PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Delaware Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Delaware
  • About the 99-Hour Delaware Real Estate salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Delaware Real Estate License
  • Delaware License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Delaware Real Estate License Renewal
  • Delaware Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Delaware Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Delaware
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Delaware
  • How to Get a Delaware Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Delaware
  • Scheduling Your Delaware Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Delaware Real Estate Licensing Exam

Delaware Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Delaware real estate license, the Delaware real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the DE state exam, how to renew your DE real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 99-Hour Delaware Real Estate salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get a DE real estate license?

All new salesperson candidates begin with a 99-hour salesperson pre-license course broken into 3 major sections. The topic and hour breakdowns are: ●Real Estate Orientation (3 hours) ●Real Estate Sales (36 hours) ●Real Estate Law (33 hours) ●Real Estate Mathematics (24 hours ●Review for Sales, Law, Mathematics (3 hours

How many hours of education are required to get a DE license?

All salesperson applicants must take a 99-hour salesperson pre-license course intended to provide the essential background for real estate work in Delaware. A state-approved education provider must administer the course. The course will consist of 36 hours in sales, 33 hours and law, and 24 hours in mathematics.

How can I take the 99-hour DE real estate license course?

You can meet the pre-license education requirements by taking the course in person or online. Many students choose the online course option because it is more flexible with their schedules. It can be more affordable than a live classroom course. However you decide to take it, it must be with a state-approved provider.

Can I take the 99-hour DE real estate license course online?

Yes, you can take Delaware's 99-hour pre-license course as an online, remote learning format. Online learning is often more convenient and enables you to finish the course faster than live learning. Take the course with a state-approved provider.

Can I apply my law degree to the DE pre-license education?

Delaware does not recognize practicing attorneys or law student education as an exemption for the 99 hours of pre-license education.

Can I apply college credits to the DE pre-license course?

Delaware's Department of Professional Licensing will not apply any college credits towards the required 99 hours of pre-license education.

Does the DE salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

You will take a test at the end of the three major sections: sales, law, and mathematics. You must pass each of these exams with at least a 70% score. You can only retake the exam once.

What to do to earn the DE pre-license course completion certificate?

You must successfully work through all 99 hours of your pre-license course. You must also pass the final exam for each section of the course. That is an exam in real estate sales, law, and mathematics. A passing score is a minimum of 70%.

How many questions are on the DE pre-license course exams?

The exact number of questions on your pre-license course exams will vary based on the current section of the course you are taking. Your course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different exams and the comprehensive final.

How will I receive the DE Course Completion Certificate?

RealEstateU students will find the Delaware course completion certificate available in their account as soon as they have passed all three exams. All you need to do is log into your account, and then you will find it available in your course settings.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in DE?

The Delaware Department of Professional Licensing publishes this list of state-approved education providers.

How does the DDPL know I have completed the pre-license course?

Your responsibility is to submit a pre-license course completion certificate with your salesperson license application. Proof of education is a requirement for receiving your real estate license.

Will my school notify the DDPL that I completed the education?

No, it is your responsibility to keep your course completion certificate from your pre-license education provider. You'll need to turn in this certificate with your salesperson license application.

How long is my DE Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Delaware's Department of Professional Licensing does not state an expiration date for your course completion certificates.

Applying for a Delaware Real Estate License

Can I get a DE real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

No. Your application requires a Statement of Broker of Record signed by the broker of record for the office you will work under. Your license application won't be approved until you show a Delaware licensed broker will supervise you.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in DE?

An active license means you are licensed to perform real estate brokerage activities and be compensated for your work. If you have an inactive license, you cannot engage in any real estate brokerage activities or earn any commission for your work.

How do I receive an inactive DE real estate license?

An active licensee can change to inactive status for an unlimited amount of time. You need to log into your DELPROS account and follow the steps to change your license to inactive. The inactive license status change request is $45.

How do I receive an active Delaware real estate salesperson license?

Active Delaware real estate salespersons have passed the state licensing exam, met the basic licensing requirements, taken the required education, and been hired by a Delaware licensed broker. They maintain their continuing education and renew their license on time.

How do I change from an inactive to an active DE license?

When you are ready to resume an active salesperson license, you can reactivate by notifying the Commission that you intend to reactivate your license. You'll need to satisfy the continuing education requirements for every renewal period your license was inactive and pay the biennial registration fees.

What's the difference between a DE salesperson- and a broker license?

A Delaware broker license lets you open up an independent real estate business and hire employees to work under your supervision. You are authorized to run the day-to-day operations of a brokerage organization. A salesperson license authorizes you to work under the supervision of a licensed broker.

Where can I check my DE salesperson license application status?

You can log on to your DELPROS account to see your salesperson license application status.

How do I get a paper copy of my DE real estate salesperson license?

Any downloadable and printable licenses will be available through the Department of Professional Licensing online system.

What are the requirements to apply for a DE real estate license?

Before you can submit your Delaware real estate salesperson license application, you must first take 99 hours of pre-license education, pass the state licensing exam, and be at least 18 years of age. A Delaware licensed broker will need to hire you.

How do I apply for my Delaware real estate salesperson license?

Delaware's Department of Professional Licensing only accepts online license applications. You must create a DELPROS account. When you go to the website, click on the "register" button to start an account for new users. Existing users can enter log-in information on the right.

How much is the DE real estate salesperson license application?

Your initial salesperson application fee will be $131. You will pay this online using a credit or debit card in the DELPROS system.

What documents will I need to submit with my DE license application?

Be prepared to upload documentation showing your pre-license course completion certificate and your original exam score report from Pearson VUE. You will also need to include the statement of Broker Of Record signed by your hiring broker and any legal documents showing a name change, if necessary.

When should I file my DE license application with the DPL?

You will want to file the license application as soon as possible after being hired by a broker. Once you start the license application, the DELPROS system will save only six months. Plan to finish the process within that time frame.

Delaware License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a DE real estate license?

Delaware's licensing board requires real estate salesperson applicants to be at least 18 years of age.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my DE real estate license?

Delaware's licensing requirements do not stipulate general education requirements for salesperson applicants.

Can I get a Delaware real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Delaware does not have a state residency requirement for earning a real estate license.

Where can I find regulatory information about DE real estate licenses?

You can find the laws and statutes related to real estate in Delaware online at the Delaware Code Online, Title 24, chapter 29, Real Estate Services, Brokers, Associate Brokers, and Salespersons. Other applicable rules and regulations are under the Division of Professional Regulation, Title 24, Real Estate Commission.

Delaware Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Delaware real estate license?

You will submit an online renewal application in DELPROS, Delaware's Department of Professional Licensing online professional licensure system. You need to log in to your account, answer several questions, and use a credit card to pay the renewal fee.

How much does it cost to renew my DE real estate license?

A Delaware salesperson license renewal fee is $197. If you renew late, you will have to pay an additional 50% of the renewal fee.

How often do I have to renew my DE real estate salesperson license?

Your Delaware real estate salesperson license is good for two years. Licenses Renew on April 30 of all even-numbered years, like 2022, 2024, etc.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in DE?

Inactive license holders do not need to keep up with continuing education until they decide to resume active status. At that point, you will need to make up your continuing education hours.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in DE?

The DREC publishes a chart showing how many education hours to complete for the first renewal, depending on when you received your license. In addition, you must complete four Newly Licensed Salesperson modules within the first year of being licensed.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in DE?

Currently active real estate professionals will need to complete 21 hours of continuing education between May 1 and April 30 of even number years. The courses you take must be based on the module course content published by the Delaware Real Estate Commission.

How do I renew an inactive DE real estate license?

To maintain an inactive real estate license, you must renew it in the DELPROS system before the April 30 expiration date. Renewal keeps your license in inactive status for two more years. No CE is required at the time of renewal. You are not allowed to practice in Delaware while your license is inactive.

How soon can I renew my DE real estate license?

The Delaware Department of Professional Licensing will email a notice to you a few months before expiration. It will have information about the renewal. Make sure you keep your email contact updated in the DELPROS system.

What happens if I do not renew my DE license on time?

Your license expires if you don't renew by April 30 of an even-numbered year. You will not be able to practice real estate in Delaware. You can file a late renewal application for up to 60 days and pay the late fee. This late renewal is not a "grace period."

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in DE?

You may file a late license renewal application up to 60 days after the expiration date in DELPROS. You must pay a late fee in addition to the renewal fee that is 50% of the renewal fee. If you don't renew by the end of the 60-day late renewal period, your salesperson license will no longer be renewable.

Delaware Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Delaware real estate license?

A Delaware real estate salesperson license legally enables you to earn a commission or other compensation, or the expectation of a commission, for representing sellers and buyers in the selling, purchasing, listing, exchange, or leasing of any real property, real estate improvement, or timeshare.

When is a real estate license required in Delaware?

A real estate salesperson license is required when you want to represent a buyer or seller in a real estate transaction and earn a commission or compensation for the services.

What must I do in DE if I transfer employing brokers?

You will need to have two different forms filled out. You'll need a statement of employing broker of record for the office that you are transferring to. You will also need a statement of current broker of record, which is completed by the office you are leaving. The change fee is $25 per event.

Delaware Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

How can I get my DE real estate license through reciprocity?

Refer to the full list of specific reciprocity requirements. You must have an active and current license in another jurisdiction. You need to take the Delaware law portion of the salesperson exam. Include a certificate of license history showing you have been licensed continuously for the past three years.

How can I earn a DE real estate license if I'm not a DE resident?

Any one seeking a Delaware real estate license that is a non-resident needs to follow the same licensing process as a Delaware state resident.

Does Delaware have a reciprocity agreement with other states?

Delaware does not have a specific reciprocity agreement with particular states. It does allow you to apply for reciprocity if you hold a current and active license in any other US jurisdiction, including territories and the District of Columbia.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Delaware

What offenses disqualify me from receiving a DE salesperson license?

Find the full list of reasons for denial under the rules and regulations for the Real Estate Commission, Chapter 24, Statute 2906, Section 16, Crimes Related to the Practice of Real Estate Services. A small sample of disqualifying crimes: Class A & B felonies, sex crimes, fraud, tax evasion, and forgery.

Can I get my Delaware salesperson license if I have a prior conviction

Delaware requires any real estate salesperson applicant to demonstrate good character, with no criminal conviction records related to their ability to practice real estate. Applications will be denied for a range of crimes from class A and B felonies, fraud, robbery, perjury, identity theft, and moral turpitude.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the DE Commission

Prior criminal activity is disclosed to the Department of Professional Licensing when you submit your salesperson license application. You may need to include supporting documentation explaining the circumstances and conviction.

Getting Fingerprinted in Delaware

Do I need to be fingerprinted in DE to earn a salesperson's license?

Delaware's Department of Professional Licensing does not have fingerprint or background check requirements as part of the licensing process. You will have to disclose your criminal history background in the application.

How to Get a Delaware Real Estate License

How do I get my Delaware real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your DE salesperson's license: 1) Complete 99-Hours of Delaware pre-license salesperson education 2) Pass the DE salesperson state exam 3) Be hired by a DE broker 4) Submit the salesperson license application with verifying paperwork

How much does it cost to get my DE salesperson's real estate license?

In total, you can pay as little as $765 to earn your Delaware real estate salesperson license. These fees are spread out over the entire licensing process and not paid upfront.

What tests do I need to take to get my DE real estate license?

The first tests you take are during the pre-license course. Each major course wraps with a final exam that you must pass with a minimum score of 70%, and you can retake each final exam just once. Once you have completed your pre-license education, you will take the state licensing exam, which has 120 questions.

Can I complete the application for a DE salesperson's license online?

Delaware's Department of Professional Licensing will only accept an online application. To start the process, you will create a DELPROS account.

How long does it take to get my DE real estate license?

Earn your DE salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1. Complete the 99-hour pre-license course online: 3-8 weeks. 2. Schedule and pass the DE state exam: 1-3 weeks. 3. Be hired by a DE broker: 1-3 months. 4. Apply for your license. A time estimate is not available. Track your application progress online. 2-4 weeks.

RealEstateU Questions in Delaware

Is the RealEstateU Delaware pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, RealEstateU is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer a flexible format for the 99-hour course costing $549.

Scheduling Your Delaware Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the Delaware exam without taking the pre-license course

While you could schedule the exam without taking the pre-license course, you need to prove that you have completed the required education to the testing center. You will not be allowed to sit the exam without this proof of education.

How long do I have after finishing the course to pass the DE exam?

Delaware's Department of Professional Licensing does not stipulate an expiration date for your pre-license education. It's a good idea to take the test soon after finishing the course to keep moving through the process and the information is fresh in your mind.

How do I schedule my DE real estate salesperson licensing exam?

Go to www.pearsonvue.com/de/realestate to make an online reservation for an examination. New users must create an account. Alternatively, you can register by phone by calling 1-800-274-2604.

How much does the DE real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Delaware real estate licensing exam fee is $85, and it must be paid when you make the appointment. Payment is not taken at the exam center. Your exam fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.

How do I pay for the DE state licensing exam?

You will directly pay Pearson VUE, the State's exam provider, using a credit card. Pearson VUE accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. You can also mail a voucher, check, money order, or cashier's check. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my DE license exam?

You can register for your Delaware salesperson exam within an hour. Online scheduling is the fastest and most convenient way to set your exam appointment. You can also call 1-800-274-2604.

Where can I find test centers for the DE real estate licensing exam?

You can take the state licensing exam in Dover or Newark inside Delaware. The Delaware state licensing exam is also available in Salisbury, MD, Philadelphia, PA, and in New Jersey at Atlantic City, Somerset, Princeton, and Toms River. Check with the website for specific days and addresses.

Do I need to take the DE state exam if I'm licensed in another state?

Yes, even if you are currently licensed in another state, Delaware's Department of Professional Licensing requires you to take and pass the Delaware law portion of the state licensing exam.

How do I change or cancel my DE state exam appointment?

Any changes to your state licensing exam appointment must be done at least 48 hours in advance. If you do not exchange it before this timeframe, you forfeit your exam fee. To change your exam, call Pearson VUE at 1-800-274-2604.

Taking the Delaware Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the DE state salesperson licensing exam?

The Delaware salesperson pre-licensure exam consists of two sections. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions, and the state section will ask 40 multiple-choice questions. Pearson VUE uses a scaled score system can you must score at least 70 or above to pass.

What is included on the Delaware state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and State real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the Commission, licensing, regulatory requirements, and fair housing.

Do I need to bring a calculator to the DE State Exam?

The test center staff do not provide calculators. If you wish to bring one, it must be handheld, without an alphabetic keypad, silent, and nonprinting. A calculator malfunction is not a reason to challenge exam results.

What to bring with me to the DE state salesperson license exam?

You will need to bring your course completion certificate and (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver's license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the DE State Exam?

Pearson VUE can accommodate testing modifications following the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must go online to Pearson VUE to make an accommodations request. Be ready to submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about your limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Delaware Pearson VUE testing center?

Only approved items are allowed in the testing center. Personal belongings must be placed in the provided secure storage. No food, drink, smoking, or gum is allowed in the exam room. See the Candidate Bulletin for a full list of prohibited items.

Can I take my DE State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you do not need to have been hired by a licensed broker before you schedule and take your state licensing exam. You will need to be hired by the time you apply for your license.

Do my DE State Exam results expire?

Yes, your Delaware State licensing exam results are good for one year. You will need to start the application process before this time is up. Once you start the application process, you only have six months to submit it with the Department of Professional Licensing.

I just passed my DE real estate exam; now what?

Congratulations on passing the Delaware State licensing exam. For your next steps, you need to be hired by a Delaware licensed broker. Once you have been hired, go ahead and create a DELPROS account to start the license application process. You have a year after passing the state exam to submit your application.

How will the Real Estate Commission know my DE exam results?

You are required to submit your original exam score reports from Pearson VUE as part of your license application. Without this proof of a passing score, the Department of Professional Licensing will not approve your real estate license.

How many times can I retake the DE state salesperson license exam?

If you do not pass the state licensing exam the first time, you can take it up to three times within one year.

How long does it take to get my DE State Exam results?

You will know how you performed on the state licensing exam before you leave the Pearson VUE test center. Your score will appear on your screen, and you will also be given an official score report. The report will be marked pass or fail. Anyone who did not pass will receive some diagnostic information.

I failed my DE real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can retake the Delaware salesperson licensing exam up to three times in one year. You'll need to register again with Pearson VUE and pay the full exam fee.

How do I retake the DE State Exam if I previously failed?

The registration process will be the same as when you set up your exam appointment with Pearson VUE. Please give 24 hours before you try to reschedule your next exam attempt. Then you can log on to your Pearson VUE account or call Pearson VUE at 1-800-274-2604.

How much does it cost to retake the DE State Exam?

Each time you take the Delaware real estate licensing exam will cost $85. You will need to pay by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check.

I failed one portion of the DE exam. Do I have to retake both sections

If you passed one section of the Delaware real estate licensing exam but not the other, you can just take the section you need to pass. You still only have three attempts in one year. You'll need to pay the full $85 exam fee.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Delaware
  • About the 99-Hour Delaware Real Estate salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Delaware Real Estate License
  • Delaware License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Delaware Real Estate License Renewal
  • Delaware Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Delaware Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Delaware
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Delaware
  • How to Get a Delaware Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Delaware
  • Scheduling Your Delaware Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Delaware Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side