PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

FAQ: Alaska Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Alaska
  • About the 40-Hour Alaska Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Alaska License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Alaska Real Estate License Renewal
  • Alaska Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Alaska Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Applying for an Alaska Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Alaska
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Alaska
  • How to Get an Alaska Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Alaska
  • Scheduling Your Alaska Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Alaska Real Estate Licensing Exam

Alaska Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Alaska real estate license, the Alaska real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the AK state exam, how to renew your AK real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 40-Hour Alaska Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

What course am I required to take to get an AK salesperson license?

You are required to take a 40-hour pre-license course from an approved education provider. This course will teach you about real estate practice, federal and state real estate regulations, real estate financing, and other essential topics in Alaska real estate.

How many hours of education are required to get an AK license?

You need to take 40 hours of pre-license education before applying for your license. After receiving your license, you have one year to take 30 hours of post-license education.

How can I take the 40-hour AK real estate license course?

You can take the course as a classroom-based course or a remote online course. An online course is the fastest and easiest way to satisfy Alaska’s pre-licensing education requirement.

Can I take the 40-hour AK real estate license course online?

Yes, you can take the Alaska real estate salesperson licensing course online. Many students opted to take the course online for its convenience, as it's more accessible for remote learning. It's also typically more affordable than an in-person classroom course.

Can I take the AK pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

You have to be at least 19 years of age to apply for an Alaska real estate license. Since your pre-licensing course certificate is good for just 18 months, and since Alaska doesn't have a high school diploma requirement, you could take the course while you are still in high school and 18 years of age.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the AK pre-license course?

No, Alaska requires all salesperson's meet the same pre-licensing education course requirements. Your law degree credits or status as an attorney does not exempt you.

Can I use my college credits towards the AK pre-license course?

Alaska will not accept college credits for your pre-license education course. You must still take the 40-hour course.

Does the AK salesperson pre-license course have a final exam?

All remote pre-licensing courses must have an examination to be turned into the course sponsor for grading. Your course provider will provide you with any information about your final exam.

How many questions are on the AK pre-license course exams?

The precise number of questions on the Alaska pre-license course tests varies based on the current section of the course you are working through. The course administrator will let you know how many questions are on the different quizzes and the comprehensive final.

How do I receive my AK Course Completion Certificate?

You will be issued your Alaska pre-licensing course completion certificate after you have met all of the course requirements. RealEstateU students will find the course completion certificate available for download by logging into their account.

Where can I find approved Alaska pre-license course providers?

You can find approved education providers through the Alaska Real Estate Commission.

How does the AREC know that I have completed the AK pre-license course

You will turn in your certificate of completion for your pre-license education when you submit your Alaska salesperson real estate license application. Keep in mind your core certificate is only good for 18 months, so you have a year-and-a-half to submit this license application.

Will my school notify the AREC that I have completed my AK education?

No, your school will not notify the Alaska Real Estate Commission that you have met the pre-license education requirement. You will need to keep your course completion certificates and submit it with your Alaska real estate salesperson license application.

How long is my AK Course Completion Certificate valid for?

Your Alaska real estate pre-license education course completion certificate will only be valid for 18 months. You'll need to work through the remaining steps in the process and apply for your Alaska salesperson real estate license before your pre-license education expires.

Alaska License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get an AK real estate license?

You must be at least 19 years of age to hold an Alaska real estate salesperson license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my AK real estate license?

Alaska does not have a high school diploma or general education diploma requirement to earn a salesperson real estate license.

Can I get an Alaska real estate license if I'm not a state resident?

Yes, you can earn an Alaska real estate license even if you are not a state resident. You’ll still need to follow all the steps as a state resident.

Where can I find regulatory information about AK real estate licenses?

Alaska Statutes (AS) 08.88 and Regulations 12 Alaska Administrative Code (AAC) 64 specifically govern the practice of the real estate industry. AS 08.01 - 08.03 and regulations 12 AAC 02 apply to all professions regulated by the division.

Alaska Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Alaska real estate license?

Renewal application forms are made available on the Alaska Real Estate Commission website when the renewal period opens 60 days before January 31 of an even-numbered year.

How much does it cost to renew my AK real estate license?

The biennial license renewal fee for active Alaska salesperson licenses is $350.

How often do I have to renew my AK real estate salesperson license?

Alaska real estate licenses renew every two years in even-numbered years. This is regardless of when your license was issued. So if your license was issued in July 2021, your license expires January 31, 2022.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in AK?

All new licensees must take a 30-hour post-licensing education within one year of licensure to maintain an Alaska salesperson license. These 30 hours are in addition to the 20 hours of continuing education required for your first renewal. Your deadline for meeting the CE requirement is on your license.

What are the CE requirements in Alaska for inactive licensees?

You will need to meet the same 20 hours of continuing education requirements as an active license holder. This is because you can only be on inactive status for 24 months or until the next renewal period begins.

What are the CE requirements in Alaska for active licensees?

All active AK real estate salespersons must complete 20 hrs of continuing education before their license can be renewed. Eight of these hours are “designated as core curricula”. You must complete at least one of the four core curriculum during each two-year licensing period. The remaining 12 hours are considered as ECE

How do I renew an inactive AK real estate license?

You can only renew an inactive Alaska real estate license to inactive status if it has been approved by the Commission. This is because inactive status is only allowed for 24 months. You can only renew an inactive license for 24 months from the anniversary date of the initial issued inactive license certificate.

How soon can I renew my AK real estate license?

License renewal notices are mailed 60 days prior to the expiration date. You can renew your license once you receive that notice.

What happens if I do not renew my AK license on time?

Alaska real estate licenses will expire on January 31 of an even-numbered year. If you fail to renew by this time, your license will be considered expired, and you will not be able to work as a real estate salesperson. You will have to apply for your license to be reinstated.

How do I reinstate an expired Alaska real estate license?

You must submit a change of license status application, certificates of completion for 20 hours of continuing education during the last two-year licensing period, verification of your current E & O insurance coverage, and the reinstatement fee.

Alaska Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Alaska real estate license?

An Alaska real estate salesperson license enables you to act on behalf of a broker in the business of real estate. You will be able to assist clients with the purchase, sale, lease, or management of real property.

When is a real estate license required in Alaska?

A real estate license is required any time you engage on behalf of a client for the purpose of buying, selling, or leasing real estate and will be paid a commission for your efforts.

What must I do if I transfer employing brokers in Alaska?

You must submit a change of license status application. Your terminating broker must sign and date your license. The new employing broker will also need to sign and date your license and submit the information required on the application form.

Alaska Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Alaska offer reciprocity with other states?

No, Alaska does not have reciprocity with other states. It does offer a pathway to receive licensure by endorsement.

How can I get my AK license if I'm already licensed in another state?

Follow these steps: ● Send a license history directly to the AREC ● Take 6 hours in Alaska real estate law ● Pass the state portion of the license exam ● Write a principal occupation statement ● Provide proof of E&O insurance ● Be hired by an Alaska license broker ● Submit the salesperson application by endorsement

How do I get my AK real estate license if I'm not an AK resident?

Non-residents need to follow the same steps as Alaska residents to receive a salesperson license. These include taking the Alaska licensing exam and being hired by an Alaska licensed real estate broker.

Applying for an Alaska Real Estate License

What are the requirements to apply for an AK real estate license?

You must first take 40 hours of pre-license education and pass the state licensing exam. Following those two steps, you must be hired by an Alaska license broker and purchase errors and omissions insurance. Once you have taken care of these four steps, you can make your application.

How do I apply for my Alaska real estate salesperson license?

Alaska provides applicants the option to use an online application or a paper application. For online applications, follow the instructions to create an account and start the process. Paper applications can be printed and mailed in.

Can I apply online for the AK real estate salesperson license?

Yes, you do have the option to submit an online application for your Alaska salesperson license. Online applications are the fastest way to move through the licensing process.

How much is the AK real estate salesperson license application?

You have several fees to pay for your Alaska real estate salesperson license. In total, you will pay $390. This includes the $200 non-refundable application fee, the $140 license fee, and the $50 recovery fund fee.

What documents will I need to submit with my AK license application?

Include with your application your certificate of completion from the pre-license education course, your original exam score sheet showing you passed the Alaska portion of the salesperson exam, proof of your errors and omissions insurance coverage, and the employing broker information form.

When should I file my AK license application with the Commission?

You have six months after passing the state's licensing exam to file your license application with the Alaska Real Estate Commission. It is recommended you make the filing as soon as you have secured errors and omissions insurance and been hired by an employing broker.

Can I get an AK real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

No, your license application requires you to submit the employing broker information. All real estate salespersons must work under the supervision of an employee broker.

What is the difference between an active and inactive license in AK?

If you have an inactive license, you cannot engage in any real estate salesperson activities. An active license means you can work as a real estate agent, perform real estate salesperson activities, and be compensated for work as a real estate professional.

How do I receive an inactive AK real estate license?

If you wish to move your salesperson license from an active to an inactive status, you must file an application to change license status with the Real Estate Commission. Your terminating broker needs to sign and date your license. Follow all other instructions in the change license status form for inactivation.

How do I receive an active Alaska real estate salesperson license?

Your initial Alaska real estate salesperson license will be issued on an active status. You received this license by meeting all of the steps for licensing, including being employed by an Alaska licensed broker.

How do I change from an inactive to an active AK license?

When you are ready to reactivate your Alaska Salesperson license, you need to fill out an application to change license status. Fill in all the applicable biographical information, employing broker information, and pay the $150 inactive to active license fee.

What’s the difference between a salesperson and a broker license in AK

A broker license enables you to run a real estate business. A salesperson license enables you to work in a real estate business under the supervision of a real estate broker.

Where can I check my AK salesperson license application status?

Visit the Alaska Professional License Lookup to see if your salesperson license is listed. If you created an online account to submit your license application, you can log in to see if your status is updated.

Where in AK can I get E&O Insurance?

The Alaska Real Estate Commission offers a group policy through RISC. Their policies vary by the kind of coverage and its limits. The fee you pay also varies depending on when you enroll. You can select a private carrier as long as the policy meets the required minimum standards as detailed in Article 4.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Alaska

Can I get my Alaska salesperson license if I have a prior conviction?

You cannot be under indictment for a felony or any crime that would impact your ability to competently practice real estate. These include forgery, theft, and fraud. If you have been convicted, seven years must have passed since you completed the sentence.

What offenses can disqualify me from receiving AK Salesperson License?

Any felonies will disqualify you from receiving an Alaska salesperson license. You can also be disqualified for any crimes that the commission judges affect your ability to competently practice as a real estate salesperson, such as forgery, conspiracy to defraud creditors, extortion, or theft.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the AK Commission

Your real estate license application will ask you to disclose any prior criminal activity to the Alaska Real Estate Commission. You should provide details as part of the application process.

When to disclose any prior criminal activity to the AK Commission?

When you submit your salesperson license application, your criminal activity will be disclosed to the Alaska Real Estate Commission. This is towards the end of the licensing process.

Getting Fingerprinted in Alaska

Do I need to be fingerprinted in AK to earn a salesperson’s license?

Alaska does not have a fingerprint requirement as part of earning a salesperson license.

How to Get an Alaska Real Estate License

How do I get my Alaska real estate salesperson's license?

You must complete the following steps to earn your AK Salesperson’s license: 1) Complete 40-Hour AK Pre-license Salesperson Course 2) Pass the AK salesperson state exam 3) Obtain E&O insurance 4) Be hired by an AK broker 5) Submit a salesperson license application 6) Take a 30-hour post-license course

How much does it cost to get my AK salesperson's real estate license?

In total, it can cost as little as $1329 to earn your Alaska real estate salesperson license. Some costs are variable, such as choosing an affordable real estate school. These costs are spread out over the entire licensing process and not paid all upfront.

How long does it take to get my AK real estate license?

Earn your AK salesperson license in approx. 3 months. 1. Complete the 40-hour pre-license course online: 1-2 weeks 2. Schedule and pass the AK state exam: 1-3 weeks 3. Purchase E&O insurance: 1 week 4. Be hired by an AK broker: 4-12 weeks 5. Apply for your license: 2-4 weeks

What tests do I need to take to get my AK real estate license?

Alaska requires all salesperson real estate candidates to take and pass a state licensing exam. This exam assesses your understanding of national and state real estate-related topics. You must pass this exam to earn your license.

Can I complete the application for an AK salesperson's license online?

Yes! The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development accepts both online applications and paper applications. An online application is the easiest and fastest way to submit your application for processing.

RealEstateU Questions in Alaska

Is the RealEstateU Alaska pre-license course state-approved?

Yes, Real Estate U is a recently approved pre-license course provider. We offer the 40-hour course for $299.

Scheduling Your Alaska Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I schedule the Alaska exam without taking the pre-license course?

While you don't need to show proof of pre-license education when registering for the Alaska real estate salesperson exam, it's highly recommended you take the pre-license course first. The course prepares you for taking the exam and provides the essential knowledge for work as a licensed real estate salesperson.

How long do I have after completing the course to schedule the AK exam

Your pre-licensing course completion certificate is valid for 18 months. However, it must still be valid when you submit your license application. Since your test results are only good for six months, it's recommended that you take your state exam within one year of completing the pre-license course.

How do I schedule my AK real estate salesperson licensing exam?

Pearson VUE is responsible for administering the Alaska real estate salesperson licensing exam. The easiest way to register for an exam is to go online to www.pearsonvue.com. You can also call 1-800-274-5592. No exam walk-ins will be allowed. You must have an appointment.

How much does the AK real estate salesperson license exam cost?

The Alaska real estate salesperson exam charges a non-refundable $100 exam fee. Pearson VUE accepts credit cards, money orders, company checks, bouncers, or electronic checks.

How do I pay for the AK state licensing exam?

You will directly pay PearsonVUE, the state’s exam provider, using a credit card. PearsonVUE accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover cards. You can also mail a company check, money order, voucher, or electronic check. Payment must be received in advance of the exam.

How long does it take to register and schedule my AK license exam?

Registering for the Alaska salesperson real estate license exam can be done in under an hour if you choose online scheduling. All you need to do is create an account on Pearson VUE and follow the instructions to find a test center, select test dates, and pay for your exam.

Where can I take the AK real estate licensing exam?

Pearson VUE operates test centers available in Juneau, Anchorage, Bethel, Fairbanks, Homer, Ketchikan, Kodiak, Palmer, Seward, and Sitka. Refer to the Alaska Candidate Bulletin for information on examination schedules and specific addresses, or go online to www.pearsonvue.com.

Do I need to take the AK state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

Yes, even if you are applying for a license by endorsement, you are required to pass the Alaska section of the licensing exam.

How do I change or cancel my AK state exam date?

Any modifications to your Alaska real estate salesperson exam appointment must be made a minimum of 48 hours in advance. Please note that a voice mail or email does not count as a change or cancellation. You must call 1-800-274-5592 to make the appointment update.

Taking the Alaska Real Estate Licensing Exam

How long does it take to get my AK State Exam results?

You will know how you did on your state licensing exam before you leave the test center. You will be given an official score report that shows if you passed or failed the test.

I failed my AK real estate salesperson exam. Can I take it again?

Yes, you can retake the Alaska real estate salesperson exam if you fail it. You must wait 24 hours before scheduling the retest.

How do I retake the AK State Exam if I previously failed?

Scheduling a retake of the Alaska state licensing exam is the same as scheduling the first test of the exam. The only difference is you need to wait 24 hours after your failed exam so that the system can show your failed test result.

How much does it cost to retake the AK State Exam?

Each time you take the Alaska salesperson exam costs $100. The fee is non-refundable and non-transferable.

I failed one portion of the AK exam. Do I have to retake both sections

Yes, Alaska requires you to take both sections of the exam even if you passed one portion.

How many questions are on the AK state salesperson licensing exam?

The Alaska Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam consists of two sections. The National section will ask 80 multiple-choice questions, and the State section will ask 40 multiple-choice questions. There may be five additional experimental questions that won't count for your score. These questions are not identified.

What is tested during the Alaska state salesperson licensing exam?

You will be tested on national and state real estate-related content. Topics include property ownership, land use controls, financing, market analysis, property disclosures, and contracts. State-specific questions ask about the Commission, licensing, licensee activity requirements, and Alaska-specific topics.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the AK State Exam?

You don't need to bring a calculator for your Alaska salesperson exam, but you can. Personal calculators must be silent, non-printing, handheld, and without an alphabetic keypad.

What am I required to bring with me to the AK state license exam?

You will need to bring (2) forms of identification. One must be state or federal government-issued, like a driver’s license or passport. The secondary form can be another primary ID or something which contains your signature, like a credit or debit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the AK State Exam?

Pearson VUE can accommodate testing modifications following the ADA. Anyone requesting accommodations must fill out the accommodations request form on their website and submit documentation from a medical authority or specialist about their limitations.

What are the exam policies at the Alaska PSI testing center?

Keep all personal belongings in your vehicle or place them in the storage provided at the test center. No food, drink, or gum is allowed in the test center. Anyone who came with you to the exam appointment cannot stay in the exam center.

Can I take my AK State Exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you can take the Alaska state real estate salesperson exam if you have not been hired by a real estate broker yet. You will need to be hired to complete your license application.

Do my AK State Exam results expire?

Yes, your Alaska real estate salesperson exam results are only valid for six months. You will have to finish the steps in the licensing process, such as being hired by an Alaska real estate broker and applying for your license, before your results expire.

What are the next steps after passing the AK real estate exam?

Congratulations on passing your Alaska salesperson licensing exam! The next step is to start interviewing with real estate brokers and to be hired. You’ll also need to purchase errors and omissions insurance. Once you have been hired and bought E&O insurance, submit your license application and the licensure fee.

How will the Commission know my Alaska exam results?

The commission will know how you did on the state licensing exam because you must turn in the official score report with your license application. You can't receive a license without a passing score.

How many times can I take the AK state salesperson license exam?

Alaska does not limit the number of times you can retake the salesperson license exam. You must wait 24 hours before scheduling any retakes.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Alaska
  • About the 40-Hour Alaska Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course
  • Alaska License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Alaska Real Estate License Renewal
  • Alaska Real Estate Profession Questions
  • Alaska Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Applying for an Alaska Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in Alaska
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Alaska
  • How to Get an Alaska Real Estate License
  • RealEstateU Questions in Alaska
  • Scheduling Your Alaska Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Alaska Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side