PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Arkansas Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Arkansas
  • About the 60-Hour Arkansas Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for an Arkansas Real Estate License
  • Arkansas License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Arkansas Real Estate License Renewal
  • Arkansas Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Arkansas Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Arkansas
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Arkansas
  • How to Get an Arkansas Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Arkansas
  • Scheduling Your Arkansas Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Arkansas Real Estate Licensing Exam

Arkansas Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Arkansas real estate license, the Arkansas real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the AR state exam, how to renew your AR real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 60-Hour Arkansas Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get an AR salesperson license?

You are required to take a 60-hour pre-license real estate education course. At least 30 of these classroom hours must cover the basic principles of Real Estate. The course must be taken from an AREC approved school or organization or from an accredited post-secondary school.

How many hours of education are required to get an AR license?

You will take 60 hours of pre-licensing education to get an Arkansas real estate salesperson license. You are required to have 30 of these hours covering the basic principles of real estate. All coursework must be taken from an accredited post-secondary school or an Arkansas Real Estate Commission approved school.

How can I take the 60-hour AR real estate license course?

You can take the pre-licensing education from an accredited post-secondary school such as a college or a university. You can also take the course from an Arkansas Real Estate Commission approved organization. Your real estate course can be an in-person classroom format or an online course.

Can I take the 60-hour AR real estate license course online?

Yes, you can take the 60-hour Arkansas real estate pre-license course online as long as you use an Arkansas Real Estate Commission approved school or organization. Many salesperson applicants choose to do an online school for its flexibility and affordability.

Can I take the AR pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

Since Arkansas doesn’t have a high school diploma requirement to apply for a license, it is possible to take the course while in high school. However, your selected course provider may have different requirements. Check with the real estate school.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the AR pre-license course?

No, your law degree credits do not count towards the pre-licensing education course. You must follow the same steps to hold a real estate license unless you are exempt under Arkansas Code Annotated 17-42-104.

Can I use my college credits towards the AR pre-license course?

While you can take the Arkansas pre-licensing course from an accredited college or university, any other real estate courses you may have taken at a school in pursuit of a degree do not count towards the Arkansas pre-licensing course.

Does the AR salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

Your pre-license course administrator will let you know if the course has a final exam. Arkansas Real Estate Commission does not have a final exam requirement for the pre-license course.

What must I do to earn AR pre-license course completion certificate?

You must take the full 60 hours of pre-license course education. At least 30 of these hours must be in the Basic Principles of Real Estate.

How many questions are on the AR pre-license course exams?

Your chosen course administrator will let you know the precise number of questions that are on the different quizzes and the final test.

How do I receive my AR Course Completion Certificate?

Your course provider will provide you with the course completion certificate. RealEstateU students can find the certificate after passing the final exam by logging into their account and accessing course information.

Where in AR can I find approved pre-license course providers?

The Arkansas Real Estate Commission publishes a list of approved schools for reference.

How does the AREC know that I have completed the AR pre-license course

You must submit the course completion certificate with your licensing application. The AREC won’t approve you to take the course licensing exam without it.

How long is my AR Course Completion Certificate valid for?

The 60-hour pre-license course completion certificate does not have an expiration for salesperson applicants.

Applying for an Arkansas Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for an AR real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for an Arkansas real estate license. While you don’t need to complete the pre-license education before you apply, you must send proof of education before the AREC will issue a Certificate of Testing Eligibility. You do need to complete your FBI fingerprint card.

How do I apply for my Arkansas real estate salesperson license?

You’ll need to complete the application and send it to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission at least 30 days before you want to take the state licensing exam.

Can I apply online for the AR real estate salesperson license?

No, the Arkansas Real Estate Commission does not have an online application option for new salesperson licensees. You’ll need to print out the license application and send it to the AREC.

How much is the AR real estate salesperson license application?

The total cost is $86.25 due to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission. The fee is $50 for the application, $22 for the Arkansas criminal background check, and $14.25 for the FBI criminal background check.

What documents will I need to submit with my AR license application?

Include with your application proof of age, pre-license course completion certificate, and the FBI fingerprint card. After you pass the test, you need to send in the official state exam score port and the signed post-license education requirement notice.

When should I file my license application with the AR Commission?

The ideal time to file your salesperson license application is after finishing your pre-license course. However, Arkansas is now accepting license applications before you have finished your course. You will need to send in proof you have completed the education before they will approve your testing eligibility.

Can I get an AR real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

All Arkansas real estate salespersons must work under the supervision of a licensed real estate broker. You will need to have a broker for your license.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in AR?

If you have an inactive license, you cannot engage in any real estate brokerage activities. An active license means you can work as a real estate agent, perform real estate brokerage activities, and be compensated for work as a real estate professional.

How do I receive an inactive AR real estate license?

To go on inactive status with your Arkansas real estate license, you must return your signed license and pocket card to your principal broker, who returns these to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission.

How do I change from an inactive to an active AR license?

An Arkansas inactive salesperson license can be reactivated by submitting proof of completing seven classroom hours or equivalent continuing education units for each year the individual renewed as inactive. The activation fee is $30.

What’s the difference between a AR salesperson and a broker license?

Both licenses certify you to work in the business of real estate. Holding an Arkansas broker license enables you to run your own real estate business and hire employees to work under you. Your salesperson license authorizes you to work under the supervision of a broker.

How do I get a paper copy of my AR real estate salesperson license?

A license and pocket card will be sent to your principal broker once the Arkansas Real Estate Commission issues your license.

Arkansas License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get an AR real estate license?

All Arkansas real estate salesperson applicants must be at least 18 years old to seek a license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my AR real estate license?

Arkansas does not require its real estate salesperson applicants to hold a high school diploma or its equivalent as part of its licensing requirements.

Can I get an Arkansas real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Arkansas does not have any state residency requirements for holding an Arkansas real estate salesperson license. Yes, you can get an Arkansas real estate license if you do not permanently reside within the state.

Where can I find regulatory information about AR real estate licenses?

The Arkansas Real Estate Commission website has links to the rules and regulations. Real estate license law is found under the Department of Labor and Licensing, Arkansas Real Estate Commission division.

Arkansas Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Arkansas real estate license?

Once you are a licensed Arkansas salesperson, you will be able to renew your license online. You will need to have your license number and a credit card or a check. Go online to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission Renewal portal to submit an application.

How much does it cost to renew my AR real estate license?

The salesperson renewal license fee when paid on time is $60. The Arkansas Real Estate Commission accepts credit cards and an eCheck for payment. If you renew after September 30, the renewal fee is $80.

How often do I have to renew my AR real estate salesperson license?

All Arkansas salesperson licenses expire on December 31 of each calendar year. Therefore, you have to renew your Arkansas real estate license every year.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in AR?

All first-time Arkansas salesperson license holders must take 18 hours of post-license education within six months of their license date. You must submit proof of this education to the AREC.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees in AR?

Inactive license holders do not need to keep up with continuing education. However, if you plan to reactivate your license, you must take seven hours of CE for each year that you are inactive.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees in AR?

Active license holders must take seven hours of continuing education each year to qualify for license renewal. Most of the education providers will electronically report your continuing education credits to the AREC.

How do I renew an inactive AR real estate license?

The renewal process for an inactive Arkansas salesperson license is the same as an active license holder. You must go online to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission Renewal portal to submit a renewal application.

How soon can I renew my AR real estate license?

You can renew your Arkansas real estate license as soon as you receive the notice from the Arkansas Real Estate Commission. This should be on or slightly after July 15 via mail or electronic notice. Your renewal must be made on or before September 30.

What happens if I do not renew my AR license on time?

If you do not renew your Arkansas salesperson license, whether active or inactive, or you fail to pay the required renewal fee, your license will be considered expired. You will not be able to practice as a real estate salesperson in Arkansas. The renewal fee after September 30 will be $80.

How do I reinstate an expired real estate license in AR?

To reinstate your expired Arkansas real estate license, you will have to make a real application to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission. You will have to make sure you meet the continuing education requirement, which is seven classroom hours for each year you had an expired license.

Arkansas Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Arkansas real estate license?

An AR real estate salesperson license allows you to legally earn a commission or other compensation by representing sellers and buyers in the sale, purchase, listing, exchange, leasing, renting, or leasing option on any real property, or timeshare. You must be supervised by a broker and be affiliated with a brokerage.

When is a real estate license required in Arkansas?

A real estate salesperson license is required to represent a buyer or seller in a real estate transaction and earn a commission or compensation for the services. This includes listing, selling, purchasing, leasing, lease options, and renting of real property. A license enables the holder to advertise the properties.

What must I do in Arkansas if I transfer employing brokers?

You need to fill out a real estate license transfer form and return it with a $30 fee. The form has three parts, one for your terminating broker, one for you to complete, and one for your new broker.

Arkansas Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Arkansas offer reciprocity with other states?

Reciprocity is available if you are currently actively licensed in Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Washington, or West Virginia.

How can I get my AR license if I'm already licensed in another state?

You can request a waiver of the general portion of the Arkansas state licensing exam. You will need to fill out the salesperson license application and submit with it a certified license history from your currently active licensed state.

How do I get my AR real estate license if I'm not an AR resident?

You need to follow all the same steps as an Arkansas resident. This includes taking the pre-licensing education, passing the state exam, having a state and FBI background check, and paying your licensing fees. If you are already licensed in another state, you may qualify to have the general portion of the exam waived.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Arkansas

Can I get my Arkansas salesperson license if I have a prior conviction

The Arkansas Real Estate Commission will not approve licenses to individuals who have been convicted of a felony under § 17-3-102 or a crime involving violence, fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness.

What offenses disqualify me from receiving an AR Salesperson License?

You are disqualified from an Arkansas salesperson license if you have been convicted or pleaded guilty or Nolo contendere to a felony or you have been convicted or pleaded guilty to a crime involving violence, fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the AR Commission

The Arkansas real estate salesperson application will ask about your prior criminal history. Since you turn in this application after you finish your pre-license course, this will be the time that you disclose any prior criminal activity.

Getting Fingerprinted in Arkansas

Do I need to be fingerprinted in AR to earn a salesperson’s license?

Yes, you must be fingerprinted to receive an Arkansas salesperson license. You’ll be fingerprinted before you take the state licensing exam.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Arkansas?

You’ll need to make an appointment with a local law enforcement agency. Fingerprints must be made on an FBI fingerprint card.

How long does fingerprinting and a background check take in Arkansas?

Results from your fingerprint and background checks can take up to six months to be received by the AREC. Most results are sent from the FBI and Arkansas State Police within 1-2 months. You can keep working through the steps, but the AREC won’t issue the license until the background results are received.

How to Get an Arkansas Real Estate License

How do I get my Arkansas real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your AR salesperson’s license: 1) Take the 60-Hour AR Pre-license Salesperson Course 2) Submit the AR salesperson application 3) Schedule and pass the AR salesperson state exam 4) Send licensing fee and required follow-up documents 5) Take the 18-hour post-licensing course

How much does it cost to get my AR salesperson's real estate license?

Becoming a real estate salesperson can cost as little as $535.25. This does not factor in the required post-license course fee. Your licensing costs are spread out over the entire process and not paid all upfront.

How long does it take to get my AR real estate license?

Earn your AR salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1) Complete the 60-hour pre-license course online: 2-4 weeks. 2) Apply for your license:1-2 weeks. 3) Schedule and pass the AR state exam: 1-3 weeks. 4) Submit licensing fee and follow-up documents: 1-2 weeks 5) Take a post-license course: 1-2 weeks.

What tests do I need to take to get my AR real estate license?

During the licensure process, you will take two primary tests. The first will be the final exam for your 60-hour pre-licensing course. The second significant test is the Arkansas state licensing exam, which you must pass to earn your license.

Can I complete the application for an AR salesperson's license online?

No, Arkansas does not have an online application option for its salesperson licensing. You will need to download, print, and mail in the license application.

RealEstateU Questions in Arkansas

Is the RealEstateU Arkansas pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 60-hour pre-license course for $299 in a flexible, online format.

Scheduling Your Arkansas Real Estate Licensing Exam

How do I pay for the AR state licensing exam?

You will directly pay Pearson VUE, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card, debit card, money order, electronic check, or voucher. PearsonVUE accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my AR license exam?

Online scheduling with Pearson VUE is the quickest way to set your exam appointment. Creating an account, searching for a test center, and booking the exam can be done in under an hour.

Where can I take the AR real estate licensing exam?

Test centers are available in Camden, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Jonesboro, Harrison, and Little Rock. Find the test center nearest to you by visiting the Pearson VUE test center locator or by looking at the back of the Candidate Information Bulletin.

How do I change or cancel my AR state exam date?

If you need to change or cancel your Arkansas state exam appointments, you need to call 1-800-274-2606 at least 48 hours before the exam. By doing so, you can transfer the fee to a new reservation or request a refund. If you fail to cancel or change your reservation before 48 hours, you will forfeit the exam fee.

Can I schedule the AR exam without taking the pre-license course?

No. You must provide your proof of pre-licensing education with the Arkansas license application. Since the Arkansas Real Estate Commission must approve you to take the test, you can't schedule your exam without taking the pre-license course first.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the AR exam

Your 60-hour pre-license course certificate does not have an expiration date. However, it is in your best interest to take your state licensing exam soon after finishing your pre-license course.

How do I schedule my AR real estate salesperson licensing exam?

Once you have that Certificate of Eligibility from the AREC, you can contact Pearson VUE to schedule your licensing exam. Online scheduling is the quickest way to set your exam appointment. You can also call (501) 683-8010 to set the appointment.

How much does the AR real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Arkansas real estate salesperson license exam fee is $75 and must be paid in full before you can take the exam. Pearson VUE accepts debit card, credit card, money order, electronic check, and voucher. Exam fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.

Taking the Arkansas Real Estate Licensing Exam

How many questions are on the AR state salesperson licensing exam?

The Arkansas Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The national section asks 80 multiple-choice questions, and the state section asks 30 multiple-choice questions. You need a scaled score of 70 to pass.

What is included on the Arkansas state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, valuation, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the Commission, licensing, regulatory requirements, and statutory procedures.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the AR State Exam?

Calculators are not necessary for the Arkansas state real estate licensing exam. No personal items are allowed in the testing room.

What am I required to bring with me to the AR state license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification and your testing eligibility form. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the AR State Exam?

Pearson VUE will accommodate testing modifications in accordance with the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must fill out an accommodations request and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Arkansas PSI testing center?

All personal belongings must be stored in your vehicle or in the test center’s secure storage. No food, drink, or chewing gum is permitted in the test center. No reference materials are permitted in the test room.

Can I take my AR State Exam if I don't have an employing broker?

Yes, you can take the Arkansas state licensing exam without being hired by a licensed broker.

Do my AR State Exam results expire?

Yes. Once you pass the Arkansas state licensing exam, you have 90 days to submit your licensing fee and follow-up forms to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission.

I just passed my AR real estate exam, now what?

Your next step is to send your licensing fee, official score report, and signed post-license requirement notice to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission. The AREC will review the documents and issue you a license. Now you have six months to take 18 hours of post-licensing education.

How many times can I take the AR state salesperson license exam?

You have six months to pass the Arkansas state licensing exam once you take it the first time. If you fail one section and pass the other, you have six months to retake just the failed part of the exam.

How long does it take to get my AR State Exam results?

The good news is you will know your exam results before you leave the test center. You’ll be given a score report marked “pass” or “fail.” If you pass, your score report will have license application information. If you fail, it will have diagnostic information on the general portion of the exam and retake information.

I failed my AR real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can! You have six months to pass the Arkansas state licensing exam once you take it the first time. Your retakes are unlimited within this window, but you’ll pay the exam fee each time you retest.

How do I retake the AR State Exam if I previously failed?

First, wait 24 hours before scheduling your retake. Then you’ll go to your online Pearson VUE account or call 800-274-2606 to set the exam appointment.

How much does it cost to retake the AR State Exam?

Each time you retake the Arkansas state licensing exam will cost $75. There is no reduction for partial exam retakes.

I failed one portion of the AR exam. Do I have to retake both sections

No, you can just retake the section you failed. However, you’ll have to pay the full $75 exam fee. You must schedule any retake within six months of your first test attempt.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Arkansas
  • About the 60-Hour Arkansas Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Applying for an Arkansas Real Estate License
  • Arkansas License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Arkansas Real Estate License Renewal
  • Arkansas Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Arkansas Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Arkansas
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Arkansas
  • How to Get an Arkansas Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Arkansas
  • Scheduling Your Arkansas Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Arkansas Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side