's licensing cycle you submit your application. Your licensing exam score report will have the specific licensing fee but you will need to pay. You could pay up to $293 for a Hawaii real estate salesperson license.

What documents will I need to submit with my HI license application?

Make sure to include with your licensing application your pre-licensing education certificate or the education equivalency certificate. You may also need background documentation regarding any criminal convictions.

When should I file my license application with the HI Commission?

It is recommended that you file your license application as soon as you can after completing your state licensing exam. The sooner you get your license application into the Commission, the quicker your application will be approved and you can begin working as a licensed real estate salesperson.

Can I get an HI salesperson license if I don't work for a broker?

All Hawaii license real estate salespersons must work under the supervision of a managing broker. You need to identify a broker as part of the licensing process.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in HI?

Active real estate licenses say that you have been all of the state's licensing requirements, are authorized to assist with real estate transactions, and can be paid for your work. Inactive means you've met the requirements but you cannot assist with transactions or be compensated.

How do I receive an inactive HI real estate license?

Start by downloading the license change form. You'll need to fill out the fields and select “Place License Inactive.” Follow all of the instructions and make sure you have your principal broker or broker-in-charge’s signature. Turn in the original to the Hawaii Real Estate Commission.

How do I receive an active Hawaii real estate salesperson license?

You receive an active Hawaii real estate salesperson's license by meeting all of the license requirements and working under the supervision of a Hawaii licensed broker. It's up to you to keep your license in good standing.

How do I change from an inactive to an active HI license?

Reactivating your HI salesperson license required you to download the change form. Follow all the instructions and fill out the fields. You will check the box “Reactivate License.” If you have been inactive for one or more renewal periods, you must meet the continuing education hours. The fee for reactivation is $25.

What’s the difference between a salesperson and a broker license in HI

While both licenses enable you to work in the real estate industry, A salesperson license means you must work under the supervision of a broker. A broker's license enables you to open up an independent business and hire employees to assist you with the real estate business.

How do I get a paper copy of my HI real estate salesperson license?

Printable Hawaii real estate salesperson license certificates are available at no cost and can be downloaded online by using the MyPVL website.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Hawaii

Can I get my Hawaii salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

The Hawaii Real Estate Commission is more likely to deny your license application if you have a criminal conviction such as a felony, misdemeanor, or court-martial, including convictions for DUI, drug abuse, tax liens, unpaid judgments, disciplinary action for licensing, or are currently serving parole or probation.

What offenses would disqualify me to receive a HI Salesperson License?

Felony convictions can disqualify you from receiving in Hawaii salesperson license. The HREC also does not look favorably on misdemeanor, court-martial, and convictions for DUI, drug abuse, unpaid judgments, tax liens, disciplinary action against the professional license, or if you are currently on parole or probation.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the HI Commission

If you are uncertain at all about how your criminal history could impact your potential real estate license, start by requesting a preliminary judgment from the Hawaii Real Estate Commission. You will disclose your criminal history at this time and also again on your license application.

When to disclose any prior criminal activity to the HI Commission?

The official disclosure of any prior criminal activity occurs when you submit your license application. You can request a preliminary judgment from the Hawaii Real Estate Commission before you start the licensing process if you have concerns your application would be denied.

Getting Fingerprinted in Hawaii

Do I need to be fingerprinted in HI to earn a salesperson’s license?

No, you don’t need to be fingerprinted to apply for your Hawaii real estate salesperson license.

Hawaii License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a HI real estate license?

In Hawaii, you must be at least 18 years old by the date of your licensing exam to get a real estate salesperson license. Note that this date will be well before you apply for your actual license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my HI real estate license?

Yes, you must have a high school diploma or its equivalent by the date you take the state licensing exam. Please note that this date as well before you apply for the actual license.

Can I get a Hawaii real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

You can have a Hawaii real estate license if you are not a state resident as long as you are a US citizen or an alien authorized to work in the United States by the licensing exam date.

Hawaii Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Hawaii real estate license?

Active real estate licensees will be able to renew their licenses using the online renewal system. You will receive information and instructions In October of an even-numbered year. Log on to www.myPVL.com to complete the licensing renewal.

How much does it cost to renew my HI real estate license?

The license renewal fee for a Hawaii salesperson real estate license is $268.

How often do I have to renew my HI real estate salesperson license?

Hawaii salesperson real estate licenses are valid for two years. All licenses renew on January of an odd-numbered year (2021, 2023, etc.) and expire on December 31 of the even-numbered year (2020, 2022, etc.).

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in Hawaii?

It depends on when in the licensing cycle you received your initial license. If you receive your license in the odd-numbered year, you must meet the continuing education requirements of 20 hours. if you earned your license in an even-numbered year, you are deemed to have met your continuing education requirement.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in HI?

All active Hawaii real estate salespersons must take 20 hours of continuing education within the two years preceding the licensing renewal. You must take two mandatory courses, part A and B, which are three hours each. The remaining 14 hours are elective credit hours.

How do I renew an inactive HI real estate license?

You must follow the same steps as an active real estate licensee. Your license will expire on December 31 of each even-numbered year. You still need to submit a renewal application.

How soon can I renew my HI real estate license?

The Hawaii Real Estate Branch will notify you when the licensing renewal online portal is open and available for you to submit your application. All applications must be turned in by November 30 of the even-numbered year.

What happens if I do not renew my HI license on time?

You may have to stop all real estate licensing activity until you are properly licensed. If your license is not renewed by January 1, and your license is forfeited, you have one year to submit a restoration memorandum, pay the required fees, penalties, and submit the required documents.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in HI?

It depends on how long your license has been expired. If it's been expired less than a year, you'll need to submit proof of meeting the continuing education requirements and turn in a restoration memorandum. There are additional requirements if your license has been expired greater than a year.

Hawaii Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Hawaii real estate license?

Holding a Hawaii real estate salesperson license enables you to assist clients with the sale, purchase, or property management of Hawaii real estate And be paid for your work.

When is a real estate license required in Hawaii?

A real estate license is required anytime you assist someone with the sale, purchase, lease, or property management of Hawaii real estate and seek payment for your work. You do not need a license to represent yourself in a real estate transaction.

What must I do in HI if I transfer employing brokers?

You need to notify the Real Estate Commission of the change. Download the change form, select “Change Broker,” and submit it to the Real Estate Commission. The fee is $10.

Hawaii Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Hawaii offer reciprocity with other states?

No, Hawaii does not offer reciprocity with any other state. However, you can qualify for an equivalency to the pre-license education requirement or the equivalency to the uniform examination.

How can I get my HI license if I'm already licensed in another state?

If you hold a real estate salesperson license in another state, you could qualify for the Equivalency To The Pre-license Education requirement or Equivalency To The Uniform Examination. You’ll need to apply for these from the Hawaii Real Estate Commission.

How do I get my HI real estate license if I'm not a HI resident?

You do not have to be a Hawaii resident to earn a real estate salesperson license. You need to follow all of the same steps as a resident licensee.

How to Get a Hawaii Real Estate License

Can I complete the application for a HI salesperson's license online?

No, Hawaii uses a paper application process. This is because you will receive your license application in person immediately upon successfully passing the state licensing exam. Hawaii personalizes the license application fees.

How do I get my Hawaii real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your HI Salesperson’s license:
1) Show proof of education, such as completing 60-Hour HI Pre-license Salesperson Course 2) Apply to take the HI salesperson state exam 3) Pass the licensing exam 4) Submit a salesperson license application with verifying paperwork

How much does it cost to get my HI salesperson's real estate license?

In total, it can cost approximately $703 to earn your Hawaii real estate salesperson license. These costs are spread out over the entire licensing process and not paid all upfront. The fees also vary depending on when you apply for the license.

How long does it take to get my HI real estate license?

Earn your HI salesperson license in approx. 2 months.
1) Complete the 60-hour pre-license course online: 2-4 weeks.
2) Schedule and pass the HI state exam: 1-3 weeks.
3) Apply for your license. Time your application submission well before the next HREC meeting. 2-8 weeks.

What tests do I need to take to get my HI real estate license?

You will primarily take to test during the process of earning your Hawaiian license. The first is the final exam during the 60-hour pre-licensing course. The second is the state licensing exam, which consists of a national and state section. You need to pass both of these to continue to the next step in the process.

RealEstateU Questions in Hawaii

Is the RealEstateU Hawaii pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 60-hour course for $349.

Scheduling Your Hawaii Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the Hawaii exam without taking the pre-license course?

No, you cannot schedule the Hawaii exam without taking the pre-license course. You will need to have a course completion certificate or the pre-licensing education equivalency certificate. You will need to present these at the testing center or you will be unable to take the exam.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the HI exam

Your pre-license course completion certificate or your pre-licensing education equivalency certificate is good for two years. You will want to schedule your salesperson exam before your two-year date expires.

How do I schedule my HI real estate salesperson licensing exam?

The easiest and fastest way to schedule your salesperson licensing exam is to visit the PSI website to make an online reservation. All exams must be scheduled at least 24 hours in advance. Alternatively, you can call 855-579-4640 to schedule your exam. You will need to create an account and pay the exam fee of $61.

How much does the HI real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Hawaii real estate salesperson licensing exam costs $61 each time you take it. Testing vendor PSI accepts major credit cards.

How do I pay for the HI state licensing exam?

You will directly pay PSI, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card. PSI accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. All payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my HI license exam?

Registering online at www.PSIexams.com is the easiest and fastest way to register and schedule your Hawaiian real estate salesperson license exam. You can create an account within 30 minutes and be registered for the exam within an hour.

Where can I take the HI real estate licensing exam?

PSI operates examination sites in Hawaii at Honokaa, Honolulu, Kahului, Lihue. You can also submit an out-of-state request form found in the PSI Candidate Handbook to take the test on the mainland.

Do I need to take the HI state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

Yes, all license holders still need to take the state exam even if licensed in another state. Hawaii does not have reciprocity with any state. You can apply for Equivalency To The Uniform Section of the examination that enables you to skip the national section of the exam.

How do I change or cancel my HI state exam date?

To update your Hawaii real estate state licensing exam appointment, either log in to the PSI website or call PSI and directly speak to a customer service representative. You can call PSI at 855-579-4640.

Taking the Hawaii Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the HI state salesperson licensing exam?

The Hawaii Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section asks 80 multiple-choice questions. The State section asks 50 multiple-choice questions. A passing score is at least 70% answered correctly.

What is included on the Hawaii state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about professional practices in contact, contracts, land utilization, property management, and more.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the HI State Exam?

No, you do not need to bring a calculator to the Hawaii state licensing exam. You will have access to an online calculator.

What am I required to bring with me to the HI state license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification and your course completion certificate. One ID must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the HI State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications per the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must go to the PSI website and submit an accommodations request form with documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Hawaii PSI testing center?

Smoking, eating, and drinking are not permitted in the exam room. Any personal belongings like wallets, keys, and small purses must be placed in secure storage. No electronic devices are permitted in the exam room.

Can I take my HI State Exam if I don't have an employing broker?

Yes, you can take the Hawaii state real estate exam if you have not been hired by an employing broker.

Do my HI State Real Estate Exam results expire?

Yes! Your exam results are only valid for two years. You are given the license application after passing the state exam.

I just passed my HI real estate exam. What comes next?

You will receive your license application at the test center. You have two years to submit this application to the Hawaii real estate branch. With your application, you'll need to submit your original pre-license education equivalency certificate or the course completion certificate from your real estate school.

How many times can I take the HI state salesperson license exam?

You can take the Hawaii real estate license exam an unlimited number of times as long as you do it within the two years stated on your course completion certificate date. You do need to wait 24 hours before rescheduling any exam.

How long does it take to get my HI State Exam results?

The good news is you will know your exam results as soon as you finish the exam. The score will display on your testing screen, and the testing report will be emailed to you. You also walk away with a printed score report and your license application.

I failed my HI real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can retake the Hawaii real estate salesperson licensing exam an unlimited number of times as long as you do so within the two years on your pre-licensing course completion certificate date.

How do I retake the HI State Exam if I previously failed?

You need to wait 24 hours before rescheduling any exam. Once that time is past, scheduling your retake is the same as scheduling the original test. Either go online to www.psiexams.com and log in to your account or call PSI at 855-579-4640. You need to pay the $61 exam fee again.

How much does it cost to retake the HI State Exam?

Each attempt of the Hawaii real estate licensing exam costs $61.

I failed one portion of the HI exam. Do I have to retake both sections

No, you can just retake the failed portion of the licensing exam. However, the exam fee is still $61.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Hawaii
  • About the 60-Hour Hawaii Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Hawaii Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Hawaii
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Hawaii
  • Hawaii License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Hawaii Real Estate License Renewal
  • Hawaii Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Hawaii Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • How to Get a Hawaii Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Hawaii
  • Scheduling Your Hawaii Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Hawaii Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side