PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Connecticut Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Connecticut
  • About the 60-Hour Connecticut Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Connecticut Real Estate License
  • Connecticut License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Connecticut Real Estate License Renewal
  • Connecticut Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Connecticut Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Connecticut
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Connecticut
  • How to Get a Connecticut Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Connecticut
  • Scheduling Your Connecticut Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Connecticut Real Estate Licensing Exam

Connecticut Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Connecticut real estate license, the Connecticut real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the CT state exam, how to renew your CT real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 60-Hour Connecticut Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get a CT salesperson license?

The course you need is called Real Estate Principles and Practices. It’s a 60-hour course that teaches the fundamentals of national and state real estate business practice. You must take the class from a state-approved school.

How many hours of education are required to get a CT license?

You’ll need to take a 60-hour pre-license education course from a state-approved school. The course is called Real Estate Principles and Practices.

How can I take the 60-hour CT real estate license course?

The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection allows you to take the Real Estate Principles and Practices course as a classroom course or online remote course as long as it’s from a state-approved school. Many candidates choose to take the course online for its affordability and flexibility with their schedule.

Can I take the 60-hour CT real estate license course online?

Yes! The online version of the course is the fastest and most affordable way to complete the state education requirement. Make sure you take the online course from a state-approved school.

Can I take the CT pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

While Connecticut has no requirement for a high school diploma as part of its licensing process, your chosen real estate school may have requirements. Check with your course provider.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the CT pre-license course?

Yes, your law degree courses can be considered as part of your Connecticut real estate license application. Only real estate courses from law school or any college, university, or professional real estate school count. You will need to submit the attorney application with original transcripts.

Can I use my college credits towards the CT pre-license course?

Yes, but only real estate courses from a college, university, or professional real estate school count.

Does the CT salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Yes, the Real Estate Principles and Practices course does have a final exam. Your course provider will provide you with information about the content and number of questions for the final exam.

How many questions are on the CT pre-license course exams?

The exact number of questions on your pre-license course quizzes and exams varies based on your course provider and the current section of the course you are taking. Your course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different exams and the comprehensive final.

How do I receive my CT Course Completion Certificate?

After you pass the Real Estate Principles and Practices course final exam, you will earn your course completion certificate essential for the application process. RealEstateU students will find a downloadable certificate available in their account.

Where can I find approved pre-license course providers in CT?

The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection lists all state-approved schools on its website.

How does the CDCP know that I have completed the pre-license course?

You are required to turn in a Course Completion Certificate from a state-approved school with your salesperson license application. Your application won’t be approved without it.

Will my school notify the CDCP that I have completed my CT education?

No. It’s your responsibility to receive and keep a copy of your course completion certificate and to turn in the certificate with the license application.

How long is my CT Course Completion Certificate valid for?

There is not an expiration date attached to the pre-licensing course completion. You will have just one year to take the test once your license application has been approved.

Applying for a Connecticut Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for a CT real estate license?

Before you can apply for your CT salesperson license, you first must complete a 60-hour course called Real Estate Principles and Practices. You need to earn a course completion certificate to turn in with your license application. Otherwise, there are no general requirements to be a real estate salesperson in CT.

How do I apply for my Connecticut real estate salesperson license?

The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection has contracted with PSI to manage the real estate licensing process. The Candidate Information Handbook has the Real Estate License Application. Follow the directions to complete the application and mail the forms to PSI Examination Services.

Can I apply online for the CT real estate salesperson license?

No, you’ll be following a paper process. Go to the Candidate Information Handbook for the Real Estate License Application and submission instructions.

How much is the CT real estate salesperson license application?

The license application processing fee is $80 made payable to PSI Examination Services. You'll need to send a check or money order with your license application.

What documents will I need to submit with my CT license application?

Documents to include in your application are the Original Real Estate Principles & Practices Course Completion Certificate and a check or money order for $80.00 made payable to PSI Examination Services.

When should I file my CT license application with PSI?

The best time to file your license application is as soon as you have the pre-license course completion certificate. You want to take the exam when the information is fresh in your mind. Since being approved for the exam takes a few weeks, it's in your best interest to get approved as quickly as possible.

Can I get a CT salesperson license if I don't work for a broker?

No, you must be hired by a Connecticut licensed broker to activate your salesperson license. You have two years from passing the exam to be hired by a broker and activate your license, or you'll need to take the exam again.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in CT?

If you have an inactive license, you cannot engage in any real estate salesperson activities. An active license means you can work as a real estate agent, perform real estate activities, and be compensated for work as a real estate professional.

What’s the difference between a salesperson and a broker license in CT

A real estate broker is allowed to assist clients with the sale, purchase, lease, or transfer of real estate and receive a fee, commission, or other valuable consideration. A real estate salesperson is allowed to work on behalf of a broker to assist clients with real estate activities.

Where can I check my CT salesperson license application status?

You can check on your license status by going to the eLicense portal with the state of Connecticut.

Connecticut License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a CT real estate license?

The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection will not issue a license to anyone less than 18 years of age.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my CT real estate license?

The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection lists no education pre-qualifications for a salesperson real estate license, such as a high school diploma or GED.

Can I get a CT real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Yes. The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection lists no state residency requirement for a salesperson real estate license.

Where can I find regulatory information about CT real estate licenses?

You can find state regulations regarding the business of real estate in Connecticut under State Statutes Chapter 392, Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons.

Connecticut Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Connecticut real estate license?

You will receive a renewal notice via email or regular mail. Use the included user ID and password or the fast track renewal pin from the notice and go online to https://elicense.ct.gov to renew your license.

How much does it cost to renew my CT real estate license?

The renewal fee is $285 in an odd-numbered year and $293 and an even number dear. If your license renewal is late, there is a $28.50 late renewal fee.

How often do I have to renew my CT real estate salesperson license?

Your Connecticut real estate salesperson license expires on May 31 each year. You must renew your license every year.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in CT?

You are exempt from the 12-hour continuing education requirement in the cycle you passed a Connecticut licensing exam. So if you passed your licensing exam in 2021, you are exempt until after the May 31, 2022 renewal.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in CT?

You must take 12 hours of continuing education by May 31 of an even-numbered year. Your continuing education classes must be taken from an approved school. The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection will also require mandatory classes in each two-year cycle, which you can find information about here.

How do I renew an inactive CT real estate license?

Connecticut salespersons with an inactive license are not eligible to renew their license. Make sure you have a sponsoring broker before your renewal cycle is up.

How soon can I renew my CT real estate license?

You will receive a renewal notice about 30 to 45 days before the expiration date of your license. These renewals can be sent through email or regular mail.

What happens if I do not renew my CT license on time?

Your license will be suspended, and you will be unable to practice real estate in Connecticut. You can only have your license reinstated if you file a reinstatement application within two years of your license expiration.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in CT?

Go to the real estate salesperson-reinstatement page to find information on reinstatement. It will have instructions and forms based on the year your license expired. Your license can only be reinstated if it has been not expired for two or more years.

Connecticut Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Connecticut real estate license?

Holding a Connecticut real estate salesperson license enables you to act as an agent on behalf of a client seeking to execute a real estate transaction in Connecticut. This can include the sale, purchase, lease, or management of residential or commercial real estate.

When is a real estate license required in Connecticut?

A real estate license is required anytime you wish to engage in the real estate business acting on behalf of another and earn a fee, commission, or other valuable consideration for your work in the sale, purchase, exchange, or lease of real estate or a mobile manufactured home.

What must I do in CT if I transfer sponsoring brokers?

Any Connecticut real estate salesperson that transfers their sponsoring broker will need to fill out a transfer form. Fill out all sections of the form and send in a check or money order for $25 payable to the “Treasurer, State of Connecticut.

Connecticut Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Connecticut offer reciprocity with other states?

Yes. Connecticut has reciprocity agreements with Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Rhode Island. Learn more about reciprocity with Connecticut.

How can I get my CT real estate license through reciprocity?

Get a certified license history from the state you currently hold a license. Send in a copy with your reciprocal application form. Some states must take the state portion of the CT real estate exam. PSI will send a postcard when your application is approved. Be hired by a CT active broker and pay the license fee.

How can I get my CT license if I'm already licensed in another state?

If you have a license but in a non-reciprocal state, you can apply for a license with the non-reciprocal application. You will need to complete the state portion of the Connecticut real estate license exam. Some applicants may also be required to take the general portion of the exam.

How do I get my CT real estate license if I'm not a CT resident?

You need to follow all of the same steps as a state resident in order to earn your Connecticut real estate license. You'll need to be sponsored by an active Connecticut real estate broker to hold a license.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Connecticut

Can I get my CT salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

It’s possible to earn a CT salesperson license with a prior conviction. Any criminal history is reviewed on a case-by-case basis. The state does not automatically disqualify anyone from receiving a license.

What offenses would disqualify me from receiving a CT License?

Connecticut does not automatically disqualify anyone from receiving a license unless their application has been previously denied in the last year.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the CT Commission

The real estate license application will ask you to disclose if you have been convicted of a crime. If you answer “yes” to the question, you will need to include additional documentation about the conviction’s date, nature, and decision. You also need a description of the circumstances relating to each conviction.

Should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the CT Commission?

Any prior criminal activity history is disclosed when you fill out the license application.

Getting Fingerprinted in Connecticut

Do I need to be fingerprinted in CT to earn a salesperson’s license?

No, fingerprints are not required as part of the process towards earning a Connecticut real estate salesperson license.

How to Get a Connecticut Real Estate License

What tests do I need to take to get my CT real estate license?

You’ll take two major tests on your pathway to earning a CT salesperson license. The first will be the final exam of your 60-hour pre-license course. The second is the state licensing exam, a two-hour, 45-minute test consisting of 110 multiple-choice questions.

Can I complete the application for a CT salesperson's license online?

Sorry, but the application for the CT salesperson license is not available online. All the documents are printable from the Candidate Information Handbook. The application must be notarized and mailed to the testing vendor PSI.

How do I get my Connecticut real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your CT Salesperson’s license: 1) Show proof of education from completing 60-Hour CT Pre-license Salesperson Course 2) Submit a salesperson license application 3) Pass the CT salesperson state exam 4) Be hired by a sponsoring broker and activate your license

How much does it cost to get my CT salesperson's real estate license?

In total, it will cost as little as $629 to become a licensed Connecticut real estate salesperson. The costs are spread out during the licensing process and not paid all upfront.

How long does it take to get my CT real estate license?

Earn your CT salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1) Complete the 60-hour pre-license course online: 1-2 weeks. 2) Apply for your license. 3-4 weeks 3) Schedule and pass the CT state exam: 1-3 weeks. 4) Be hired by a CT broker: 1-3 months 5) Activate your license: 1 day

RealEstateU Questions in Connecticut

Is the RealEstateU Connecticut pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 60-hour course for $199.

Scheduling Your Connecticut Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the CT exam without taking the pre-license course?

No, you must first take the pre-license course and earn your course completion certificate. You have to submit this proof of education with the license application before you are approved to take the Connecticut state licensing exam.

How long do I have after the pre-license class to schedule the CT exam

There is not an expiration date attached to the pre-license course completion. You will have just one year to take the test once your license application has been approved.

How do I schedule my CT real estate salesperson licensing exam?

You can go online to www.psiexams.com to schedule your CT licensing exam. Online registration is the fastest way to book your testing appointment, but you can call (800)-733-9267 for telephone scheduling.

How much does the CT real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The licensing exam fee is $65, made payable to test administrator PSI. All exam registration fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.

How do I pay for the CT state licensing exam?

You will directly pay PSI, Connecticut’s exam provider, using a credit card. PSI accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. You can also mail a check, money order, or cashier’s check. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my CT license exam?

The fastest and most convenient way to create an appointment for your Connecticut salesperson licensing exam is to visit the PSI website. You can create an account, find an exam test center near you, see the schedule, and pay the fee in an hour. Alternatively, you can register by calling 800-733-9267.

Where can I take the CT real estate licensing exam?

PSI test center locations are in West Hartford, Milford, Auburn, Charlestown, Fall River, and West Springfield. Full addresses are available in the Candidate Handbook or on the PSI website.

Do I need to take the CT state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

It depends. Some states have reciprocity with Connecticut and license holders do not need to take the state exam. License holders in Florida, Ohio, Illinois, and Indiana do need to take the state portion of the exam. Non-reciprocal applicants will need to take the licensing exam.

How do I change or cancel my CT state exam date?

Any modifications to your exam appointment must be made at least two days before your scheduled testing date. You can call PSI at 800-733-9267 or use the PSI website. If you do not reschedule or cancel your exam two days before the test date, you will forfeit your exam fee.

Taking the Connecticut Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the CT state salesperson licensing exam?

The Connecticut Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section asks 80 multiple-choice questions and the State section asks 30 multiple-choice questions. There may be 5-10 experimental questions that don’t score for your score. You must score at least 70% to pass.

What is included on the Connecticut state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the Commission, licensing, statutes on licensees, and CT principles and practices.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the CT State Exam?

You don't need to, but you can. Any calculator you do bring must not have paper tape capabilities, an alphabetic keyboard, and programming capabilities. It must be battery operated.

What am I required to bring with me to the CT state license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the CT State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must go to PSI’s website to submit an exam accommodations request and documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Connecticut PSI testing center?

Any personal items, such as wallets, keys, and purses, must be placed in the Secure Storage available at the facility. No food or drink items are allowed in the exam room. You will be asked to lift your sleeves to show that you did not bring any prohibited items into the exam room.

Can I take my CT State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you do not need to have been hired by a licensed Connecticut broker before you take the state licensing exam. You will need to be hired in order to activate your license.

Do my CT State Exam results expire?

Yes, your Connecticut real estate salesperson licensing exam results are only good for two years. You must activate your license within two years of fully passing the exam.

I just passed my CT real estate exam, now what?

Congratulations on passing the Connecticut real estate salesperson licensing exam. Your next steps to becoming a licensed real estate agent are to be hired by a Connecticut real estate broker. Once you have been hired, pay the $285 license activation fee to activate your license and become a practicing salesperson.

How will the CT Commission know my exam results?

You will turn the original examination passing score report into the Licensing Services Division with your initial license fee.

How many times can I take the CT state salesperson license exam?

There is no limit to the number of times you can take the Connecticut licensing exam. However, your testing eligibility is only good for one year. You'll need to pass both sections of the exam before this eligibility expires. The date is listed on the postcard PSI sent you.

How long does it take to get my CT State Exam results?

The good news is you will know exactly how you did on the state licensing exam as soon as you are finished. The computer-based exam will present your score on screen. You also are given a printed score report before you leave the test center.

I failed my CT real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you are allowed to retake the Connecticut real estate salesperson exam as long as you're trusting eligibility has not expired. First, you need to wait 24 hours, then you can log into your PSI account to schedule the retake.

How do I retake the CT State Exam if I previously failed?

First, you need to wait 24 hours. After that, you can log into the PSI website to reschedule your Connecticut state licensing exam. You can sign up to take both portions or just one section.

How much does it cost to retake the CT State Exam?

If you need to retake both sections of the Connecticut state licensing exam, the fee is $65. If you are taking just one portion of the exam, the fee is $55. All fees are not refundable or transferable.

I failed one portion of the CT exam. Do I have to retake both sections

No, you can just retake the one section that you failed. Make sure your testing eligibility is still valid. Wait 24 hours; then you can go online to the PSI website to schedule your retake. The exam fee for taking just one section of the test is $55.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Connecticut
  • About the 60-Hour Connecticut Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Connecticut Real Estate License
  • Connecticut License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Connecticut Real Estate License Renewal
  • Connecticut Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Connecticut Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Connecticut
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Connecticut
  • How to Get a Connecticut Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Connecticut
  • Scheduling Your Connecticut Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Connecticut Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side