PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: Colorado Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Colorado
  • About the 168-Hour Colorado Real Estate Broker Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Colorado Real Estate License
  • Colorado License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Colorado Real Estate License Renewal
  • Colorado Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Colorado Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Colorado
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Colorado
  • How to Get a Colorado Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Colorado
  • Scheduling Your Colorado Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Colorado Real Estate Licensing Exam

Colorado Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Colorado real estate license, the Colorado real estate broker course, how to prepare for the CO state exam, how to renew your CO real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 168-Hour Colorado Real Estate Broker Pre-License Course

Will my school notify the CDRE that I have completed my education?

No. It’s up to you to show proof of real estate education. RealEstateU students will submit form REC-33 Course Completion Certificate for evidence they met the required 168 hours of pre-licensing education.

How long is my CO Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Your CO course completion certificate does not have an expiration date. However, you must file your application within one year of passing your state license exam.

What course am I required to take to get a CO broker license?

Colorado offers two options to fulfill its education requirements. Either take real estate as a major course of study at a college or university or take 168 hours of education from an approved education provider.

How many hours of education are required to get a CO license?

If you have not studied real estate at a college or university, you can take a 168-hour broker pre-license course. Taking the class from an approved state provider is likely more affordable than from an occupational school. Plus, taking the classwork online enables you to move at your own pace.

How can I take the 168-hour CO real estate license course?

Refer to the state’s options, including pre-approved education providers. Providers offer the courses as in-person classes or as online courses. Many opt for online courses for their flexibility and affordable price.

Can I take the 168-hour CO real estate license course online?

Yes, many students prefer to take the course online because it is more affordable than enrolling at a college or university. Online classes also allow you to work through the course at your pace. As long as a state-approved education provider provides the course, you can take it online.

Can I take the CO pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

Yes, depending on the course provider you select, you can take the 168-hour Colorado broker pre-license course while still in high school. If you opt to take real estate as a major course of study, the college or university you enroll with likely requires a high school diploma or GED.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the CO pre-license course?

Licensed attorneys can qualify for an associate broker license. To earn your license using your law degree and license, you must provide proof of an active and valid law license, take 12 hours of education in trust accounts, record keeping, and closing, submit fingerprints, and pass the state exam.

Can I use my college credits towards the CO pre-license course?

Yes, college credits can apply towards Colorado’s education requirement as long as you have earned a degree from an accredited college or university in real estate as a major course of study. You'll have to include original transcripts with your application.

Does the CO broker pre-license course have a final exam?

The Colorado broker pre-license course is broken into six different topics, with varying required hours in each topic. You’ll take exams in each subject area as you progress through your coursework. At the end of your 168 hours, your course of study will be capped by a comprehensive final exam.

How to earn the CO pre-license course completion certificate?

You successfully complete the Colorado broker pre-license course by passing all your course exams plus the comprehensive final exam at the end of the 168 hours.

How many questions are on the CO pre-license course exams?

The exact number of questions on your pre-license course exams will vary based on the current section of the course you are taking. Your course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different exams and the comprehensive final.

Where can I find approved CO pre-license course providers?

Colorado provides this list of pre-approved education providers for in- and out-of-state education.

How does the CDRE know that I have completed the pre-license course?

You must submit with your broker application proof of education. This will be either an official transcript foreign major course of study from an accredited college or university or form REC-33 Course Completion Certificate for your 168 hours of pre-licensing education.

How do I receive my CO Course Completion Certificate?

You will receive your Certificate of Completion, also known as the REC-33 Course Completion Certificate, immediately after passing the comprehensive final exam for the 168-hour pre-license courses. The certificate will be available to download after logging into your RealEstateU account.

Applying for a Colorado Real Estate License

Can I apply online for the CO real estate broker license?

Yes. Colorado utilizes an online application portal to track real estate broker licensing.

How much is the CO real estate broker license application?

Your broker license application fee is $200, made payable online through the application system with a credit card.

What documents will I need to submit with my CO license application?

Include your proof of real estate education and proof of insurance. Depending on how you answer the screening questions, you may also need to submit additional supporting documents. Reciprocity candidates need to include their certified license history.

When should I file my CO license application with the Commission?

You will have up to (1) year after successfully completing the state exam to apply for your broker’s license.

Can I get a CO real estate broker license if I don't work for a broker

To work with an active license in Colorado, you need to be hired by an employing broker. You can hold an inactive license, but you won’t be able to legally transact real estate and earn a commission. Your license application will ask you to identify an employing broker.

What is the difference between an active and inactive CO license?

An active license allows you to legally work as a real estate broker, representing buyers and sellers transacting real estate. An inactive license does not allow you to work as a real estate broker and earn a commission.

How do I receive an inactive CO real estate license?

If you submit a broker license application without current E&O insurance or without identifying an employing broker, your license will be designated inactive. An active broker can also request that their license be made inactive.

How do I receive an active Colorado real estate broker license?

You need to have an employing broker, proof of current or continuous E&O insurance, and completed the background check for an active real estate license. Once the CDRE reviews the documents with your license application, it will determine if you qualify for an active license.

How do I change from an inactive to an active CO license?

When you want to move your license from inactive to active, first make sure you have addressed why it is inactive. The CDRE will want proof of education, current E&O insurance, an employing broker, and an approved background check. If you meet those requirements, go online to fill out an activation of license form.

What’s the difference between a broker- & an employing broker license?

An associate broker license enables you to represent buyers and sellers in real estate transactions. An independent or employing broker license allows the licensee to supervise other brokers. Having an independent broker license allows a person to act as a sole proprietor without being associated with a company.

Where can I check my broker license application status?

Colorado uses an online portal to apply and track the applications.

How do I get a paper copy of my CO real estate broker license?

You can print a copy of your Colorado broker license through the online CDRE portal. Log into your account and select the link titled “Print Your License.” Note that you will not see this option if your license is inactive or expired.

What are the requirements to apply for a CO real estate license?

You must have completed the required education, passed the state licensing exam, submitted your fingerprints for a background check, and obtained E&O insurance. You must also be at least 18 years of age. You’ll need an employing broker to get an active license.

How do I apply for my Colorado real estate broker license?

To apply, go online to the Colorado Division of Real Estate. You’ll need proof of education, proof of insurance, and potentially additional documents, depending on your application responses.

Colorado License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a CO real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a CO broker license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my CO real estate license?

Colorado does not have any high diploma or general education diploma (GED) requirements for a Colorado real estate broker license.

Where can I find regulatory information about CO real estate licenses?

You can find information about the Colorado Divisions of Real Estate, obtaining a real estate broker license, continuing education requirements, and code enforcement under the state’s real estate manual, program rules, and position statements.

Can I get a Colorado real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

You are not required to be a resident to get a Colorado broker’s license. You must meet the same requirements as residents, like showing proof of education in a major course of study or taking the 168-hour Colorado Pre-license Broker course, passing the state exam, and getting E&O insurance.

Colorado Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Colorado real estate license?

When it’s time to renew your Colorado real estate broker license, use the state's online portal. License renewal is available starting 45 days before the expiration date. You will need to complete 24 hours of continuing education each 3-year renewal cycle. Renewing your broker license costs $183.

How much does it cost to renew my CO real estate license?

The base fee to renew your Colorado real estate broker license is $183.

How often do I have to renew my CO real estate broker license?

Colorado renews its broker’s licenses in three-year cycles. Renewal applications open 45 days in advance of the expiration date.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in CO?

In your first year, you are exempt from continuing education requirements. An initial broker's license expires at midnight on December 31 of the year it was issued. Once you renew your initial broker license, it will be good for (3) years. You’ll need to take 24 hours of continuing education to keep your license.

What are the CE requirements for inactive CO licensees?

If you have an inactive real estate broker license, you must meet the continuing education requirements before you can reactivate your license. This means taking 24 hours of CE before your license expiration date.

What are the CE requirements for active CO licensees?

Active broker’s licenses are required to take a total of 24 hours of continuing education from an approved provider during the three-year renewal cycle.

How do I renew an inactive CO real estate license?

You renew an inactive Colorado real estate broker license by completing the same online renewal process as an active license. You’ll need to show you met the continuing education requirement.

How soon can I renew my CO real estate license?

You’ll be able to renew your real estate license within 45 days of your expiration date. You must submit your renewal application online. If you fail to do so, after a 31-day grace period, your license will become inactive.

What happens if I do not renew my CO license on time?

Your license will be moved to inactive, and you are no longer legally able to act as a real estate broker and earn a commission for your work in Colorado.

How do I reinstate an expired CO real estate license?

You can request your real estate broker license be reinstated by submitting an application for reinstatement online. Make sure you meet the licensing requirements, such as fulfilling your continuing education and showing proof of current insurance.

Colorado Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Colorado real estate license?

Holding a Colorado real estate broker license enables you to sell or lease all types of real estate in the State of Colorado and earn a commission in the process. You can represent buyers looking to purchase any type of real property in Colorado and earn a commission from an employing broker.

When is a real estate license required in Colorado?

A real estate license is required if you represent a seller or buyer of real property as an agent and earn a commission in the process. Note that you do not need a real estate license to buy or sell your own home.

What must I do if I transfer employing brokers?

Colorado requires you to notify them of the transfer. Go to the CDRE online portal and select the link titled “Transfer / Activate / Inactivate License.” You’ll need to include current E&O insurance information if it is not already recorded.

Colorado Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Colorado offer reciprocity with other states?

Yes, Colorado offers reciprocity across states, but your next steps depend on your license status and how many years it has been active.

How can I get my CO real estate license through reciprocity?

Earning a Colorado real estate broker license via reciprocity depends on how long your license has been active. All applicants must complete a fingerprint background check and submit a certified license history. You may need to take the national and state portion of the broker exam and complete education hours.

How can I get my CO license if I'm already licensed in another state?

Real estate professionals licensed in another state are able to apply through reciprocity. Anyone who has held an active license for at least two years will need to submit to a fingerprint background check, provide a certified license history, and pass the state portion of the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s exam.

How do I get my CO real estate license if I'm not a CO resident?

You will follow the same basic steps as a Colorado resident to earn your broker license. This means taking a 168-hour broker pre-license course, passing the state licensure exam, showing proof of E&O insurance, completing a fingerprint background check, and submitting a broker license application.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Colorado

What offenses would disqualify me from receiving a CO Broker License?

Colorado’s statutory mandates say that applicants must show a history of truthfulness, honesty, and good moral character. If you are uncertain if any past crimes or convictions may impact your ability to receive a Colorado broker license, you can request from the Commission a preliminary advisory opinion.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the CO Commission

You will disclose any prior criminal activity through your fingerprinting and background check, plus on the broker license application.

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the Commission?

You will disclose any prior criminal activity through your fingerprinting and background check, plus on the broker license application. If you have any questions about if your application will be denied based on your history, you can request the Commission issue a preliminary advisory opinion.

Can I get my Colorado broker license if I have a prior conviction?

Colorado will not permit a broker license if you have been convicted of any crime that shows an indication of poor moral character. You can request the Commission issue a preliminary advisory opinion regarding any past criminal convictions or professional conduct judgments.

Getting Fingerprinted in Colorado

Do I need to be fingerprinted in Colorado to earn a broker’s license?

Yes, Colorado requires real estate brokers to be fingerprinted for a background check. You must submit fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation. The state offers three options and approved vendors for completing your fingerprints and criminal history check. Visit the site to find the best option for you.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Colorado?

Start by visiting the Colorado Applicant Background Services (CABS) program. State residents can schedule their fingerprints with approved vendor IdentiGo or with Colorado Fingerprinting. Out-of-state residents will need to pre-register with one of these systems and then request a hard copy card.

How long does fingerprinting and a background check take in Colorado?

It can take up to ten weeks to process fingerprints and run a background check. The Colorado Division of Real Estate will not notify applicants they have received their background check. They will match the check to your license application.

How to Get a Colorado Real Estate License

How do I get my Colorado real estate broker's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your CO Broker’s license: 1)Show proof of education, such as completing 168-Hour CO Pre-license Broker Course 2)Pass the CO broker state exam 3)Submit fingerprints for a background check 4)Obtain E&O insurance 5)Submit a broker license application with verifying paperwork

How much does it cost to get my CO broker's real estate license?

In total, it will cost as little as $882.45 to earn your Colorado real estate broker license. These costs are spread out over the entire licensing process and not paid all upfront.

How long does it take to get my CO real estate license?

Earn your CO broker license in approx. 3 months. 1) Complete the 168-hour pre-license course online: 4-8 weeks. 2) Schedule and pass the CO state exam: 1-3 weeks. 3) Submit fingerprints for a background check. 4) Purchase E&O insurance. 5) Apply for your license. A time estimate is not available.

What tests do I need to take to get my CO real estate license?

Applicants must take the Colorado pre-license broker exam, administered by PSI. If you are not applying by reciprocity, you will also take multiple tests as part of the 168-hour Pre-license Broker course. A program final exam caps this course.

Can I complete the application for a CO broker's license online?

Yes, Colorado has an online application for the broker’s license. The CDRE portal is essential for managing your license and its renewal.

RealEstateU Questions in Colorado

Is the RealEstateU Colorado pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 168-hour course for $349.

Scheduling Your Colorado Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the CO exam without taking the pre-license course?

While you don’t have to show proof of education before scheduling the Colorado exam, it’s highly recommended unlicensed candidates complete the full 168 hours of education. This will prepare you for the comprehensive exam.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the CO exam

Since Colorado also accepts education from an accredited college or university, there is no timeline after finishing your education to schedule the real estate broker exam.

How do I schedule my CO real estate broker licensing exam?

PSI administers the CO broker pre-license exam. You can schedule your exam by visiting http://www.psiexams.com/ or calling 1-800-733-9267. PSI also has fax and standard mail registration available, although you’ll still need to call or go online to select a test date.

How much does the CO real estate broker license exam cost?

The first time you take the Colorado real estate broker license exam will cost $44.95, payable directly to PSI.

How do I pay for the CO state licensing exam?

You will directly pay PSI, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card. PSI accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. You can also mail a check, money order, or cashier’s check. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my CO license exam?

Scheduling your exam is as easy as going online to http://www.psiexams.com/ or calling 1-800-733-9267. The online process requires you to set up a PSI account and takes eight steps. You can be registered and scheduled in under 15 minutes.

Where can I take the CO real estate licensing exam?

PSI offers computer testing centers in Denver, Fort Collins, Pueblo, Colorado Springs, Grand Junction, and Durango. For specific addresses or to find a test center near you, visit the PSI website.

Do I need to take the CO state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

Yes. Colorado requires you to take the state-specific portion of the exam even if you are licensed in another state.

How do I change or cancel my CO state exam date?

Visit http://www.psiexams.com/ or call PSI at 855-744-0313 to reschedule or cancel your state exam. You must cancel or reschedule at least (2) days before your test date to not forfeit the $44.95 testing fee. A voicemail is not accepted as a cancellation.

Taking the Colorado Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the CO state broker licensing exam?

The Colorado Broker Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions. You must answer 60 correct to pass. The State section will ask 74 multiple-choice questions and you must answer 53 correct to pass.

What is included on the Colorado state broker licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the Commission, licensing, regulatory requirements, statutes on licensees, and office procedures

Do I need to bring a calculator for the CO State Exam?

Colorado does not permit any personal calculators. An online calculator will be provided with the basic functions you need to answer any valuation and math questions.

What am I required to bring with me to the CO broker license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the CO State Exam?

PSI can accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must fill out the accommodations request form and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Colorado PSI testing center?

PSI will provide secure storage for candidates to store their personal belongings during the test. Food, drink, smoking, and electronic devices are not permitted in the testing center. You will be allowed to use the restroom during the exam, but you will not receive extra time.

Can I take my CO State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, Colorado does not require you to have an employing broker to take the state exam. However, you will need an employing broker to receive an active real estate license when you submit your broker license application.

Do my CO State Exam results expire?

Yes. You must apply to the Colorado real estate commission for your broker license within one year of successfully passing both parts of the exam.

I just passed my CO real estate exam, now what?

Your next steps will be to get fingerprinted and have a background check, purchase E&O insurance, and a Colorado employing broker. Fill out your broker application form online.

How will the CO Commission know my exam results?

PSI will send your score report immediately upon completion of your test, both on-screen and via email. It will also make a report to the Colorado Division of Real Estate with your score results.

How many times can I take the CO state broker license exam?

You can take the state broker license exam as many times as necessary to pass both the national and state portions. The fee to retake both sections or a single section is $42.50. However, keep in mind that the score of the section you passed is only valid for (1) year for your broker license application.

How long does it take to get my CO State Exam results?

Good news! Your Colorado broker license exam results will show instantly when you finish the test. A score report will appear on-screen and will be emailed to you. It will also provide you with a diagnostic report by topic area and exam type if you did not pass.

I failed my CO real estate broker exam. Can I take it again?

Yes. You can retake your real estate broker exam as many times as necessary to pass. If you pass one section and not the other, you can retake just the failed section. Just know that your passing section score is only valid for (1) year for your broker license application.

How do I retake the CO State Exam if I previously failed?

You will visit PSI’s website or call (855) 744-0313 to reschedule your state exam.

How much does it cost to retake the CO State Exam?

Any exam retakes will cost $42.50, made payable to PSI.

How do I retake if I failed only one portion of the CO broker exam?

No. You can retake just the section that you still need to pass. Keep in mind for your license application that any passing scores are only valid for (1) year.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Colorado
  • About the 168-Hour Colorado Real Estate Broker Pre-License Course
  • Applying for a Colorado Real Estate License
  • Colorado License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Colorado Real Estate License Renewal
  • Colorado Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Colorado Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Colorado
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Colorado
  • How to Get a Colorado Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Colorado
  • Scheduling Your Colorado Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Colorado Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side